Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

AIB Munster Junior Club Football Championship Semi-Final – Glenbeigh-Glencar (Kerry) 1-13 Gerald Griffins (Limerick) 0-6

November 19, 2016 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Glenbeigh-Glencar (Kerry) defeated Gerald Griffins (Limerick) by 1-13 to 0-6 in the AIB Munster Junior Club Football Championship Semi-Final on Saturday November 19th at Gerald Griffins GAA Club, Ballyhahill.

Glenbeigh-Glencar enjoy easy passage to decider

Report by Brendan Buckley for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Gerald Griffins (Limerick) 0-6 Glenbeigh-Glencar (Kerry) 1-13

Kerry’s Glenbeigh-Glencar secured a Munster Club JFC final date against Cork’s Gabriel Rangers in Mallow next month with this routine win over the Limerick champions, Gerald Griffins.

The home side in Ballyhahill had opened the scoring with an Aidan Ryan free but then Glenbeigh-Glencar took over and were 1-7 to 0-1 ahead after a quarter hour with Danny O’Sullivan scoring their seventh-minute goal. By half time it was 1-8 to 0-3.

On the restart, Tommy Griffin had two Gerald Griffins points while Micheal Thornton kicked their only score from play on the day to narrow the gap to five points (1-8 to 0-6).

Two yellow cards for Colm McSweeney saw Gerald Griffins down to 14 for the final 20 minutes and Glenbeigh-Glencar eased to the winning line with Gavin O’Grady and Daniel Griffin both kicking three points from play.

Scorers for Gerald Griffins: A Ryan (0-2, 1 free), T Griffin (0-2, 1free, 1 ‘45), P Brouder (0-1 free), M Thornton (0-1).

Scorers for Glenbeigh-Glencar: G O’Grady (0-8, 4frees 1 ‘45), D Griffin (0-3), D O’Sullivan (1-0), T Cahill (0-1), B Murphy (0-1).

GERALD GRIFFINS: S Lynch; B Long, C McSweeney, C Cummane; B Stack, P O’Connell, J Liston; C McSweeney, T Griffin; A Ryan, P Brouder, S O’Connor; M Thornton, B Scanlon, B Herbert
Subs: G Stack for Herbert (24), Diarmuid Noonan for B Stack (34), J Long for Ryan (45), Dara Noonan for J Long (51, b-c), A Lynch for C McSweeney (55), M McSweeney for Scanlon (58).

GLENBEIGH-GLENCAR: R O’Connor; S Roche, J Hoare, C Doyle; J Brosnan, P Kilkenny, S O’Sullivan; C McGillycuddy, F Griffin; Danny O’Sullivan, Darren O’Sullivan, T Cahill; K Courtney, G O’Grady, D Griffin
Subs: B Murphy for Danny O’Sullivan (42), C Teahan for Cahill (50), P Griffin for F Griffin (52), V Hoare for S O’Sullivan (53), S Riordan for Brosnan (53), L Seidler for Darren O’Sullivan (56).

Referee: D Murnane (Cork)


November 19, 2016
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units