Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2019 EirGrid Munster Under 20 Football Championship Semi Final – Kerry 0-18 Limerick 1-3

July 11, 2019 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Kerry defeated Limerick by 0-18 to 1-3 in the 2019 EirGrid Munster Under 20 Football Championship Semi Final on Thursday July 11th at Austin Stack Park Tralee.

Kerry ease into Munster U-20 Football Final


Report By Paul Brennan at Austin Stack Park, Tralee for

As expected, Kerry booked their place in the EirGrid Munster Under-20 football final with a comfortable win over Limerick, which sets the Kingdom up with the chance of making it three provincial titles in a row when they play either Cork or Waterford a week from tonight.

From the get go the home side were in full control of matters, and when Donal O’Sullivan converted a second minute free kick Kerry were never behind in the game again. O’Sullivan was imperious at full forward – he kicked four from play in the first half and another four in total after the interval – but Kerry were simply better in every position.

Kerry were three points to the good when James Molyneaux got Limerick’s first score in the eighth minute, but two more O’Sullivan points and an assist for Killian Falvey kept Kerry a comfortable distance ahead by the quarter hour mark.

Limerick midfielder Jack Downey launched a 50-metre free over the bar with the aid of a stiffish breeze but the Shannonsiders, in their efforts to drop back and crowd the middle third, left a two-man full forward line far too isolated when they did manage launch sporadic attacks.

Points from Fiachra Clifford (2), Cathal Ferriter and O’Sullivan saw Kerry lead 0-10 to 0-2 at half time.

O’Sullivan took up where he left off with a point but then, after John Hayes had scored Limerick’s third point, the same player underhit another free kick, which was met by Molyneaux’s fist to take it past goalkeeper Brian Lonergan for the game’s only goal.

It was no more than Limerick deserved for their perseverance but they simply didn’t have the class to build on it. Indeed, they didn’t score again for the remaining 24 minutes of a pedestrian contest.

Kerry wing back Cian Gammell came closest to a goal for the defending Munster champions, but his shot was smothered by Cian Walsh, but points from O’Sullivan (2), Ferriter and substitutes Paul O’Shea and Eddie Horan saw Kerry qualify for next week’s final without ever leaving second gear.

Tougher tests lie ahead for the Jack O’Connor-managed Kerry team who still have designs on that elusive All-Ireland title despite having to play this championship without David Clifford and Diarmuid O’Connor who will feature for the senior team in the Super 8 game against Mayo on Sunday.

Scorers for Kerry: Donal O’Sullivan 0-9 (3f), Fiachra Clifford 0-3, Cathal Ferriter 0-2, Joseph O’Connor 0-1, Killian Falvey 0-1, Eddie Horan 0-1, Paul O’Shea 0-1

Scorers for Limerick: James Molyneaux 1-1, Jack Downey 0-1 (f), John Hayes 0-1 (f)

Kerry: Brian Lonergan, Dan McCarthy, Dylan Casey, Michael Potts, Cian Gammell, Patrick Warren, Sean O’Leary, Joseph O’Connor, Barry Mahony, Killian Falvey, Sean Horan, Adam O’Donoghue, Fiachra Clifford, Donal O’Sullivan, Cathal Ferriter
Subs: Paul Walsh for Sean Horan (ht), Eddie Horan for Killian Falvey (46), Brian Friel for Fiachra Clifford (54), Chris O’Donoghue for Dan McCarthy (55), Niall Donohue for Patrick Warren (55), Paul O’Shea for Joseph O’Connor (57)

Limerick: Cian Walsh, Jack Fitzgerald, Jamie Fitzgerald, Karl Moloney, Dubhán O’Grady, Adam Shanagher, Reubhan McCarthy, Jack Coyne, Jack Downey, Lee Woulfe, Barry Coleman, John Hayes, Noel Callanan, James Molyneaux, James Cummins
Subs: Darragh Lane for J Downey (ht), Brian Foley for John Hayes (45), Niall McAuliffe for Jamie Fitzgerald (46), Shane Barry for Jack Coyne (55), Dylan Quirke for Reubhan McCarthy (55), DJ Stack for James Cummins (60)

Referee: David Murnane (Cork)

Admission Prices
Adults: €10
Students / OAPs: €5 (subject to providing the appropriate ID)
Under 16s: Free

Team News

LIMERICK: Cian Walsh (St Senans); Jack Fitzgerald (Adare), Jamie Fitzgearld (Glin), Karl Moloney (Crecora-Manister); Dubhan O’Grady (Oola), Adam Shanagher (Rathkeale), Reubhan McCarthy (Na Piarsaigh); Jack Coyne (Mungret St Pauls), Jack Downey (Oola); Darragh Lane (Adare), Barry Coleman (Rathkeale), John Hayes (St Kierans); Noel Callanan (St Kierans), James Molyneaux (Dromcollogher-Broadford), James Cummins (Galbally)
Subs: Jamie Hickey (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Niall McAuliffe (Newcastle West), Brian Foley (Newcastle West), Dylan Quirke (Fr Caseys), DJ Stack (Fr Caseys), John Ford (Fr Caseys), Shane Barry (Mungret St Pauls), Jason Daly (Ballysteen), Christopher O’Hagan (Na Piarsaigh)
Extended Panel: Cillian Ferris (Ballysteen), Darragh Woulfe (St Senans), Eoin Ryan (Mungret St Pauls), James Garvey (Mungret St Pauls), Kevin Guinea (St Kierans), Lee Woulfe (Newcastle West), Ronan St John (Newcastle West), Shane Bradshaw (Pallasgreen), Tim Lyons (Croom).

Match Programme


July 11, 2019
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , ,


Austin Stack Park Tralee
Tralee, Ireland

GAA Units