Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2021 AIB Munster Club Junior Football Semi-Final – Ballina (Tipperary) 0-16 Mount Sion (Waterford) 2-5

December 18, 2021 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Ballina (Tipperary) defeated Mount Sion (Waterford) by 0-16 to 2-5 in the AIB Munster Club Junior Football Championship Semi-Final on Saturday December 18th at Borrisoleigh.

Match Highlights

Tipp star O’Brien off but Ballina too good for Mount Sion

Report by Michael Dundon for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Munster Club JFC semi-final: Ballina (Tipperary) 0-16 Mount Sion (Waterford) 2-5.

Despite losing inter-county star Steven O’Brien to a straight red card after only two minutes, Tipperary champions Ballina proved far too strong for Mount Sion of Waterford in the Munster JFC semi-final at Borrisoleigh on Saturday.

O Brien was dismissed by referee Cormac Dineen for a heavy frontal tackle on Mount Sion’s Martin O’Neill, yet the Ballina lads dictated the pace throughout. They led 0-3 to 0-1 at the water break and might have had a goal but a Mikey Breen shot was well saved by Mount Sion goalie Richard Roche after 3 minutes.

Ballina were 0-6 to 0-1 ahead after 24 minutes when two defenders collided presenting Evan Curran with the chance to blast home a Mount Sion goal, but Ballina recovered well, and with Eoghan Power, Mikey Breen and Matthew Power leading by example they were 0-9 to 1-2 ahead at the break.

Mount Sion were making no headway against determined Ballina defending but once more the Waterford lads were handed a lifeline when Stephen Roche set up Ian O’Regan for their second goal leaving them only two points adrift at the second water break, 2-3 to 0-11.

Ballina were showing no signs of weakening and were leading 0-14 to 2-4 when Mount Sion lost Martin F O Neill to a second yellow card after 57 minutes and in injury time they were down to thirteen players when Peter Penkert followed him, also for a second yellow card, leaving Ballina comfortably through to the final.

O’Brien will be a huge loss in the final for Ballina who had big games from Tom Lee, Willie Connors, Mikey Breen, Eoghan Power and Matthew Power. Mount Sion’s best were Stephen Roche, Ian O Regan, Austin Gleeson, and Tommy McGrath.

Scorers for Ballina: M Power (0-4, frees), E Power (0-4), M Breen (0-3), F Looney (0-2). A Hanley, T Lee, D Finnerty (0-1 each).

Mount Sion scorers: I O’Regan, E Curran (1-0 each); A Gleeson (0-2,1f), M F O Neill (0-2, frees), S Roche, (0-1).

BALLINA: M McKeogh; S Loughran, J O Brien, T O Halloran; W Connors, T Lee, M Grace; S O Brien, G Kealy; A Hanley, M Breen, E Power; D O Meara, M Power, F Looney
Subs: J Hanley for O Halloran (38), D Grace for A Hanley (48), D Finnerty for Looney (51), P O’Donovan for M Power (61).

MOUNT SION: R Roche; M Daykin, T McGrath, C Sauvage; S Roche, I O Regan, P Penkert; L O Brien, D Power; A Gleeson, M F O Neill, E Curran; M O Neill, J Kennedy, I Sinnott.
Subs: B Flanagan for M O Neill (2), I Galgey for Curran (33), J Gleeson for Sinnott (40)

Referee: C Dineen (Cork).

Ticket Information

Tickets for this game must be purchased in advance.
Adult: €15
Student/OAP’s: €10 (with valid id at the stile)
U-16’s Free at the designated stile at the venue.

Click here to buy tickets

Live Streaming Information

This game will be streamed live by Clubber at a cost of 8 euro – follow the instructions below to sign-up to view the stream of the game of your choice.

Go to and click ‘sign-up’ on main screen. Select your school or your local club (or both) and complete the sign-up steps.

You then click on the email verification link that gets sent to your email address (check junk mail). This takes you to the login screen, where you put in the email and password that you used for sign-up.

Once you click on the game of your choice, you will be asked to input your credit card details to pay for the game.

Coverage will begin 20 minutes before throw-in and we recommend you get setup and pay for the game in advance to avoid delays.

If you have any questions or problems, email and their team will look after you.

Team Sheet


December 18, 2021
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm



GAA Units