• Buy GAA Tickets Online Now

Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Qualifiers Round 1 – Tipperary 3-25 Galway 4-13

July 5, 2014 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Tipperary defeated Galway by 3-25 to 4-13 in Round 1 of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Qualifiers on Saturday at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Click to view video highlights from the game via Sky Sports

All-Ireland SHC: Superb Tipp surge past Galway


Report from the GAA.ie web site

Eamon O’Shea secured a first championship victory as Tipperary senior hurling manager in Thurles with victory over Galway on Saturday evening.
O’Shea’s battling Premier County came from six points down to beat Galway by nine in a quite remarkable All-Ireland qualifier, played out in front of 18,467 spectators.

When Galway sub Davy Glennon fired over a 51st minute point, a score that followed two clinical Johnny Glynn goals, Galway were 4-12 to 1-15 clear and in the driving seat. But in the remaining 19 minutes, plus stoppage time, Tipp outscored their opponents by 2-10 to 0-1.

Seamus Callanan scored Tipp’s two goals down the home straight and when the dust settled, the Drom & Inch hitman had posted a total of 3-8. John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer was excellent too for Tipperary as he finished with 0-6 from play and Noel McGrath chipped in with 0-5 from play. McGrath was quite magnificent in the second half, popping up with big scores and providing leadership when Tipp needed it most.

And 2010 Hurler of the Year Lar Corbett also played his part, landing two superb scores from the New Stand side of Semple Stadium into the Town End.
Ironically, Corbett was set to be replaced by Jason Forde before he caught fire but Tipp would go on to claim a first championship win since the 2012 Munster final.

At half-time, the sides were level at 2-9 to 1-12, with Callanan netting for Tipp in the 13th minute. That followed Galway’s opening goal of the game, scored by Jason Flynn in the fourth minute, after he took a pass from creator Glynn. Galway nudged in front approaching half-time when David Burke touched home a long Iarla Tannian delivery but Tipp recovered to restore parity at the midway point.
Scorers for Tipperary: S Callanan 3-8 (0-7f), J O’Dwyer 0-6, N McGrath 0-5, L Corbett 0-2, J Woodlock, Patrick Maher, K Bergin & S McGrath 0-1 each.
Scorers for Galway: J Glynn 2-0, J Canning 0-5 (1 sl), C Cooney 0-4f, C Mannion 0-2, P Brehony & D Glennon 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; P Stapleton, Padraic Maher, M Cahill; B Maher, J Barry, C Barrett; R Maher, J Woodlock; G Ryan, Patrick Maher, N McGrath; J O’Dwyer, S Callanan, L Corbett
Subs: K Bergin for R Maher (HT), S McGrath for G Ryan (69), J O’Brien for Corbett (70+2).

GALWAY: C Callanan; F Moore, R Burke, D Collins; I Tannian, Daithi Burke, J Coen; A Smith, P Brehony; David Burke, J Canning, C Mannion; J Flynn, C Cooney, J Glynn
Subs: J Cooney for Brehony (h.t.), D Glennon for David Burke (HT), A Harte for Smith (46), N Burke for Tannian (58), D Hayes for Mannion (68).
Referee: C Lyons (Cork)

Team News

The Tipperary team to play Galway on Saturday shows three changes to the team that started against Limerick. Ronan Maher and James Woodlock come into the team at mid-field in place of Kieran Bergin and Shane McGrath. Lar Corbett starts in attack in place of Niall O’Meara. The starting team is :

1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)
2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)
5. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
6. Conor O’Mahony (Newport)
7. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
8. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
9. James Woodlock (Drom-Inch)
10. Gearoid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
12. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
13. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom-Inch)
15. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields)

Ticket Information

The Double Header in Semple Stadium this Saturday is an all ticket fixture with reserved seating and tickets are now on sale from Lár na Pairce, via stores & on-line with prices as follows;

€15 for adults
€10 students/OAPs (€5 concession given on the day)
€5 juveniles

The Juvenile group pass rate will also apply, €3 per child & 1 free adult with every 10 juveniles

Season Ticket holders from Competing Counties will be charged in advance for this fixture (€5 discount). The cut-off for Opt-Out is midnight Tues prior to the fixture. Opt-outs must be completed via their Online Accounts. All Season Ticket holders have been advised of details.


July 5, 2014
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

GAA Units