Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Clare 2-22 Cork 3-18

May 21 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Clare defeated Cork by 2-22 to 3-18 in Round 4 of the 2023 Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday May 21st at Cusack Park Ennis.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Clare edge thriller

Clare 2-22 Cork 3-18

Report By Eoin Brennan at Cusack Park for

Clare advanced to their second successive Munster Senior Hurling Final after an injury-time Diarmuid Ryan point finally edged out an obstinate Cork in Cusack Park Ennis.

In front of a full house of 18,659, Clare merited victory, but were made to work extremely hard to finally hold off a never-say-die Cork.

Eight points clear at the start of the second period after a Tony Kelly goal either side of the break at 2-13 to 1-8, nothing, but a home win appeared on the cards. However, Cork just kept themselves in touch, with a Declan Dalton rebound from a penalty allied to a 64th minute equalising goal through Patrick Horgan teeing up a grandstand finish.

With three different free-takers missing opportunities, instead Clare were guided over the line by their defence as wing-backs Diarmuid Ryan (3) and David McInerney (2) contributed five of their last seven points to get their side over the line.

A razor-sharp Cork offence began in goal hungry mood with Conor Cahalane’s bullet eighth minute goal offset by two missed opportunities as Patrick Horgan’s early goal was ruled out for a throw over the line while Conor Lehane would have a tenth minute shot excellently kept out by home goalkeeper Eibhear Quilligan.

Trailing by four by the end of the opening quarter, the Banner eventually settled with a five point unanswered rally bookended by Aidan McCarthy frees to inch 0-10 to 1-6 in front by the 23rd minute.

A 29th minute goal altered the narrative further after Peter Duggan broke a long delivery into the path of Tony Kelly to volley to the net, with Kelly, substitute Seadna Morey and David Fitzgerald ensuring a 1-13 to 1-8 interval advantage.

So when Shane O’Donnell was held on his way to goal only two minutes into the new half for Tony Kelly to rifle the resulting penalty to the left corner, it looked to be Clare’s day as they soared eight clear.

Cork got some inspiration from the bench though as Shane Kingston was held at the other end for a penalty eight minutes later that was initially saved by Quilligan, only for Dalton to react quickest to pull to the net at 2-14 to 2-10.

Clare never out the game to bed though and left themselves vulnerable for a third sucker-punch in the 64th minute when Niall O’Leary’s teasing cross field ball was gathered by Horgan to turn and finish to the net at 2-17 to 3-14.

Clare refused to panic though and it was their backs that literally came to their defence when needed most on the scoreboard as Diarmuid Ryan’s booming 80 metre winner catapulted the home side into the final, leaving Cork to have to overcome defending champions Limerick on home soil next weekend to have a hope of joining them.

Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 2-4 (1-0 pen), Aidan McCarthy (2f), David Fitzgerald, Diarmuid Ryan ,0-3 each, Ryan Taylor, Shane O’Donnell, David McInerney 0-2 each, Peter Duggan, Mark Rodgers, Seadna Morey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 1-9 (6fs), Declan Dalton 1-1 (1f), Conor Cahalane 1-0, Seamus Harnedy, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Brian Roche 0-2 each, Damien Cahalane, Shane Kingston 0-1 each.

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Rory Hayes, Conor Cleary, Adam Hogan; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, David McInerney; Ryan Taylor, Cathal Malone; David Fitzgerald, Tony Kelly, Shane O’Donnell; Peter Duggan, Mark Rodgers, Aidan McCarthy
Subs: Seadna Morey for Cleary (34, inj), Ian Galvin for Rodgers (46), Aron Shanagher for McCarthy (53), Shane Meehan for Galvin (68)

Cork: Patrick Collins; Niall O’Leary, Sean O’Donoghue, Damien Cahalane; Tommy O’Connell, Ciaran Joyce, Robert Downey; Brian Roche, Luke Meade; Declan Dalton, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Conor Cahalane; Conor Lehane, Seamus Harnedy, Patrick Horgan
Subs: Ger Millerick for O’Connell (37-41, BS), Shane Kingston for Lehane (43), Shane Barrett for C. Cahalane (45), Mellerick for O’Connell (46), Tim O’Mahony for Meade (61), Brian Hayes for Dalton (67).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick).

Ticket Information

Ticket Prices – Munster Senior Hurling Championship Round-Robin games
Stands – €25 for adults, €20 for students / OAPs, €5 for juveniles
Terrace – €20 for adults, €15 for students / OAPs, €5 for juveniles

Click here to purchase Tickets for Clare v Cork

Match Coverage

This game will be shown live on RTE2.

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the 56 page Souvenir Match Programme for 5 euro

Team News

CORK (SHC v Clare): Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig); Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons), Damien Cahalane (St Finbarrs), Seán O’Donoghue (c, Inniscarra); Tommy O’Connell (Midleton), Ciarán Joyce (Castlemartyr), Robert Downey (Glen Rovers); Brian Roche (Bride Rovers), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville); Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills), Seamus Harnedy (St Itas), Luke Meade (Newcestown); Conor Cahalane (St Finbarrs), Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), Conor Lehane (Midleton).
Subs: Ger Collins (Ballinhassig), Ger Mellerick (Fr O’Neills), Eoin Downey (Glen Rovers), Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum), Ethan Twomey (St Finbarrs), Pádraig Power (Blarney), Alan Cadogan (Douglas), Shane Kingston (Douglas), Seán Twomey (Courcey Rovers), Shane Barrett (Blarney), Brian Hayes (St Finbarrs).

CLARE: Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Rory Hayes; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, David McInerney; David Fitzgerald, Cathal Malone; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, Aidan McCarthy; Ryan Taylor, Shane O’Donnell, Mark Rodgers
Subs: Eamonn Foudy, Cian Nolan, Ian Galvin, Shane Meehan, Aron Shanagher, Aaron Fitzgerald, Robin Mounsey, Paul Flanagan, Cian Galvin, Jack Kirwan, Seadna Morey.


May 21
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm


Cusack Park Ennis

GAA Units