Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

McGrath Cup Football – Cork 2-22 Tipperary 1-10

January 11, 2017 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cork defeated Tipperary by 2-22 to 1-10 in Round 2 of the McGrath Cup Football on Wednesday January 11th at Templetuohy.

Niall Coakley makes the most of Cork opportunity

By Eoghan Cormican for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Cork’s 2017 season opened in promising fashion last night as an experimental outfit eased past the challenge of Tipperary.

A Wednesday night fixture under lights in Templetuohy was as off-Broadway as season openers go, but in fairness to Peadar Healy’s mix and match outfit, they went about their business in determined fashion and had their first victory of the year wrapped up by the call for half-time.

Cian Dorgan and John Mullins were handed their competitive debuts, while Niall Coakley, a native of Carrigaline who plays his club football with St Jude’s in Dublin, was also afforded a first start in a red shirt.

Dorgan was an early withdrawal, an injury sustained in the 12th minute cutting short the Ballincollig man’s evening. His replacement, Kevin Davis, was one of the standout performers on either side, the Skibb forward kicking six points from play upon his introduction. Coakley too had a good night at the office. He finished with 2-3.

Feeding both men, more often than not, was centre- forward Seán Powter, the young Douglas footballer displaying pretty commendable levels of fitness for the second week of January.

This McGrath Cup game was the first meeting of the counties since Tipperary’s famous Munster championship win over the Rebels in June of last year and while revenge certainly wasn’t on the travelling agenda, there was never any fear of a second successive defeat at the hands of the Premier County materialising.

It was game over at half-time, the visitors enjoying a 1-12 to 1-4 advantage. The situation would have been far worse for Liam Kearns’ charges but for an Alan Moloney goal in first-half stoppages. Injury had robbed the home management of defenders Paddy Codd and Colm O’Shaughnessy and their full-back line was continuously stretched by Coakley and the direct running of Powter. Davis, meanwhile, had four points beside his name come the break.

Coakley supplied both Cork goals, the first of which arrived in the 20th minute and in the middle of an unanswered 1-6 from the winners. His initial effort came back down off the post and when Powter suffered the same fortune, the ball fell kindly back into Coakley’s path and he rattled the net from close range.

Healy’s charges noticeably eased off in the second period, with six points being as close as Tipperary would get, that after two on the bounce from the impressive Liam Boland. Liam McGrath and Robbie Kiely were the other Tipperary players to show form, the former kicking three from play before being hauled ashore.

As it was, Cork finished out proceedings with an uninterrupted 1-7. Powter put through Coakley for goal number two on 60 minutes, with Ruairi Deane, Powter, Conor Dorman, Padraig De Róiste, Brian and Don O’Driscoll swelling their tally.

A second successive defeat ends Tipperary’s involvement in the competition, while Cork host Kerry at Mallow on Sunday with the winner advancing to the following weekend’s McGrath Cup decider.

Scorers for Cork: N Coakley (2-3, 0-1 free); K Davis (0-6); B O’Driscoll, D O’Driscoll (0-3 each); R Deane, S Powter (0-2 each); C Dorman, I Maguire, P De Róiste (0-1 each);

Scorers for Tipperary: L Boland (0-4); L McGrath (0-3); A Moloney (1-0); D Foley, L Casey (0-1 each).

CORK: R Price; M Shields, J Mullins, J. McLoughlin; S Cronin, C Dorman, M Taylor; I Maguire, R Deane; K O’Driscoll, S Powter, B O’Driscoll; N Coakley, P Kelleher, C Dorgan.
Subs: D O’Driscoll for K O’Driscoll (11 mins, inj); K Davis for Dorgan (12 mins, inj); K Histon for Taylor (HT); P De Roiste for Maguire (HT).

TIPPERARY: C Kenrick; B Fox, J Hennessy, K Fahey; J Keane, R Kiely, B Maher; A Moloney, J Kennedy; J Lonergan, L Casey, L McGrath; L Boland, C Stapleton, D Foley
Subs: A McGrath for Maher (HT); P Shanahan for Casey (42 mins); C Sweeney for L McGrath (45); M Dunne for Kiely (49, bc); I Fahey for Foley (55).

Referee: R Hickey (Clare)

Team News

The Cork Senior Football team to play Tipperary on Wednesday at 7.30pm in Templetuohy has been announced as follows.

1. Ryan Price – O Donovan Rossa
2. Michael Shields – St Finbarrs
3. John Mullins – Eire Og
4. John McLoughlin – Kanturk
5. Stephen Cronin – Nemo Rangers
6. Conor Dorman – Bishopstown
7. Matthew Taylor – Mallow
8. Ian Maguire – St Finbarrs
9. Ruairi Deane – Bantry Blues
10. Sean Powter – Douglas
11. Mark Collins – Castlehaven
12. Kevin O Driscoll – Tadhg MacCarthaigh
13. Niall Coakley – St Judes
14. Peter Kelleher – Kilmichael
15. Cian Dorgan – Ballincollig

16. Ken O Halloran – Bishopstown
17. Brian O Driscoll – Tadhg MacCarthaigh
18. Don O Driscoll – Clann na nGael
19. Kevin Davis – O Donovan Rossa
20. Kieran Histon – Cobh
21. Padraig De Roiste – Fermoy

The Tipperary football team to play Cork in Group A Round 2 of the McGrath Cup this Wednesday night at 7.30pm in Templetuohy has been announced.

The Tipperary panel is as follows;

1 Ciarán Kenrick – Moyle Rovers
2 Emmet Moloney – Drom & Inch
3 Joseph Hennessy – Loughmore-Castleiney
4 Kevin Fahey – Clonmel Commercials
5 Bill Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
6 Robbie Kiely (Capt.) – Carbery Rangers
7 Brian Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill
8 Alan Moloney – Rockwell Rovers
9 Jack Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials
10 Jason Lonergan – Clonmel Commercials
11 Philip Austin – Borrisokane
12 Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle
13 Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen
14 Colm Stapleton – Upperchurch-Drombane
15 Diarmuid Foley – Moyle Rovers

Fir Ionaid:
16 Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
17 Liam Boland – Moyle Rovers
18 Liam Casey – Cahir
19 Martin Dunne – Moyle Rovers
20 Paul Shanahan – Upperchurch-Drombane
21 David Butler – Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams
22 Cian Hennessy – Loughmore-Castleiney
23 Aidan McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
24 Liam McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
25 Ian Fahey – Clonmel Commercials


January 11, 2017
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

GAA Units