Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Waterford Crystal Cup Preliminary Round – Cork 1-18 UL 1-15

January 10, 2015 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Cork defeated UL by 1-18 to 1-15 in the Preliminary Round of the Waterford Crystal Cup on Saturday January 10th at CIT Sports Grounds.

JBM’s experimental Cork side impressed in the Waterford Crystal Cup today

Report from by Denis Hurley

Cork 1-18 UL 1-15

CORK DIDN’T HAVE it all their own way as they reached the Waterford Crystal Cup quarter-finals by beating UL at the CIT Sports Stadium today. While Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s side had led by 1-11 to 0-4 at half-time, they were left hanging on in the face of a fightback by the Limerick college and Conor Martin’s 66th-minute point meant that only two points separated the sides, 1-16 to 1-14.
Luke O’Farrell’s ninth point settled Cork again, though, before sub Brian Lawton put four between the team. While Jason Forde did reply for UL, they were frustrated in their search for an equalising goal.

In tough conditions, Cork made the most of having the benefit of the wind in the first half. They led by 0-3 to 0-1 when Leaving Certificate student Dayne Lee took a pass from fellow teenager Peter Kelleher and finished well, and the points continued to come.
O’Farrell, Andy Walsh and Paul Haughney all scored while UL only had two points each from Forde and Clare star Tony Kelly to show for their first-half efforts.

The visitors produced a rousing response in the second period. Sub PJ Scully and Mark Carmody both figured heavily as they brought the deficit back to four points but Cork looked to have quelled the fightback with three in a row. A goal by Martin, followed by a point from Forde and then Martin again, made for a nervy final few minutes for Cork but in the end they did enough. CIT are their opponents in next weekend’s quarter-final.

Scorers for Cork: Luke O’Farrell 0-9 (0-8 frees), Dayne Lee 1-0, Paul Haughney, Stephen Moylan, Brian Lawton 0-2 each, Brian Murray, Peter Kelleher, Andy Walsh 0-1 each.

Scorers for UL: Jason Forde 0-5 (0-3 frees), Conor Martin 1-2, Tony Kelly 0-3, Mark Carmody 0-2, Daire Quinn, David McInerney (free), PJ Scully 0-1 each.

1. Patrick Collins

2. William Kearney
3. Damien Cahalane
4. Seán O’Donoghue

5. Brian O’Sullivan
6. Christopher Joyce
7. Glen O’Connor

8. Paul Haughney
9. Brian Murray

10. Peter Kelleher
11. Alan Frahill-O’Connor
12. Andy Walsh

13. Stephen Moylan
14. Luke O’Farrell
15. Dayne Lee
22. Darren McCarthy for Lee (42)
19. Brian Lawton for Frahill-O’Connor (54)
17. Conor O’Sullivan for O’Donoghue (56)
25. Séamus Harnedy for Kelleher (61)
24. Patrick Horgan for Walsh (61)

1. David McCarthy (Limerick)

2. Jack Brown (Clare)
3. Kevin Walsh (Kilkenny)
4. Brian Troy (Kilkenny)

5. Daire Quinn (Tipperary)
6. David McInerney (Clare)
7. Brian Stapleton (Tipperary)

8. Tony Kelly (Clare)
9. Shane O’Gorman (Wexford)

12. Jason Forde (Tipperary)
11. Conor Martin (Kilkenny)
22. Mark Carmody (Limerick)

13. Tommy Heffernan (Tipperary)
14. Thomas Cleary (Tipperary)
20. Kevin O’Brien (Limerick)
27. PJ Scully (Laois) for Cleary (half-time)
21. Eoin Moriarty (Kilkenny) for Walsh (53)
23. Paul Coady (Carlow) for Heffernan (64)
26. Pa Sheehan (Clare) for O’Gorman (68)

Referee: Paul Foley (Waterford).

Team News

The Cork team for Saturday’s game lines out as follows:

Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
William Kearney (Sarsfields)
Damien Cahalane (St.Finbarr’s)
Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy)
Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
Glen O’Connor (St.Finbarr’s)
Paul Haughney (Midleton)
Brian Murray (Bishopstown)
Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
Alan Freehill-O’Connor (Youghal)
Andy Walsh (Killeagh)
Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
Dane Lee (Na Piarsaigh)

Substitutes –

Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)
Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)
Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Christopher Joyce, Na Piarsaigh, lines out at centre back for Cork in their opening round of the Waterford Crystal Cup, at the CIT grounds on Saturday. Paul Haughney, Bishopstown and Brian Murray, Bishopstown, form the mid-field partnership.

The selectors have given Peter Kelleher, Kilmichael, Alan Freehill-O’Connor, Youghal, and Andy Walsh, Killeagh the task of leading the half-forward line on this occasion.


January 10, 2015
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units