Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Junior Football Championship Semi-Final – Kerry 0-26 Limerick 0-6

June 11, 2017 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Kerry defeated Limerick by 0-26 to 0-6 in the Munster Junior Football Championship Semi-Final on Sunday June 11th at Cusack Park Ennis.

O’Sullivan makes his point as Kerry stroll to final

Munster JFC: Kerry 0-26 Limerick 0-6

Reigning All-Ireland Junior champions Kerry were ruthless in their first competitive outing of the year, as they had 20 points to spare over a very disappointing Limerick in Cusack Park, Ennis, yesterday.

Eleven players registered scores for the Kingdom, who only momentarily looked in any difficulty, while the presence of Brendan O’Sullivan at midfield one of the noticeable features of the side fielded.

Limerick registered the opening two points of the game through Kieran Daly, before Jeff O’Donoghue got Kerry’s first score in the fifth minute and from then on it was one-way traffic.

Eight consecutive Kerry points would follow until the 20th minute, when John Bourke scored for Limerick. Kerry’s lead would be 0-13 to 0-4 at half-time and they matched their first-half total in the second period. Limerick needed a fast start to the second half to have any chance of a revival, however, Kerry quickly snuffed out any faint hope they held.

Valentia midfielder O’Sullivan scored two points and received a noticeable show of support from the Kerry fans when substituted in the 46th minute after the recent doping violation controversy he has been embroiled in.

Two points from defender Pa Kilkenny was one of the few highlights of a processional second period, as it took some good goalkeeping from James Brouder to stop Kerry sub Ivan Parker scoring the only real goal chance of the game with three minutes left.

Roibéard Ó Sé hit the final score of the game after an impressive display in midfield alongside O’Sullivan, as Kerry now go on to face Cork in the final for the fourth consecutive year where they will be expecting to face a far more difficult challenge.

Scorers –

Kerry: C Cox 0-6 (5f), K Spillane 0-4 J O’Donoghue (1 ’45’) and P O’Connor 0-3 each, B O’Sullivan, P Kilkenny and I Parker 0-2 each and T O Sé, E Cronin, E O’Connor and R Ó Sé 0-1 each
Limerick: K Daly 0-3 (2f), J Bourke 0-2 and T Griffin 0-1

Limerick: J Brouder, M O’Keeffe, M O’Leary, J Bridgeman, C McSweeney, P Moran, S Sheahan, T Griffin, M Fitzgerald, J Bourke, S Murphy, J McGarry, E O’Donnell, P De Brún, K Daly
Subs: J English for Fitzgerald (25), C Berkery for Murphy (H/T), R Flattery for O’Leary and A Harnett for McGarry (both 40) and S Doherty for McSweeney (47)

Kerry: T Mac an tSaoir, E Kiely, J McGuire, P Kilkenny, J Walsh, M Foley, D O’Brien, R O Sé, B O’Sullivan, P O’Connor, J O’Donoghue, E O’Connor, K Spillane, C Cox, T Ó Sé
Subs: L Carey for O’Sullivan (46), I Parker for T Ó Sé (47), DJ Murphy for McGuire (50), E Cronin for O’Donoghue (54), B Barrett for O’Brien (55) and D Ó Sé for P O’Connor (56).

Ref – J Hannan (Clare)

Team News

The Limerick junior football manager Diarmuid Sheedy and his selectors Brian Nolan (Rathkeale), John O Grady (Oola) has released their match team to face Kerry this Sunday’s in their clash with Kerry in the Munster junior football championship semi final at Cusack Park Ennis at 1.30pm.

1 James Brouder (Mountcollins), 2 Mike O Keeffe (Newcastle West), 3 Mike O Leary (Newcastle West), 4 James Bridgeman (St Senans), 5 Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins), 6 Pakie Moran (Ballysteen), 7 Sean Sheahan (Rathkeale), 8 Tommie Griffin (Gerald Griffins), 9 Maurice Fitzgerald (St Senans), 10 John Bourke (Oola), 11 Sean Murphy (Newcastle West), 12 Jamie McGarry (Claughaun), 13 Eoin O Donnell (Rathkeale), 14 Padraig De Brún (Firies), 15 Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh).


June 11, 2017
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

GAA Units