Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster S.H.C. – Clare 2-27 Waterford 2-18

May 27, 2018 @ 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Clare defeated Waterford by 2-27 to 2-18 in Round 2 of the Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship on Sunday May 27th at Cusack Park Ennis.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Clare outclass Waterford

Munster Senior Hurling Championship


Report By Eoin Brennan for

Clare got their Munster Championship bid up-and-running in style when powering past an injury-ravaged Waterford in front of 13,736 in Cusack Park, Ennis.

Home advantage was certainly influential for the Banner to unearth their best provincial championship display since reaching the 2008 Munster decider as they bounced back superbly from their opening loss to Cork with a determined display.

John Conlon was the home side’s undoubted talisman when not only scoring 1-3 but also earning the match-altering penalty at the end of the opening quarter.

Peter Duggan fired 1-10 from placed balls while Tony Kelly revelled in the freedom of home soil with six points from play on their way to only a third provincial victory in 14 outings.

In contrast, it was a truly forgettable championship bow for last year’s All-Ireland finalists who along with having to concede second best, were further depleted by a succession of injuries along with a red card for captain Kevin Moran midway through the second half.

Starting without Austin Gleeson and Pauric Mahony, Derek McGrath’s side also lost four defensive options to injury as Tadgh de Burca, Noel Connors, Darragh Fives and Barry Coughlan all had to be replaced throughout a dispiriting afternoon.

The visitors had started well with the aid of the conditions which contributed to their opening goal in the ninth minute when a Stephen O’Keeffe puck-out was gathered by Tom Devine, only to see his shot repelled by goalkeeper Donal Tuohy. Maurice Shanahan was quickest to react to fire the rebound to the net and give his side a 1-4 to 0-3 lead.

The loss of de Burca allied to a home penalty in the 17th minute saw the pendulum swing decisively towards the home side however as John Conlon was felled on his way to goal for Peter Duggan to fire to the top left corner of the net and ignite Clare into action.

Shane O’Donnell dispossessed Barry Coughlan with a shoulder to snatch an inspirational point while a second goal soon followed as Conlon shrugged off two challenges before firing past goalkeeper O’Keeffe from close range at 2-6 to 1-6 by the 23rd minute.

Gathering momentum, four further points, three from Duggan, lifted the hosts seven clear. And while Waterford did lower the half-time arrears to just five at 2-11 to 1-09, it would be accompanied by a back injury for Noel Connors that ruled him out of the second half.

Clare’s bright start on the restart through Tony Kelly (2) and Conlon was cancelled out by a goal from substitute Tommy Ryan by the 42nd minute. However, any hopes of a Waterford revival were soon quashed when spinal defenders Darragh Fives and Barry Coughlan had to replaced through injury while Kevin Moran followed them into the dressing room in the 48th minute when receiving a straight red from referee Paud O’Dwyer.

With that, Duggan punished Waterford from frees while Tony Kelly, John Conlon and Colm Galvin fended off any insurgency from Stephen Bennett who largely carried the torch for his side in a difficult second half.

Indeed, the result was known from a long way off as Clare held a double figure lead for much of the final quarter on their way to a rousing first win.

Scorers for Clare: Peter Duggan 1-10 (1-0 pen, 9f, 1’65), Tony Kelly 0-6, John Conlon 1-3, Jamie Shanahan, Colm Galvin 0-2 each, David Fitzgerald, Conor McGrath, Shane O’Donnell, and David Reidy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Maurice Shanahan 1-6 (6fs), Tommy Ryan 1-1, Stephen Bennett and Jake Dillon 0-2 each, Tadgh de Burca, Conor Gleeson, Philip Mahony, Tom Devine, Kevin Moran, Jamie Barron, and DJ Foran 0-1 each.

CLARE: Donal Tuohy; Jack Browne, David McInerney, Patrick O’Connor; David Fitzgerald, Conor Cleary, Jamie Shanahan; Colm Galvin, Cathal Malone; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, David Reidy; Conor McGrath, John Conlon, Shane O’Donnell.
Subs: Podge Collins for McGrath (60), Seadna Morey for Malone (64), Niall Deasy for Reidy (65), Mikey O’Neill for O’Donnell (67), Daragh Corry for Conlon (68)

WATERFORD: Stephen O’Keeffe; Barry Coughlan, Shane Fives, Noel Connors; Philip Mahony, Tadhg de Burca, Darragh Fives; Jamie Barron, Conor Gleeson; Kevin Moran, Maurice Shanahan, Jake Dillon; Michael Walsh, Tom Devine, Shane McNulty
Subs: Colm Roche for de Burca (14, inj), Stephen Bennett for Connors (HT, inj), DJ Foran for Walsh (HT), Tommy Ryan for D. Fives (38, inj), Ian Kenny for Coughlan (45, inj).

REFEREE: Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow)

Video Match Preview

Team News

WATERFORD: Stephen O’Keeffe; Shane Fives, Barry Coughlan, Noel Connors; Tadhg de Burca, Darragh Fives, Philip Mahony; Jamie Barron, Conor Gleeson; Kevin Moran, Tom Devine, Jake Dillon; Maurice Shanahan, Michael Walsh, Shane McNulty

Clare: Donal Tuohy; Patrick O’Connor, Conor Cleary, Jack Browne; Seada Morey, David McInerney, David Fitzgerald; Colm Gavin, Tony Kelly; Cathal Malone, John Conlon, David Reidy; Conor McGrath, Peter Duggan, Shane O’Donnell.
Subs: Andrew Fahy, Cian Dillon, Jason McCarthy, Jamie Shanahan, Mikey O’Malley, Ryan Taylor, Niall Deasy, Ian Galvin, Mikey O’Neill, Podge Collins, Darragh Corry.

Match Preview

Munster Magic – Patrick O’Connor

Ticket Prices

Adult Terrace: €20
Under 16s: €5 all areas
Student/OAP: Concession of €5 with valid ID prior to entry at the designated stile.

The above prices are pre purchase prices, applicable until midnight of the night before the game. All adult ticket prices increase by €5 on the day

Tickets are available for purchase via
and participating Centra and Supervalu Outlets (Ticketing Store Locator)

Waterford Selector Eoin Murphy Interview

Fixture Details

27.05.2018 (Sun)
Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship Round 2
Cusack Park, Ennis 15:30
Clare v Port Láirge
Referee: Paud O’Dwyer (Ceatharlach)


This will be the first Munster senior hurling championship games played in Cusack Park, Ennis since 1997 when Clare beat Kerry by 3-24 to 1-6 in the quarter-final.

2016: Waterford 1-21 Clare 0-17 (Munster semi-final)
2013: Clare 2-20 Waterford 1-15 (Munster quarter-final)
2012: Waterford 2-17 Clare 1-18 (Munster semi-final)
2010: Waterford 0-22 Clare 1-15 (2010 Munster semi-final)
2008: Clare 2-26 Waterford 0-23 (Munster quarter-final)

The counties met in this year’s Allianz League in Ennis in Walsh Park on March 11 when Waterford won by 1-23 to 1-20 on a day when Patrick Curran scored 1-13 (0-9 frees) for the winners. Waterford were later relegated from 1A while Clare finished fourth in the table before losing the quarter-final after a free-taking shoot-out with Limerick after the game was level following two periods of extra-time. After being relegated from Division 1A of the Allianz League, Waterford will be having their first outing in the championship, while Clare lost their opening game to Cork last Sunday. Derek McGrath is in his fifth season as Waterford manager while the Gerry O’Connor/ Donal Moloney partnership is in its second year at the Banner helm.


May 27, 2018
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

GAA Units