Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Tipperary 0-25 Limerick 0-25

May 21, 2023 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Tipperary and Limerick played out a 0-25 to 0-25 draw n Round 4 of the 2023 Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday May 21st at the FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Thurles thriller finishes level

Tipperary 0-25 Limerick 0-25

Report By Noel Dundon at FBD Semple Stadium for

What a magnificent contest between Tipperary and Limerick as pulsating Munster SHC clash ended in a draw.

It took a last gasp free from substitute John McGrath to force a draw after these two sides went at it during an epic encounter.

Limerick were down to 14 men for the crucial last few moments of the game following the dismissal of Barry Nash, but they seemed to be heading for victory when Tom Morrissey fired them a point clear deep into injury time.

However, Tipperary – as they had done throughout the game – showed tremendous composure and heart to create that final free to share the spoils.

Limerick introduced Cathal O’Neill at corner forward from the very off instead of Peter Casey while Tipperary lined out as named earlier in the week with four changes from their last outing including starting championship debuts for goalkeeper Rhys Shelly and wing back Eoghan Connolly.

A rip roaring contest with both sides tearing into it with ferocious intent, the scores were flying over with great regularity as the game plundered along in breathtaking fashion towards the half way mark. At that stage Tipperary had a deserving 0-15 to 0-12 lead with Gearoid O’Connor hitting 0-6 of those, while corner forwards Jake Morris and Mark Kehoe had 0-3 apiece from play.

Limerick were jittery at times in this game and a number of their standout performers were struggling to gain any foothold in the game. But, Tom Morrissey and Cathal O’Neill caused all sorts of problems for Tipp with O’Neill hitting 0-3 in the first half – the same tally as Aaron Gillane who was living off scraps but making the most of the ball supply he received.

So, Tipp had a three point advantage and were full value for it. Could they hold out in the second half and consign the champions to a second successive championship defeat?

Limerick came at Tipp in droves following the restart and four points in succession from Gillane, Cathal O’Neill (2) and Seamus Flanagan sent them in front.

Tipperary responded to level through Gearoid O’Connor and with the introduction of Conor Bowe who bagged three points from play, the Premier County hit back.

Again and again, Limerick responded and every time Tipp shoved in front, they hit back with drawing scores from the likes of Morrissey, sub Graeme Mulcahy and Mulcahy again deep in injury time.

Tipp had the final say to tie up what was a remarkable contest with that John McGrath pointed free levelling the game.

Scorers for Tipperary: Gearoid O’Connor 0-10 (9fs), Jake Morris 0-4, Mark Kehoe 0-3, Conor Bowe 0-3, Noel McGrath 0-2, Seamus Callanan, Rhys Shelly, John McGrath 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Aaron Gillane 0-6 (3fs) Cathal O’Neill 0-5, Diarmuid Byrnes 0-4 (3fs), Tom Morrissey 0-4, Seamus Flanagan, Graeme Mulcahy 0-2 each, Peter Casey, Declan Hannon 0-1 each.

Tipperary: Rhys Shelly, Cathal Barrett, Michael Breen, Ronan Maher, Eoghan Connolly, Bryan O’Mara, Seamus Kennedy, Dan McCormack, Alan Tynan, Conor Stakelum, Patrick Maher, Noel McGrath, Jake Morris, Gearoid O’Connor, Mark Kehoe;
Subs: Seamus Callanan for Alan Tynan; Conor Bowe for Patrick Maher, Sean Ryan for Conor Stakelum; John McGrath for Noel McGrath.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Mike Casey, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmuid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes; Darragh O’Donovan, Will O’Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, Cian Lynch, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Cathal O’Neill.
Subs: Peter Casey for Cian Lynch; Conor Boylan for Gearoid Hegarty; Graeme Mulcahy for Seamus Flanagan; David Reidy for Cathal O’Neill; Richie English for Mike Casey.

Referee: Sean Stack (Dublin).

Tipperary v Limerick Preview Video

Ticket Information

Ticket Prices – Munster Senior Hurling Championship Round-Robin games
Stands – €25 for adults, €20 for students / OAPs, €5 for juveniles
Terrace – €20 for adults, €15 for students / OAPs, €5 for juveniles

Click here to purchase Tickets for Tipperary v Limerick

Match Coverage

This game will be shown live on RTE2.

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the 60 page Souvenir Match Programme for 5 euro

Team News

LIMERICK (SHC v Tipperary): N. Quaid; M. Casey, D. Morrissey, B. Nash; D. Byrnes, D. Hannon (c), K. Hayes; D. O’Donovan, W. O’Donoghue; G. Hegarty, C. Lynch, T. Morrissey; A. Gillane, S. Flanagan, P. Casey.
Subs: J. Power, C. Barry, C. Boylan, C. Coughlan, A. Costello, A. English, R. English, G. Mulcahy, S. O’Brien, C. O’Neill, D. Reidy.

TIPPERARY (SHC v Limerick): R. Shelly; C. Barrett, M. Breen, R. Maher; E. Connolly, B. O’Mara, S. Kennedy; D. McCormack, A. Tynan; C. Stakelum, P. Maher, N. McGrath (c); J. Morris, G. O’Connor, M. Kehoe. Subs: B. Hogan, C. Bowe, S. Callanan, J. Campion, P. Campion, J. Fogarty, E. Heffernan, B. McGrath, J. McGrath, J. Ryan, S. Ryan.


May 21, 2023
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

GAA Units