Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster GAA Intermediate Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Cork 4-17 Clare 2-20

June 15, 2014 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Cork defeated Clare by 4-17 to 2-20 in the Munster GAA Intermediate Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Sunday June 15th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Early scoring blitz puts Cork on road to victory

By Eoghan Cormican for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Cork 4-17 Clare 2-20

A blistering opening seven-minute spell – in which the Rebels outscored their opponents by 3-4 to 0-2 – laid the foundation for Cork’s victory in this entertaining Munster IHC semi-final. David Drake and Michael O’Sullivan (2-0) torched the Clare rearguard for three early goals, with Drake grabbing his second, Cork’s fourth, by the end of the first quarter. Clare corner-forward Bobby Duggan pounced for the Banner’s sole major of the opening half on eight minutes, Gerry O’Connor’s side 4-7 to 1-8 adrift at the break.

Clare upped the tempo at the change of ends, Cathal Malone’s 42nd minute goal reducing the deficit to four – 4-12 to 2-14. Subsequent points from Cathal O’Connell, Bobby Duggan, Shane McGrath and Patrick Fitzgerald further narrowed the gap, but Cork’s ability to keep the gap at two points would prove crucial. Cork substitute Kevin Hallissey split the posts on the stroke of full-time to rubber stamp the win.

Scorers for Cork: P O’Brien (0-8, 4fs), M O’Sullivan, D Drake (2-1 each), C Murphy (0-2), R Cashman, M Walsh, J Cronin, R Crowley, K Hallissey (0-1 each).

Scorers for Clare: B Duggan (1-10, 0-8fs), C Malone (1-2), P Fitzgerald (0-2), S Gleeson, S McGrath, M O’Neill, A Lynch, C O’Connell, G O’Connell (0-1 each).

CORK: R Cunningham; J O’Callaghan, A Dennehy, B Ó Tuama; R Cashman, T Healy, M Walsh; C Barry, J Wall; C Murphy, P O’Brien, M O’Sullivan; M Kenefick, J Cronin, D Drake.
Subs: T Lawrence for Barry (17), R Crowley for Cashman (45), A Mannix for Kenefick (48), K Hallissey for Wall (50).

CLARE: E Quilligan; C Nolan, C Duggan, K Ryan; G O’Connell, J Shanahan, E Boyce; P Fitzgerald, J Colleran; S Gleeson, S McGrath, C Malone; M O’Neill, A Lynch, B Duggan.
Subs: C O’Connell for Gleeson (ht), Ward for Lynch (ht), S Taylor for Boyce (37 mins), N O’Connor for Nolan (40), S O’Brien for Colleran (53).

Referee: J O’Brien (Tipperary)

Six goals served up as Cork get the better of Clare in Munster intermediate semi final

Cork 4-17 Clare 2-20

Report from

CORK SET UP a Munster intermediate hurling final with Tipperary after claiming victory over Clare in a six-goal thriller at Semple Stadium this afternoon. In the curtain-raiser to the senior encounter between the sides, Cork built on their opening round win over Waterford to stave off the challenge of a Clare team who were making their 2014 competitive bow. Cork got off to an explosive start. Michael O’Sullivan and David Drake both found the net inside the opening two minutes to put them into a 2-1 to 0-1 lead.

Matters got even better for Cork when O’Sullivan fired home his second goal in the 7th minute. Despite Bobby Duggan pulling a goal back for Clare, Cork incredibly managed to strike their fourth early goal through Drake in the 12th minute as they went 4-4 to 1-5 clear. Sharpshooters Duggan for Clare and Peter O’Brien traded points in the second quarter with Cork going in at the break in possession of a 4-7 to 1-8 lead.

Cork continued to maintain that advantage in the early stages of the second-half before Clare fought back and received a boost when Cathal Malone grabbed a goal in the 42nd minute. That left Clare 4-12 to 2-14 adrift and on a couple of occasions during the finale, Duggan converted frees that left them only three points adrift of Cork.

The Rebels were reduced to 14 men late on when Michael O’Sullivan received a second yellow card but points by O’Brien and substitutes Ronan Crowley and Kevin Hallissey helped them run out three-point winners. Cork now advance to a final meeting with Tipperary on Friday June 27th at a Cork venue.

Team News

The Cork Intermediate Hurling team to play Clare at 2pm on Sunday will line out as follows:

1. Richie Cunningham (Youghal)
2. John O Callaghan (Inniscarra – captain)
3. Alan Dennehy (Charleville)
4. Barra O Tuama (Castlemartyr)
5. Ross Cashman (Kilbrittain)
6. Tadhg Healy (Buttevant)
7. Michael Walsh (Kildorrery)
8. Nicky Kelly (Mayfield)
9. Jamie Wall (Kilbrittain)
10. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
11. Peter O’Brien (Kildorrery)
12. Michael O’Sullivan (Tracton)
13. Mark Kenefick (Ballygarvan)
14. John Cronin (Lisgoold)
15. David Drake (Carrigaline)

16. James Mc Sweeney (Bandon)
17. Tomás Lawrence (Brian Dillons)
18. John Grace (Youghal)
19. Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
20. Ronan Crowley (Bandon)
21. Kevin Hallissey (Eire Og)
22. Adrian Mannix (Kilworth)
23. John Sheehan (Argideen Rangers)
24. Cian Mc Carthy (Brian Dillons)


June 15, 2014
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , ,

GAA Units