Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Electric Ireland Munster MHC Q-Final – Cork 2-20 Limerick 1-13

April 8, 2015 @ 7:00 pm

Cork defeated Limerick by 2-20 to 1-13 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Wednesday April 8th at Pairc Ui Rinn.

Munster MHC: Cork cruise to win over Limerick


A fine second-half turnaround propelled Cork into the semi-finals of the Electric Ireland Munster MHC as they saw off Limerick at Páirc Uí Rinn this evening.

At half-time, the visitors led by 1-9 to 1-6, and only a late Cork goal from Tim O’Mahony, followed by a point from captain Shane Kingston, the margin would have been greater. However, Cork rallied at half-time and scored the first five points of the second half to put themselves into a lead which they wouldn’t lose. Captain Kingston finished with 1-9, including the 45th-minute goal which made it 2-12 to 1-10, and from there they pushed on to victory.

In the first half, Limerick had been dominant. They were 0-4 to 0-1 ahead when Séamus Flanagan caught a Darragh Carroll sideline in the 11th minute and turned and shot to the net to put them firmly in control. While Kingston’s frees were keeping Cork from falling further behind, points from Barry Murphy, Flanagan and Casey were keeping the scoreboard active for Limerick and Flanagan’s free on 28 made it 1-9 to 0-5.

Incredibly, Cork would ‘win’ the remainder of the game by 2-15 to 0-4, Crowley’s goal – after Limerick goalkeeper Eoghan McNamara had denied Robbie O’Flynn – kick-starting the revival. Michael O’Halloran, Ciarán Cormack, sub John Looney and goalkeeper Declan Dalton all scored for Cork in the closing stages as they eased to a 10-point win. They could, however, face Limerick again, as the Treatymen clash with Waterford for a place in the semi-finals against the Rebels.
Scorers for Cork: S Kingston 1-9 (0-5 frees), T O’Mahony 1-3, M O’Halloran, J Looney, D Dalton (0-1 free, 0-1 65) 0-2 each, B Dunne, C Cormack 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: S Flanagan 1-4 (0-4 frees), B Murphy 0-5, P Casey 0-2, W O’Meara 0-1.

CORK: D Dalton; S Smyth, D Griffin, N O’Leary; M Coleman, E Murphy, D Lowney; C O’Leary, D Fitzgibbon; T O’Mahony, R O’Flynn, S Kingston; B Dunne, C Cormack, M O’Halloran
Subs: D Gunning for O’Flynn (half-time), J Looney for Dunne (43).

LIMERICK: E McNamara; M Bourke, C McSweeney, J O’Grady; C Carroll, P O’Loughlin, C Byrnes; T Hayes, C O’Connor; K Hayes, P Casey, T Grimes; B Murphy, S Flanagan, D Carroll
Subs: C Boylan for C Carroll (35), W O’Meara (0-1) for T Hayes (43), D Hannon for D Carroll (53), P Ahern for K Hayes (57), C Magner-Flynn for O’Connor (59).

Referee: R McGann (Clare)
Report: Denis Hurley for

Admission Prices

Adults: €10.00
Students/OAP’s: €5 (available at Venue).
Rebates are available on full priced tickets at designated turnstiles prior to entry.
Juveniles are not required to have a ticket to attend this game.
This fixture is unreserved.

Click to buy tickets in advance

Team News

The Cork Minor Hurling team to play Limerick is as follows –

1: Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)
2: Seadnaidh Smyth (Midleton)
3: David Griffin (Carrigaline )
4: Niall O’Leary ( Castlelyons )
5: Mark Coleman ( Blarney )
6. Eoghan Murphy ( Sarsfields )
7: David Lowney ( Clonakilty)
8: Chris O’Leary ( Valley Rovers )
9: Darragh Fitzgibbon ( Charleville )
10: Tim O’Mahony (Shandrum )
11: Robbie O’Flynn ( Erins Own)
12: Shane Kingston (Douglas ) Capt.
13: Billy Dunne ( Fr O’Neills)
14: Ciaran Cormack ( Blackrock )
15: Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock )
16: Barry Kenneally (Cuchulainns )
17: John Cashman ( Blackrock )
18: Kevin Murphy ( Killeagh/Itas)
19: Conor Cahalane (St Finbarrs )
20: Robert Bourke ( Ballincollig )
21: Billy Hennessy ( St Finbarrs )
22: Danny Gunning (Na Piarsaigh )
23: John Looney (Aghada )
24: Liam Healy (Sarsfields )

Extended training panel :
Donal English (Sarsfields )
Jeremy Saich ( Kilworth )
Matthew Bradley (Aghabullogue )
Sean Howard (Dromtarriffe )
Donnachadh Murphy (Douglas )
Darragh O’Brien ( Killeagh/Itas)
Eoghan O’Brien (Douglas )

Selectors: Denis Ring (Fermoy) Manager; John Dwyer (Ballincollig) Coach; John Mortell (Ballyhea); Liam Martin (Glen Rovers); Pat Hartnett (Midleton).

Trainer: Richard O’Leary (Ballygarvan). Medical Officer: Dr. Paddy Burke (Fermoy). Physiotherapist: John O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum). Logistics: Derek Connolly. Stats: Mike Mortell and Mike McGrath.


April 8, 2015
7:00 pm

GAA Units