Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final Replay – Cork 2-22 Tipperary 2-19

July 3, 2017 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cork defeated Tipperary by 2-22 to 2-19 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final Replay on Monday July 3rd at Pairc Ui Rinn.

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final replay: Classy Cork advance


Report By Jackie Cahill for

Cork’s minor hurlers ensured that they will join their seniors in Thurles next Sunday, as they scored a three-point victory over Tipperary in an entertaining Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Semi-Final replay.

A massive 8,142 attendance descended on Páirc Uí Rinn for the second instalment – and Cork ended Tipp’s reign as provincial and All-Ireland champions.

Cork were 11 points up in the second half but Tipp – boosted by goals from substitutes Cathal Bourke and Kevin McCarthy – had the gap down to just a single point in stoppage time.

But up stepped star man Brian Turnbull to stretch Cork’s lead back out to two points, before Daire Connery’s late, late free sealed victory.

Last Thursday, Turnbull and Connery collected 0-16 and they were on fire again this evening, registering 0-14 for the young Rebels. Craig Hanafin was another to excel for the hosts, sniping 1-4 from play over the hour.

Despite registering eight of their 12 wides in the first half alone, Denis Ring’s young guns were still 2-11 to 0-10 clear. After Tipp, playing with the breeze, had cruised into an early 0-4 to 0-1 lead, Cork opened up with a devastating scoring run that yielded 2-5.

Hanafin netted in the fifth minute, taking a pass from Liam O’Shea before finishing well, before O’Shea himself raised a green flag six minutes later. That run left Cork 2-6 to 0-4 in front – an eight-point lead – before Tipp stopped the rot through Jake Morris, who would finish with five points from play.

Conor Bowe also enjoyed a good first half for Tipp, but Cork were nine points clear approaching half-time, before the visitors kept themselves rallied to keep themselves just about in touch. Cork could also have had another goal in the 22nd minute – but O’Shea flashed an effort across the face of goal.

Tipp opened the second half with the opening score but Cork gained a firm stranglehold on proceedings and were 11 ahead – 2-17 to 0-12 – in the 42nd minute.

Back came Tipp with a gritty rally and Bourke’s goal with nine minutes left gave them hope. Tipp lost Jerome Cahill to a second yellow card in the 60th minute, but were still knocking on the Cork door late on, as sub Darragh Woods collected five of his six points from frees.

In the second minute of stoppage time, Kevin McCarthy found the net and Tipp sensed blood. But Cork steadied and two of their leading stars – Turnbull and Connery – found the range to edge them home and end a run that had seen the county lose their previous four Munster semi-finals.

Next Sunday’s tussle with Cork marks the first Munster minor hurling decider for the county since 2008 – and they’ll join their seniors on a double-bill against Clare.

Scorers for Cork: Brian Turnbull 0-8 (4fs), Craig Hanafin 1-4, Daire Connery 0-6 (2fs, 1 sideline), Liam O’Shea 1-0, Robert Downey 0-2, Sean O’Leary Hayes and Evan Sheehan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Darragh Woods 0-6 (5fs), Jake Morris 0-5, Anthony McKelvey 0-4f, Cathal Bourke and Kevin McCarthy 1-0 each, Conor Bowe 0-3, Niall Hoctor 0-1.

CORK: Ger Collins; Eoin Roche, James Keating, Conor O’Callaghan, Brian Roche, Sean O’Leary Hayes, Aaron Walsh Barry; Ger Millerick, Daire Connery; Evan Sheehan, Craig Hanafin, Diarmuid Lenihan; Liam O’Shea, Robert Downey, Brian Turnbull
Subs: Declan Hanlon for O’Shea (51), Barry Murphy for Sheehan (58).

TIPPERARY: Eoin Collins; Michael Purcell, Michael Feehan, Jerome Cahill; Robbie Quirke, Craig Morgan, Kieran Breen; Bryan O’Mara, Paddy Cadell; Conor Bowe, Jake Morris, Ray McCormack; Niall Hoctor, Anthony McKelvey, Conor McCarthy
Subs: Darragh Woods for McCarthy (h.t.), Eoghan Connolly for O’Mara (h.t.), Kevin McCarthy for Breen (42), Cathal Bourke for Hoctor (43), Billy Seymour for McKelvey (46).

REFEREE: Johnny Murphy (Limerick).

Ticket Information

Adults – €10
Students / OAPs – €5
Under 16s – Free

Tickets can be purchased from Cemtra & Supervalu outlets in advance of the game – visit the Munster GAA Ticketing Locator to see participating stores in Munster.

Match Programme


July 3, 2017
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , , , , ,

GAA Units