Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Senior Football Final – Kerry 0-24 Cork 0-12

July 6, 2014 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Kerry defeated Cork by 0-24 to 0-12 in the Munster GAA Senior Football Championship Final on July 6th at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Munster SFC: Imperious Kerry sweep to victory


Report from

James O’Donoghue scored 0-10 as Kerry retained the Munster GAA Football Senior Championship at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday, but it was all too easy for them as Cork failed to put up any sort of a challenge. Leading by eight points, 0-13 to 0-5, at half-time, Kerry looked set to face a second-half onslaught as Cork – with the wind behind them – scored the first three points upon the resumption, but it was merely a brief interruption of the visitors’ dominance in front of 21,028 people.

Apart from the early stages of the first half, when Cork began brightly, the Kingdom owned the first half. Massed ranks in defence proved difficult for the hosts to break down, Declan O’Sullivan was able to orchestrate matters from a deep-lying centre-forward role and in attack Paul Geaney and O’Donoghue caused all sorts of problems for Eoin Cadogan and Michael Shields respectively.

From the fourth minute to the 34th, Kerry scored 13 of the game’s 14 points as Cork lacked an answer to their intelligent play, with precise passes regularly finding their targets to create scoring opportunities. Johnny Buckley and Stephen O’Brien also shone in attack for Eamonn Fitzmaurice’s side and though points from Daniel Goulding and Fintan Goold gave Cork some hope before the break, an eight-point deficit still looked like a tall order.

Colm O’Driscoll and Colm O’Neill were introduced to the Cork attack at the break and, had they been able to build upon the encouraging opening to the second half, when three unanswered points were recorded, then maybe the game might have been more of a contest. Instead, Kerry rediscovered their composure and once again drove on, with Bryan Sheehan kicking a ’45’ and then a free from way out left on the 13m line while Declan O’Sullivan scored an awesome point from distance. Buckley added another couple of scores to his name and then O’Donoghue converted three in a row before departing the field to a rousing ovation from the sizeable travelling support.

By that stage, many of the home fans had left too, but all they missed was more examples of Kerry’s absolute dominance. Sub Darran O’Sullivan might have had a goal late on while Cork replacement John Hayes received a red card in injury time for clattering Declan O’Sullivan. In the end, 12 points separated the teams, the biggest Kerry win over their neighbours since the 2002 All-Ireland semi-final. Just as they won the first Munster final in Páirc Uí Chaoimh in 1976, they leave it as its last football champions before redevelopment, their first victory in a decider there since 2005.
Scorers for Kerry: J O’Donoghue 0-10 (0-2f), B Sheehan (0-2f, 0-1 45), J Buckley 0-4 each, P Geaney 0-3, S O’Brien, D Walsh, Declan O’Sullivan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Cork: D Goulding 0-6 (0-3f, 0-1 45), B Hurley 0-4 (0-3f), A Walsh, F Goold 0-1 each.

KERRY: B Kelly; P Murphy, S Enright, M Ó Sé; A O’Mahony, K Young, F Fitzgerald; A Maher, B Sheehan; D Walsh, Declan O’Sullivan, J Buckley; J O’Donoghue, P Geaney, S O’Brien
Subs: P Crowley for O’Mahony (49), Darran O’Sullivan for O’Brien (52), D Moran for Sheehan (56), K O’Leary for Walsh (60), BJ Keane for O’Donoghue (62), K Donaghy for Buckley (65).

CORK: K O’Halloran; N Galvin, E Cadogan, M Shields; D Cahalane, Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty), J Loughrey; A Walsh, F Goold; B O’Driscoll, P Kelly, J O’Rourke; D Goulding, B Hurley, P Kerrigan
Subs: R Deane for Goold (16-21, blood sub), C O’Driscoll for O’Rourke, C O’Neill for Kelly (both half-time), M Collins for B O’Driscoll (52), J O’Sullivan for Clancy (Clonakilty) (51), J Hayes for Walsh (57), Tomás Clancy (Fermoy) for Galvin (62).


Report: Denis Hurley

Ticket Details

Covered Stand
Adult: €35
Juvenile: €5

Open Stand (Uncovered Stand)
Adult: €30
Juvenile: €5

Terraces (Blackrock End & City End)
Adult: €20
Juvenile: €5

Tickets are available via, Centra or Supervalu outlets

Team News

Kerry: B Kelly; M Ó Sé, A O’Mahony, S Enright; P Murphy, K Young, F Fitzgerald (Capt); A Maher, J Buckley; S O’Brien, B Sheehan, D Walsh; P Geaney, Declan O’Sullivan, J O’Donoghue.

Brian Cuthbert and his selectors have made three changes in personnel and a number of positional switches ahead of the Munster Final. Eoin Cadogan comes in at full back, with Thomas Clancy moving to centre back. Damien Cahalane starts at wing back, with John O’Rourke moving to wing forward. Aidan Walsh replaces Andrew O’Sullivan at mid-field and Patrick Kelly moves from centre back to wing-forward. Barry O’Driscoll moves to corner forward, with John Hayes and Mark Collins named in the subs.

Injury update: Kevin Crowley and Brian O’Driscoll are still on the injury list, with Brian returning to training this week. Donncha O’Connor returned to full training at the weekend but was not considered for this game.

The Cork Senior Football team to play Kerry in Sunday’s Munster Final at 2pm in Páirc Uí Chaoimh will line out as follows –

1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)
2. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s – Captain)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
5. James Loughrey (Mallow)
6. Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
7. Damian Cahalane (Castlehaven)
8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
9. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
10. Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
12. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
13. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
15. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
16. David Hanrahan (Douglas)
17. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
18. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
19. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
20. Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere)
21. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)
22. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
23. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
24. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
25. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
26. Donal Og Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa)



July 6, 2014
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , , , , ,

GAA Units