Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Final – Kerry 2-17 Cork 2-13

July 6, 2014 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Kerry defeated Cork by 2-17 to 2-13 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Final on Sunday July 6th at 12:00 noon in Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Munster MFC Final: Glory for Kerry youngsters


Report from

Kerry swept to their second Munster MFC title in a row at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday, completing a superb day for the Kingdom with a four-point win over Cork in the final.

Jack O’Connor’s side finished very strongly to take the win, holding off a gallant Cork fightback to score three points without reply at the death to secure their 43rd Munster MFC title, on the same day their seniors defeated Cork by 12 points in the Munster SFC final. Tomás Ó Sé’s early goal had Kerry 1-3 to 0-1 ahead, but Cork found the net through Séamus Ronayne to only trail 1-9 to 1-6 at the interval. Kerry then took control in the third quarter, and Jordan Kiely’s goal had them 2-13 to 1-9 ahead with 12 minutes to go.

Cork rallied though, and Gary Murphy’s late goal gave them hope of what had looked like an unlikely revival. Kerry held their nerve though, and the late points eased their nerves – and eased them to the title.
Scorers for Kerry: Killian Spillane 0-7 (0-6f), Jordan Kiely 1-1, Tomás Ó Sé 1-0, Brian Rayle, Liam Carey 0-2 each, Stephen O’Sullivan, Cormac Coffey, Matthew Flaherty, Micheál Burns 0-1 each.
Scorers for Cork: Gary Murphy 1-5 (0-3f), Sean O’Donoghue 0-3 (0-2f), Seamus Ronayne 1-0, Michael Hurley 0-2, Michael Desmond (0-1f), Daniel Dineen (0-1f), Shane Kingston 0-1 each.

KERRY: Shane Ryan; Liam Kearney, Brian Begley, Tom O’Sullivan; Dan O’Donoghue, Cormac Coffey, Brian Sugrue; Barry O’Sullivan, Mark O’Connor; Matthew Flaherty, Brian Rayle, Michéal Burns; Jordan Kiely, Killian Spillane, Tomás Ó Sé.

CORK: Colm O’Driscoll; Tom Bushe, Kevin Flahive, Seán Powter; Daniel Meaney, Cian O’Donovan, Cian Kiely; Seán O’Leary, Michéal Ó Deasúna; Séamus Ronayne, Daniel Ó Duinnín, Seán O’Donoghue; Shane Kingston, Michael Hurley, Gary Murphy.

Team News

The Cork Minor Football team to play Kerry in the Munster Football Final on Sunday at 12 noon in Páirc Uí Chaoimh will line out as follows:

(1) Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven)
(2) Tom Bushe (Ilen Rovers)
(3) Kevin Flahive (Douglas – Captain)
(4) Sean Powter (Douglas)
(5) Daniel Meaney (St. Michael’s)
(6) Cian O’Donovan (Clonakilty)
(7) Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
(8) Sean O’Leary (Bantry Blues)
(9) Micheál O Deasúna (Cill Na Martra)
(10) Seamus Ronayne (Clyda Rovers)
(11) Daniel O Duinnín (Cill Na Martra)
(12) Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
(13) Shane Kingston (Douglas)
(14) Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
(15) Gary Murphy (Castletownbere)

(16) Anthony Kidney (Passage West)
(17) Alex Hassett (Ilen Rovers)
(18) John Mullins (Eire Og)
(19) Michael Lordan (Ballinora)
(20) Damien Buckley (Ballyclough)
(21) Evan Ryle (Carrigaline)
(22) Eoin O’Sullivan (Douglas)
(23) Michael Cottrell (Newmarket)
(24) Martin Collins (Kilmacabea)

Donal O’Sullivan and his selectors have made three changes to the team ahead of the Munster Final. Brian Coakley and Maidhc O’Duinnín lose out through injury and are replaced by Micheál Ó Deasúna and Daniel Ó Duinnín. Gary Murphy starts in place of Damien Buckley.

Additional Panel Members
Maidhc O Duinnín (Naomh Abhan)
Conor Nolan(Castlehaven)
Ronan Walsh (Castlehaven
Andrew Joyce (Youghal)
John Fintan Daly (Knocknagree)
Chiedozie Ogbene (Nemo Rangers)
Brian Coakley (Carrigaline)
Olan Murphy (St Finbarrs)
Eoin Lavers (Sam Maguire’s)
Matthew Farrell (Youghal)
David O’Neill (Mayfield)
Ronan O’Donovan (Buttevant)

Donal O’Sullivan (Castletownbere – Manager)
Andrew McCarthy (Inniscarra)
Tom Dorgan (Ballincollig -Coach)
Paul Holland (Argideen Rangers)
Michael Comyns (St. Finbarr’s)

Physio – Niamh O’Sullivan

Doctor – Aidan Kelleher


July 6, 2014
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , , , ,

GAA Units