Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Under 18.5 C Football Quarter Final – Mitchelstown CBS 2-17 Patrician Academy Mallow 1-5

January 29, 2016 @ 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm

Mitchelstown CBS easily through to Munster semi final

Mitchelstown CBS 2-17 Patrician Academy Mallow 1-5

Report supplied by Paddy Ryan

Mitchelstown CBS were comprehensive winners over Patrician Academy Mallow in the Munster Under 18.5 C FC quarter final at the Academy School Grounds on Friday.

From the start the winners aided by the cross wind gained supremacy. Their half backs were in total control with the Mallow side being unable to make any real attack in the first quarter. Good play in the first minute by Lorcan Finn, Ian Butler and George Pendle led to a fine Sean Walsh point. In the 4th minute CBS had their first goal – it came when Dylan Kent and Sean Walsh worked a very good movement for impressive Sean O’Sullivan who netted in off the post. Lorcan Finn with a good solo run placed Adrian English who pointed from a tight angle. Sean O’ Sullivan added a point in the 10th minute. Good play by Sean Walsh led to Cathal O’Mahony being put through, his effort at goal was well saved by Chris Taylor at the expense of a ’45. Eoin O’Mahony pointed the ’45. Further pressure saw Sean O’Sullivan cut through and place Adrian English for a fine point. Lorcan Finn punched a point and CBS were ahead 1-7 to 0-0 in the 15th minute when Sean Walsh and Colin English combined well for Sean O’Sullivan who had another point.

O’Sullivan added another with Eoin O’Mahony making it 1-9 to 0- 0 when kicking over another ’45. Dylan Kent cut through and placed Sean Walsh who pointed. Mark Keane won a good ball on the ’40’ and placed Cathal O’Mahony who made it 1-11 to 0- 0. Academy with limited supply battled on. They had their opening score a pointed free by Kevin Taylor. Good play for CBS out of defence by Killian Roche to George Pendle and Mark Keane led to a punched point by Cathal O’Mahony. The Mallow side moved Jack Twomey outfield. They had their 2nd point when Kevin Taylor and Enock Khalyile worked well for Jack Kearney who pointed. In the dying moments CBS replied when Killian Finn, Sean Walsh and Dylan Kent combined well for Sean O’Sullivan who goaled and gave his side an interval lead 2-12 to 0-2.

Jack Twomey had an early point for Mallow on the resumption. However CBS were quick to reply through Eoin O’Mahony (2 frees) and Mark Keane that made it 2 -15 to 0-3 after 12 minutes. Both sides introduced a number of substitutes. Kevin Taylor pointed a free for Academy entering the final quarter. Cathal O’Mahony and Sean Walsh replied with points completing CBS tally. In the closing moments Jack Kearney had a goal for Academy with Paul O’Sullivan with an injury time point completing the scoring. CBS now meet Lisdoonvarna in the semi final with Milltown and Castleisland competing in the second semi final.

Scorers for Mitchelstown CBS : Sean O’Sullivan 2-3, Eoin O’Mahony 0-4 (0-2f. 0-2 ’45s) Cathal O’Mahony 0-3 (0-1f) Sean Walsh 0-3, Adrian English 0-2, Mark Keane 0-1, Lorcan Finn 0-1.

Patrician Academy : Jack Kearney 1-1, Kevin Taylor 0-2 (0-1f) Paul O’Sullivan 0-1, Jack Twomey 0-1.

MITCHELSTOWN CBS : Cathal O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown) Eoin Gallahue Galtee Gaels) Jack Coughlan (Glanworth) Killian Roche (Mitchelstown) Ian Butler (Kildorrery) Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown) Dylan Kent (Kildorrery) Colin English (Fr. Sheehy’s) Sean Walsh (Mitchelstown) Eoin O’Mahony (Ballylanders) Sean O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown) George Pendle (do) Cathal O’Mahony (do) Mark Keane (do) Adrian English (Ballyporeen)
Subs: Tadhg Finn (Mitchelstown) for Mark Keane, Padraigh O Gorman (do) for Adrian English, Padraigh McGrath (Galtee Gaels) for Cathal O’Mahony, James Conway (Fr Sheehy’s) for Colin English, P. J Keating (Kildorrery) for Dylan Kent.

PATRICIAN ACADEMY : Chris Taylor (Mallow) Eamon Doherty (Clyda Rovers) Jack Sheehan (Mallow) Mark O’Sullivan (Clyda Rovers) Eoin Murphy (Mallow), Pat O’Callaghan (Kilshannig) Jack Kearney (do) Paul O’Sullivan (Killavullen) Darragh Moynihan (Mallow) Darren O’Sullivan (Kilshannig) Colin Kelly (Clyda Rovers) Enock Khalyile (Mallow) Kevin Taylor (do) Jack Twomey (Kilshannig) Darragh Cronin (do)
Subs: Billy O’Malley (Clyda Rovers) for Eamon Doherty, Matthew McEntee (do) for Mark O’Sullivan, William Cronin (do) Darragh Cronin


January 29, 2016
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm

GAA Units