Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

McGrath Cup Football – Limerick 0-9 Waterford 0-7

January 15, 2017 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Limerick defeated Waterford by 0-9 to 0-7 in Round 3 of the McGrath Cup Football competition on Sunday January 15th at Lemybrien.

Neville shoots Limerick to a McGrath Cup showdown

Limerick 0-9 Waterford 0-7

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Danny Neville guided Limerick to the McGrath Cup final with five second-half points at a breezy Lemybrien yesterday.

The sides were deadlocked at the break, before the Ballysteen attacker moved to full-forward and posted three consecutive scores during the third quarter.
The Shannonsiders never looked back and maintained their unbeaten start under new boss Billy Lee.

After shooting eight first-half wides, he was encouraged by his side’s response. “We were a lot happier with the second-half performance. We had opportunities in the first-half and we didn’t execute them. It’s about building confidence in these lads because they’re a very young team,” said Lee.

In a below-par contest, Limerick wasted 11 first-half scoring opportunities with the elements behind them. Conor Murray curled over a beauty for the hosts, with Patrick Hurney and captain Paul Whyte (free) also raising white flags. Sean McSweeney levelled matters from an injury-time placed ball to leave it 0-3 apiece.

Joey Veale nudged Waterford in front again 18 seconds after the restart. Neville shot three points on the trot, however, including a delicious free with the outside of his right boot, to hand Limerick the initiative.

Whyte and Patrick Hurney twice closed the gap to the minimum, but a punched effort by substitute Killian Ryan and Neville’s fifth point settled the issue in favour of Lee’s side.

Scorers – Limerick: D Neville 0-5 (1f), C Sheehan, B Donovan, K Ryan, S McSweeney (f) 0-1 each. Waterford: P Whyte (2fs), P Hurney 0-2 each, C Murray, J Veale, J McGrath 0-1 each.

Limerick – D O’Sullivan; P White, J McCarthy, G Noonan; P Quinn, C Fahy, P Hannon; B Fanning, D Treacy; C Sheehan, S O’Carroll, D Neville; J Naughton, S McSweeney, B Donovan.
Subs: P Nash for Sheehan (29); J Lee for McSweeney (45); D Ward for Hannon (56); S O’Dea for O’Carroll (56); K Ryan for Naughton (56); B Creamer for Quinn (69).

Waterford – S Enright; J McGrath, T O’Gorman, S Dalton; R O Ceallaigh, S Prendergast, F Galvin; T Prendergast, M Curry; F Ó Cuirrín, M O’Halloran, P Hurney; C Murray, P Whyte, J Veale.
Subs: D Breathnach for O’Halloran (34), G Crotty for Murray (48), D Guiry for Veale (57), C Maguire for G Crotty (67 BC)

REF – J Bermingham (Cork)

Match Preview

Team News

New Limerick senior football manager Billy Lee has named the same starting fifteen and match panel that was used in their victory over Clare midweek to face Waterford on Sunday. The management team of Billy Lee, Paudie Kissane, Brian Begley and Ricky Ronayne has released the following team and panel for Sunday’s game in round two of the McGrath Cup in Leymbrien Co Waterford at 2pm.

1. Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen), 2. Daniel Daly (Fr Caseys), 3. Johnny McCarthy (St Kierans), 4. Sean O Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen), 5. Paul White (Rathkeale), 6. Iain Corbett (Newcastlewest) (Captain), 7. Paul Hannon (Newcastlewest), 8. Darragh Treacy (St Kierans), 9. David Ward (Fr Caseys), 10. Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskernry), 11. Ger Collins (Monaleen), 12. Danny Neville (Ballysteen), 13. Sean McSweeney (St Kierans) 14. Seamus O Carroll (Cappagh) and 15. Jamie Lee (Newcastlewest).

16 Andrew Ruddle (Newcastlewest) 17. Padraig Quinn (Monaleen), 18. James Bridgeman (St Senans), 19. Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher/Broadford), 20. Garrett Noonan (Dromcollogher/Broadford), 21. Bill Creamer (Cappamore), 22. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), 23. Brian Donovan (Monaleen), 24. Barry Lynch (Feoghanagh/Castlemahon), 25. Killian Ryan (Mungret/St Pauls) and 26. James Naughton (St Senans).


January 15, 2017
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units