Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster GAA Intermediate Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Tipperary 3-17 Limerick 1-22

June 1, 2014 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Tipperary defeated Limerick by 3-17 to 1-22 after extra time in the Munster GAA Intermediate Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Sunday June 1st at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Heffernan leaves it late as Tipp find extra class to squeeze past Treaty

Tipperary 3-17 Limerick 1-22 (Munster IHC Semi-Final)

Report by Jackie Cahill for the Irish Independent newspaper

TOMMY Heffernan’s last-gasp point gave Munster and All-Ireland champions Tipperary a dramatic victory at Semple Stadium. Heffernan struck at the end of extra-time as the hosts, managed by former county star John Carroll, came from three points down to snatch victory from Limerick’s grasp.

Tipp, who will play Cork or Clare in the provincial final on June 25, were in desperate trouble before Kevin Fox grabbed a late goal and Heffernan fired over the winner. The sides were deadlocked at 1-15 apiece after the regulation hour, with Tony O’Brien’s free in the second minute of stoppage-time rescuing a draw for the hosts. Limerick wing-back Peter Ryan was sent off for a second bookable offence and replaced by Ritchie Ryan for extra-time. Tipp’s late reprieve was a remarkable end to a game that Limerick looked like winning.

They had been seven points down in the first half – and six behind at the break – but the Shannonsiders were two clear before a brace of O’Brien frees ensured two extra 10-minute periods. Mike Ryan had netted in the 43rd minute, racing on to a long ball and finishing to the net with a delicate flick. There had been little indication of a Limerick fightback at half-time, as Don Flynn’s men trailed by 1-10 to 0-7.

The game’s opening score was a Tipperary goal, scored by Heffernan in the third minute after the Nenagh man ran straight at the Limerick defence before finishing clinically. Heffernan was the pick of the Tipperary attack as all six forwards got on the scoresheet, with wing-back Aiden McGrath adding a ’65’.

Willie Griffin was Limerick’s most impressive player in a first half that saw the visitors seven points down before sub Mike Fitzgerald tagged on a point in stoppage-time. Griffin scored four points as the Shannonsiders tried to keep in touch, including two glorious scores from tight on the touchline. Limerick gradually ate into the deficit and, with subs Paudie Leahy and Fitzgerald making a real difference, a run of four unanswered points levelled matters at 1-12 apiece. But they had reckoned without Heffernan’s late, late winner.

Scorers –
Tipperary: T O’Brien 1-6 (0-5fs), T Heffernan 1-3, K Fox 1-1, M Sheedy, D Collins 0-2 each, A McGrath (’65’),T Cleary, J Sheedy 0-1 each. Limerick: W Griffin 0-8 (5fs, 1 ’65’), M Ryan 1-2, D O’Neill, M Fitzgerald, P Leahy 0-3 each, A Brennan, P Ryan, R Ryan 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY – J Logue; D Quinn, A Ryan, P Ryan; A McGrath, R Sherlock, B Stapleton; D Stapleton, J Gallagher; T Cleary, M Sheedy, T Heffernan; D Collins, J Sheedy, T O’Brien
Subs: K Fox for Cleary (39), P White for D Stapleton (50), B Walsh for Collins (54), D Stapleton for Gallagher (60), Gallagher for Stapleton (70), D Collins for J Sheedy (70).

LIMERICK – B Murray; J Ryan, M Reidy, J Hayes; P Ryan, A Brennan, C McNamara; S O’Brien, M O’Connell; K Palmer, B Hourigan, D O’Neill; W Griffin, M Ryan, P Barron
Subs: D Moloney for O’Connell (19), M Fitzgerald for Palmer (25), P Leahy for Hourigan (ht), M Deegan for Hayes (39), P Gleeson for Barron (55), R Ryan for P Ryan (60), S Murphy for Murray (70+1).

REF – D Fox (Laois)

Team News

Tipperary (IH v Limerick) – James Logue (Ballingarry); Pa Ryan (Clonakenny), Andrew Ryan (Toomevara), Daire Quinn (Nenagh Eire Óg); Aiden McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), Ronan Sherlock (Silvermines – Captain), Brian Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons); Denis Stapleton (Sean Treacys), Joe Gallagher (Kildangan); Tommy Heffernan (Nenagh Eire Óg), Michael Sheedy (Portroe), Thomas Cleary (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Tony O’Brien (St Patricks), John Sheedy (Portroe), David Collins (Drom & Inch)

Limerick Intermediate hurling manager Don Flynn and his selectors has named his starting fifteen and match panel for this Sunday’s Munster intermediate hurling championship game against Tipperary in Thurles with throw in timed at 2pm. Captain of the Limerick side will be Patrickswell player Brian Murray. Don Flynn and his management team of Jimmy Carroll, Tom Ryan, Pat Howard and Tony Roche has named the following team
1, Brian Murray (Patrickswell), 2, John Ryan (Cappamore), 3, Mike Reidy (Dromin Athlacca), 4. Jason Hayes (Bruff), 5. Peter Ryan (Dromin Athlacca), 6 Andrew Brennan (Caherline), 7. Cathal McNamara (Doon), 8. Seanie O Brien (Patrickswell), 9. Mark O Connell (Glenroe), 10. Kevin Palmer (Blackrock), 11. Brendan Hourigan (Caherline), 12. David O Neill (South Liberties), 13. Padraic Barron (Knockainey), 14. Mike Ryan (Murroe Boher) and 15. Willie Griffin (Adare)
16. Seamus Murphy Templeglantine, 17. Liam Hurley Kilmallock, 18. Paudie Leahy Blackrock, 19. Ritchie Ryan Ahane, 20. Pat Gleeson Na Piarsaigh, 21. Conor Noonan Feohanagh/Castlemahon, 22. Mark Deegan Hospital Herbertstown, 23. Mike Fitzgerald Doon 24. Denis Moloney Doon.


June 1, 2014
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , ,

GAA Units