• GAA Season Ticket 2020

Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

AIB All-Ireland Club Junior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Fullen Gaels (Lancashire) 2-6 Modeligo (Waterford) 0-10

January 10, 2015 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Fullen Gaels (Lancashire) defeated Modeligo (Waterford) by 2-6 to 0-10 in the AIB All-Ireland Club Junior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Saturday January 10th at Páirc an hEireann Birmingham.

Munster champs Modeligo blown away by Fullen Gaels

Fullen Gaels 2-6 Modeligo 0-10

Munster champions Modeligo’s run in this year’s Junior Hurling Championship came to an unscheduled halt at Pairc Na hEireann in Birmingham when they suffered a two-point defeat to a seasoned Fullen Gaels team from Manchester.

The deciding scores in this hard-fought contest were the two goals scored by the winner’s corner-forward, Vincent Morrissey, one in each half, while the accuracy of Colm O’Connell from placed balls was crucial for a team that scored just 0-3 from play.

Trailing by 0-4 to 0-2, Morrissey’s first goal in the 18th minute from a ground strike gave Fullen Gaels a lead they never relinquished and following a player from each side seeing red in the 26th minute as a result of the only unruly period of the hour, they led at the interval by 1-5 to 0-6.

Early second-half scores by Pat Fitzgerald and Tom Devine either side of a Reamonn McEntee point for the winners brought Modeligo to within a point of the British champions but Morrissey struck for his second goal before Kieran McCarthy and Pa O’ Donovan scored consolation points.

SCORERS – Fullen Gaels: R McEntee 0-1, C O’Callaghan 0-4 (3f), P Duggan 0-1, V Morrissey 2-0.

Modeligo – P Fitzgerald 0-1, P O’ Donovan, 0-2 (1f), K McCarthy 0-4 (1f), T Devine 0-3(2f).

Fullen Gaels – T Gulding; S Wallace, L Knocke, C Maskey; A Morrissey, S Garry, N Unwin; J O’Shaugnessy, R McEntee; V Faherty, G Jacob, A O’Neill; C O’ Callaghan, P Duggan, V Morrissey. Sub: D O’ Grady for P Duggan (40 mins).

Modeligo – D O’ Keeffe; R Buckley, B McCarthy, S O’ Donovan; J McGrath, P Fitzgerald, S Troy; P Walsh, T Walsh; N O’ Donovan, P O’ Donovan, K McCarthy; M Troy, T Devine, R Reddy. Subs: L Queally for N O’ Donovan (half-time), J Troy for R Reddy (54 mins), JP Ryan for R Reddy (57 mins).

Ref – G McGrath (Wexford)


January 10, 2015
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

GAA Units