Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster S.H.C. – Tipperary 2-20 Cork 1-23

May 27, 2018 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Tipperary and Cork played out a 2-20 to 1-23 draw in Round 2 of the Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship on Sunday May 27th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Tipp finish strongly to earn draw


Report by Denis Hurley for

Substitute Jake Morris earned Tipperary their first point of the Munster SHC round-robin as his injury-time equaliser secured a draw against Cork at Semple Stadium on Sunday.

In a pulsating game, Cork looked to have done enough to secure a second straight win as late points from Séamus Harnedy and Shane Kingston (two) gave them a cushion following an excellent Tipperary fightback.

When Anthony Nash saved brilliantly to deny John O’Dwyer a goal, it looked as if it wouldn’t be Tipp’s day, but points from Jason Forde and John McGrath gave them hope. Even still, the equaliser looked to be elusive as Seán O’Donoghue blocked down O’Dwyer and Noel McGrath shot wide, but at the very end, Morris – with his first touch – fired over after Cork uncertainty. After a brief wait for clarification from the score-adjudication system, the point was awarded and that was that.

Cork had begun at a break-neck pace, with seven unanswered points inside 14 minutes as they operated at a tempo that Tipp couldn’t deal with. Daniel Kearney, nominally wing-forward, was everywhere, chipping in with two points while captain Séamus Harnedy had three and was fouled for another, the free converted by Patrick Horgan.

In the midst of all of that, Tipp should have had a goal with one of their few cohesive attacking movements. Séamus Callanan’s good crossfield ball found John McGrath on the run and he fed Patrick Maher, but while most of thee 22,456 in attendance prepared for the net to dance, Cork goalkeeper Anthony Nash pulled off a wonderful save.

However, Nash could do nothing to drive Jason Forde’s drive on 14 after he picked up a loose ball when Patrick Maher was blocked down, and quick points in the wake of that from Brendan Maher and Noel McGrath left just two in it all of a sudden.

When a Horgan shot was waved wide after consultation, Patrick Maher reduced that gap to just on after winning the puckout, but Cork came stronger again.

They reeled off another five points in a row, Shane Kingston really coming to the fore with two points from searching deliveries, while Harnedy, Horgan and Kearney continued their impressive output.

After Noel McGrath’s second left it 0-13 to 14, Kingston struck for a Cork goal. When he won the ball from a Nash puckout, he exchanged passes with the ever-lively Darragh Fitzgibbon and, though he looked to have been dispossessed as he came in from the left, he managed to get his shot in, beating Brian Hogan from a narrow angle.

The nine-point advantage still pertained at half-time, Cork 1-15 to 1-6 to the good, but Tipp – with John O’Dwyer on – responded strongly at the outset of the second half, putting together five points in a row, three from Forde with the McGrath brothers getting one each.

Horgan ended Cork’s drought with a free after he had been fouled himself and Conor Lehane got on the scoresheet after Luke Meade had blocked down a Séamus Kennedy clearance.

When the next four points were shared, Cork looked to have settled again, but a good Tipp move ended in a second goal, O’Dwyer and Forde feeding Noel McGrath for a good low finish across Nash.

Bill Cooper moved Cork four in front again but Tipp were coming. Nash had to be quick off his line to deny O’Dwyer a shot, however points from Forde (65), O’Dwyer and John McGrath (two) had the home side level by the 60th minute.

That was how it finished, but not without plenty more twists and turns in the final 10 minutes.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 1-6 (4fs, 265s), Noel McGrath 1-3, John McGrath 0-5, Brendan Maher, Billy McCarthy, Patrick Maher, Séamus Callanan, Jake Morris, John O’Dwyer 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Shane Kingston 1-5, Séamus Harnedy, Patrick Horgan (2fs) 0-5 each, Daniel Kearney 0-4, Bill Cooper, Conor Lehane 0-2 each.

TIPPERARY: Brian Hogan; Seán O’Brien, Séamus Kennedy, Michael Cahill; Joe O’Dwyer, Ronan Maher, Pádraic Maher; Brendan Maher, Billy McCarthy; Patrick Maher, Noel McGrath, Dan McCormack; Séamus Callanan, Jason Forde, John McGrath.
Subs: John O’Dwyer for Patrick Maher (HT), Jake Morris for Callanan, Ger Browne for McCarthy (both 70).

CORK: Anthony Nash; Seán O’Donoghue, Damien Cahalane, Colm Spillane; Mark Ellis, Christopher Joyce, Mark Coleman; Darragh Fitzgibbon, Bill Cooper; Luke Meade, Conor Lehane, Daniel Kearney; Séamus Harnedy, Shane Kingston, Patrick Horgan.
Subs: Brian Lawton for Meade (54), Tim O’Mahony for Kearney (59), Jamie Coughlan for Kingston (70).

REFEREE: John Keenan (Wicklow).

Video Match Preview

Ticket Prices – Senior and Minor Hurling Round-Robin Championship Matches

Adult: Stand €20, Terrace €15
Under 16s: €5 all areas
Student/OAP: Concession of €5 with valid ID prior to entry at the designated stile.

The above prices are pre purchase prices, applicable until midnight of the night before the game. All adult ticket prices increase by €5 on the day

Tickets are available for purchase via
and participating Centra and Supervalu Outlets (Ticketing Store Locator)

John Meyler – Munster Magic

Fixture Details

27.05.2018 (Sun)
Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship Round 2
Semple Stadium, Thurles 14:00
Tiobraid Árann v Corcaigh
Referee: John Keenan (Cill Mhantáin)

Team News

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Sean O’Brien, Seamus Kennedy, Michael Cahill; Joe O’Dwyer, Ronan Maher, Padriac Maher (capt); Brendan Maher, Billy McCarthy; Dan McCormack, Noel McGrath, Patrick McGrath; Seamus Callanan, Jason Forde, John McGrath

Tipperary v Cork

They meet in the championship for the 86th time, with Tipperary leading 39-38, with seven draws and one abandoned game from the previous 85.

2017: Cork 2-27 Tipperary 1-26 (Munster quarter-final)
2014: Tipperary 2-18 Cork 1-11 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2012: Tipperary 1-22 Cork 0-24 (Munster semi-final)
2011: Tipperary 3-22 Cork 0-23 (Munster quarter-final)
2010: Cork 3-15 Tipperary 0-14 (Munster quarter-final)

The counties made contrasting starts to the ‘Round Robin’ campaign last Sunday when Cork beat Clare (2-23 to 1-21) while Tipperary lost to Limerick (1-23 to 2-14). Tipperary beat Cork by 1-24 to 1-21 in their Allianz League clash Semple Stadium in March. Pat Horgan scored 1-10 (0-8 frees, 1-0 penalty) for Cork while Jason Forde scored 0-12 (0-7 frees for Tipperary). Cork’s win over Tipperary last year was the first time they had beaten the Premier county in Thurles since 2006. Michael Ryan (Tipperary) is in his second season as Tipperary manager while John Meyler is in his first year with Cork.


May 27, 2018
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units