Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Junior Football Championship Semi-Final – Kerry 2-13 Tipperary 1-8

June 14, 2015 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Kerry defeated Tipperary by 2-13 to 1-8 in the Munster Junior Football Championship Semi-Final on Sunday June 14th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Kerry book Munster junior final place with eight-point win over Tipperary

Kerry 2-13 Tipperary 1-8

Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium, Thurles for

JEFF O’DONOGHUE INSPIRED Kerry to victory against Tipperary in this afternoon’s Munster junior football semi-final, as the holders survived a second-half scare before registering a comfortable eight-point win.

Dean McEnroe’s 34th-minute goal handed Tipperary the lead for the only time in the game, 1-5 to 1-4, but Kerry came roaring back with five unanswered points. Dan O’Donoghue’s goal midway through the second half killed the game as a contest and it was a procession from there for last year’s beaten All-Ireland finalist, who will meet Cork in the provincial decider on 1 July.

Jeff O’Donoghue was instrumental in this win, with his four points split between both halves. He was also the creator of both goals, finished brilliantly by Thomas Hickey and former All-Ireland minor medallist Dan O’Donoghue.

The first half was marred by a sickening clash between Kerry’s Tadhg Morley and Tipp’s Alan O’Riordan, with O’Riordan stretchered off. Morley was substituted at half-time and the first half ended with seven minutes of stoppage time.

At the break, Kerry were 1-4 to 0-5 in front, Hickey shooting home the 21st minute goal after the Kingdom broke from turnover ball.
Hickey had earlier been denied by a smart close-range save by Tipp goalkeeper Gearóid Slattery, who saved two penalties in the quarter-final victory over Waterford.

Ger Hally went close for Tipp at the other end but even when the Premier County did break through for McEnroe’s goal, they couldn’t push on as Kerry upped the pace. Midfield dominance paved the way for this impressive win and the winners had seven different scorers.

Scorers for Kerry: Thomas Hickey 1-2 (0-2f), Jeff O’Donoghue 0-4, Dan O’Donoghue 1-0, Alan O’Donoghue 0-3, Conor Cox 0-2, James Walsh & Liam Carey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Kevin Fox 0-4 (3f), Dean McEnroe 1-0, Aldo Matassa & Dean Lonergan (1f, 1 45) 0-2 each.


1. Shane Murphy (Kilcummin)
2. Dan O’Donoghue (Spa)
3. Jack McGuire (Listowel Emmetts)
4. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)
5. Greg Gibson (Waterville)
6. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia)
7. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
8. James Walsh (Knocknagoshel)
9. Liam Kearney (Spa)
10. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
11. Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
12. Denis Daly (St Mary’s)
13. Alan O’Donoghue (C) (John Mitchels)
14. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmetts)
15. Thomas Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds)
18. Eamonn Kiely (Brosna) for Morley (half-time)
17. Michael Brennan (Churchill) for Gibson (37)
21. Liam Carey (Beaufort) for Daly (45)
22. Adam Barry (Brosna) for Cox (49)
20. Gary O’Sullivan (Listry) for J O’Donoghue (57)
23. David Griffin (Ardfert) for O’Sullivan (59)


1. Gearóid Slattery (Cashel)
2. Ger Hally (Cahir)
3. Daragh Kearney (Clonmel Óg)
4. Donal Lynch Capt. (Clonmel Commercials)
5. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
6. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers)
24. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
8. Aldo Matassa (Clonmel Commercials)
9. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers)
10. Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers)
20. Alan O’Riordan (JK Brackens)
12. Donagh Leahy (Arravale Rovers)
13. Kevin Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)
14. Dean Lonergan (Cahir)
15. Dean McEnroe (JK Brackens)
11. Tommy Sweeney (Ballyporeen) for O’Riordan (30+6)
19. Gerry Cronin (Ardfinnan) for Dunne (47)
17. Niall Gleeson (Portroe) for S Leahy (49)
18. Mark Russell (Aherlow Gaels) for Matassa (56)
23. Dominic Walsh (Moyle Rovers) for D Leahy (60+1)

Referee: Michael Collins (Cork)

Fixture Details

Munster Junior Football Championship
Sunday 14th June 2015 in Semple Stadium, Thurles @ 13:30
Tiobraid Árann v Ciarraí
Extra Time if Necessary i.e 2 x 10 minute periods only
Referee: Michael Collins (Corcaigh)

Team News

There are two changes in personnel to the Tipperary Junior Football team with Daragh O’Dwyer and Tommy Sweeney getting the nod to start. Some positional switches go on to complete the line up which reads as follows;.

Gearóid Slattery (Cashel), Ger Hally (Cahir), Daragh Kearney (Clonmel Óg), Donal Lynch Capt. (Clonmel Commercials), Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers), Daragh O’Dwyer (Moyle Rovers), Aldo Mattassa (Clonmel Commercials), Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers),Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers), Tommy Sweeney (Ballyporeen), Donough Leahy (Arravale Rovers),Kevin Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty), Dean Lonergan (Cahir), Dean McEnroe (JK Brackens).


June 14, 2015
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

GAA Units