Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

AIB Munster Intermediate Club Football Championship Semi-Final – Kenmare (Kerry) 3-11 Kifenora (Clare) 0-7

November 13, 2016 @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Kenmare (Kerry) defeated Kifenora (Clare) by 3-11 to 0-7 in the AIB Munster Intermediate Club Football Championship Semi-Final on Sunday November 13th at Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney.

Dream start sets up Kenmare for victory

Report by Mortimer Murphy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Kenmare Shamrocks (Kerry) 3-11 Kilfenora (Clare) 0-7: Kenmare Shamrocks qualified for their second Munster Club final in five years with a 13 point win over Clare champions Kilfenora in Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney yesterday.

The Kerry outfit had a dream start: Paul O’Connor set up All-Ireland winning Kerry minor captain Seanie O’Shea for their first goal inside the opening minute.

Despite that early blow Kilfenora refused to crumble with skipper Cian O’Dea and Killian Malone leading their charge Indeed Kenmare can thank goalkeeper Kieran Fitzgibbon and full back Tommy O’Sullivan for denying the visitors goals in a fast-paced first half.

O’Connor was again the provider for Kenmare’s second goal through Stephen O’Brien, a strike which handed them a 2-6 to 0-5 lead at half-time. However, they were guilty of overplaying the ball at times instead of taking the simpler option when it came to scores. Despite the high profile of the Kenmare full- forward line it was some of their less heralded figures like midfielder David Hallissey along with Shane and Kevin O’Sullivan who impressed most in this victory.

O’Connor scored the game’s third goal two minutes after the restart to end the game as a contest at 3-6 to 0-5. Both Malone and James Keane were the Clare side’s only scorers from play on the day as O’Dea slotted over two impressive ‘45’s’ as part of a three-point total. Kenmare now look to do the Munster Club IFC and JFC double when they face Adare.

Scorers for Kenmare Shamrocks: P O’Connor (1-5, 4f), S O’Brien (1-2), Sean O’Shea (1-1), K O’Sullivan (0-2) and S O’Leary (0-1)

Kilfenora scorers: C O’Dea (0-3, 2 ‘45’s, 1f), K Malone (0-3, 2f) and J Keane (0- 1)

KENMARE: K Fitzgibbon; Stephen O’Shea, T O’Sullivan, D Crowley; S O’Sullivan, D O’Shea, M Crowley; JM Foley, D Hallissey; P O’Shea, S O’Leary, K O’Sullivan; Sean O’Shea, P O’Connor, S O’Brien
Subs: D O’Connor for Sean O’Shea and D Cronin for Stephen O’Shea (both 40); S Dalton for Foley and C O’Sullivan for D O’Shea (both 45); B O’Sullivan for O’Leary (49) and K Price for P O’Shea (54);

KILFENORA: L Keane; S Long, P Carkill, C Howley; M Egan, P Connole, D Egan; J O’Dea, C O’Dea; A Long, M Duffy, P Ireland; K Malone, D McCormack, J Keane
Subs: J O’Gorman for Keane (51); D Flanagan for Long (57); D McMahon for McCormack and MJ Malone for Ireland (both 59);

Referee: R Moloney (Limerick)


November 13, 2016
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

GAA Units