Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2022 Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship – Clare 1-22 Waterford 1-8

April 19, 2022 @ 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Clare defeated Waterford by 1-22 to 1-8 in Round 3 of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship on Tuesday April 19th at Cusack Park Ennis.

Match Highlights

Neylon and O’Neill weave magic to help Clare banish demons and Deise

Report by Eoin Brennan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Clare 1-22 Waterford 1-8

Clare bounded back into contention for provincial minor honours after brushing aside the challenge of Waterford in Cusack Park Ennis to tee up a home quarter-final against Kerry on Tuesday evening.

Sucker-punched by a brace of third-quarter Tipperary goals in their competitive bow seven days earlier, this time a determined Banner seized total control for the full hour to run out facile victors over a disappointing Deise.

Top-scorer Cian Neylon (1-5), chief architect Jack O’Neill, defensive anchor James Hegarty and debutant wing-back Sean McMahon excelled for a confident Clare that would score the first seven points by the 20th minute thanks to braces from unerring freetaker Oisin Whelan, James Organ and the lively O’Neill.

Not even a worthy opening point from a 40-metre Billy O’Connell sideline cut could inspire the lacklustre visitors who, by half-time, trailed by 0-9 to 0-2.

Indeed, the result would be put beyond any doubt by the two-thirds mark when the hosts resumed in scorching fashion to outscore Waterford by 1-5 to 0-1 and soar 14 points clear.

Neylon’s opportunist goal would eventually be matched by a Conor Tobin rebound but it was merely a consolation for a Waterford side that now face another long journey to Limerick for their quarter-final clash next Tuesday.

Instead, home substitute Fred Hegarty raided for the last three points to power Clare into a knock-out showdown with with the Kingdom back in Ennis.

Scorers for Clare: C Neylon (1-5); O Whelan (0-7, 5f); J O’Neill, F Hegarty (0-3 each); J Organ, D Stritch (0-2 each)

Scorers for Waterford: J Twomey (0-4f); C Tobin (1-1); B O’Connell (sl), S Mackey, P Cummins (0-1 each)

Clare: M Sheedy; E Gunning, F Treacy, J Cahill; S McMahon, J Hegarty, R McNamara; P Ó Sé, D Stritch; M Collins, J O’Neill, J Organ; S Scanlan, O Whelan, C Neylon
Subs: M O’Halloran for Ó Sé (43), F Lyons for Collins (43), D Keane Hayes for Organ (49), F Hayes for Scanlan (54), F Hegarty for Stritch (56)

Waterford: B Callaghan; C Keane, A O’Neill, T Brennan; B O’Connell, D Lalor, D Walsh; S Mackey, C Ryan; M Morrissey, P Cummins, G Power; C Tobin, J Twomey, B O’Sullivan
Subs: J Henley for Ryan (27), B Drohan for Lalor (35), J Hegarty for Power (38), B Flynn for Mackey (48), J O’Keeffe for O’Sullivan (51) Referee: E Stapleton (Limerick)

Ticket Information

General Admission – €10
Under 16s Free

Click here to buy tickets

Live Streaming

This game will be live streamed by Munster GAA

Click here to view Live Streaming of the game for 8 euro


April 19, 2022
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm


Cusack Park Ennis

GAA Units