Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2019 AIB Junior Munster Club Hurling Championship Final – Russell Rovers (Cork) 2-13 St. Mary’s (Waterford) 0-11

December 8, 2019 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Russell Rovers (Cork) defeated St. Mary’s (Waterford) by 2-13 to 0-11 in the AIB Munster Club Junior Hurling Championship Final on Sunday December 8th at Fraher Field Dungarvan.

Cork champions Russell Rovers overcome St Mary’s to collect Munster Junior title

Report By Therese O’Callaghan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Russell Rovers (Cork) 2-13 – 0-11 St Mary’s (Waterford)

Russell Rovers claimed their first Munster club JHC title at the Fraher Field today. The game, which was switched from Mallow to Dungarvan due to storm Atiyah, was a battle from start to finish.

Goals in either half proved crucial. Top-scorer Josh Beausang bagged his in the first minute while Brian ‘Bud’ Hartnett sealed the deal eight minutes from time.

St Mary’s had the strong wind to their backs in the first half, but it was Russell Rovers who started the better with Beausang finding the net inside the opening minute after he was put through by Hartnett.

Russell Rovers went on to lead 1-4 to 0-4 on 20 minutes but St Mary’s were back in the game when Eoin Kearns bagged his fifth point and there was one from wing-back Dermot Tobin for stalemate at the break, 1-4 to 0-7.

The accuracy from placed ball specialist Beausang helped the Cork side 1-9 to 0-9 ahead midway through the second half. St Mary’s had a chance of a goal – they also had a couple of opportunities before half-time – but it didn’t work out.

Russell Rovers remained in the driving seat. Hartnett’s green flag putting the result beyond doubt.

Scorers for Russell Rovers: J Beausang (1-8, 0-6 frees, 0-1 sl), B Hartnett (1-1), J McGrath (0-2), K Moynihan and K Walsh (0-1 each).

Scorers for St Mary’s: E Kearns (0-7, 0-6 frees), D Tobin, S Fitzpatrick, K Sheehan and JJ Coffey (0-1 each).

Russell Rovers: R Walsh’ K O’Brien, E O’Sullivan, P Lane; J Kennifick, JP Ivers, C Ruddy; K Tattan, K Walsh; D Moynihan (Capt), L Duggan Murray, J McGrath; B Hartnett, K Moynihan, J Beausang
Subs: D O’Brien for J McGrath (56), E McGrath for K Walsh (62), K Ivers for C Ruddy (63), J Ahern for P Lane (66).

St Mary’s: JP Fitzpatrick; C Tobin, D Coffey (Joint-Capt), R Gleeson; A Kearney, B McGourty (Joint-Capt), D Tobin; S Fitzpatrick, K Sheehan; J Power, J Skehan, E Kearns; S Coffey, M Kearns, J Sheehan
Subs: JJ Coffey for S Coffey (20), J O’Shea for J Skehan (half-time), C Geary for J Sheehan (53), G Hallinan for J Power (63).

Referee: John O’Halloran (Limerick)


December 8, 2019
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,


Fraher Field Dungarvan

GAA Units