Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Limerick 2-11 Tipperary 0-15

June 19, 2016 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Limerick defeated Tipperary by 2-11 to 0-15 in the Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Sunday June 19th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Limerick secure Intermediate hurling final spot

LIMERICK will face Clare on July 6, in the Munster Intermediate Hurling final, following a 2-11 to 0-15 win over Tipperary in Thurles this afternoon. The game, a curtain raiser for the senior clash at 4pm, saw Leo O’Connor’s men claim the final spot with a spirited display in atrocious weather conditions.

Seven points, (five frees), from Patrickswell’s Aaron Gillane, coupled with goals from wing forwards David Dempsey and Pat Ryan, saw Limerick progress in what was a tight affair. Having played with the help of a big wind in the first 30 minutes, Limerick led 1-6 to 0-7 at half time. Indeed it was Pat Ryan’s net rattler, that kick started the Shannonsiders’ into life following a good start by Tipperary to the second period.

Limerick can now look forward to that Munster final on July 6, in the knowledge that there is more to come from this side and with better weather, this young team could have more to come.

Limerick: E Mc Namara, M Casey, B Lynch, J Hannon, M Carmody, A La Touche Cosgrave, C Ryan, W O’Donoghue (0-1), L Lyons, D Dempsey (1-0), M Fitzgibbon, P Ryan (1-1), A Gillane (0-7, 5 free), K O’Brien (0-1), D Coleman.
Subs: S Flanagan for J Hannon (17mins), T Grimes for D Coleman (H/T), B Murphy (0-1) for D Dempsey (35), J Fox for M Fitzgibbon (50)

Tipperary: B Hogan (0-1, 1 free), G Fennelly, J Peters, P Maher, B Stapleton (0-3), T Fox (0-1), S Ryan, A Coffey (0-1), W Connors, J Shelly, B Mc Carthy, S Quirke (0-2), A McCormack (0-5, 2 free), M Russell (0-1), T Nolan.
Subs: C Hammersley for T Nolan (H/T), P Ryan for W Connors (39), J Cahill (0-1) for J Shelly (46)

Referee – Damien Fox (Clare)

Half Time – Limerick 1-6 Tipperary 0-7

Team News

Tipperary Intermediate Hurling Manager, William Maher has tonight announced his side that will line out against Limerick in their Munster Championship Semi-Final in Semple Stadium tomorrow afternoon.

The team lines out as follows;

1. Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha
2. Ger Fennelly – Ballingarry
3. Jack Peters – Kilruane MacDonaghs
4. Paul Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
5. Brian Stapleton – Templederry Kenyons
6. Tom Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty
7. Sean Ryan – Sean Treacys
8. Andrew Coffey – Nenagh Éire Óg
9. Willie Connors – Kiladangan
10. Jack Shelly (Capt.) – Mullinahone
11. Billy McCarthy – Thurles Sarsfields
12. Stephen Quirke – Moyle Rovers
13. Tadgh Gallagher – Kiladangan
14. Mark Russell – Lattin Cullen
15. Tommy Nolan – Drom & Inch

Limerick Intermediate hurling manager Leo O Connor and his selectors Anthony Riordan and Denis Barry has released their starting fifteen for this Sunday’s opening game at Semple Stadium. Limerick intermediate hurling side will take on Tipperary in the Munster intermediate hurling championship semi final at 2pm. The starting fifiteen is as follows 1. Eoghan McNamara (Doon), 2. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), 3. Barry Lynch (Feohanagh), 4. Jody Hannon (Adare), 5. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell)(Captain), 6. Andrew La Touche-Cosgrave (Monaleen), 7. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), 8. William O Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), 9. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), 10. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), 11. Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh), 12. Pat Ryan (Doon), 13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), 14. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell) and Dean Coleman (Doon).


June 19, 2016
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units