Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Final – Kerry 3-14 Cork 3-8

July 3, 2016 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Kerry defeated Cork by 3-14 to 3-8 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Final on Sunday July 3rd at Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney.

Kerry win Munster Minor Football Final

​​Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Final

​​Kerry 3-14 Cork 3-8

​By Denis Hurley at Fitzgerald Stadium for

Kerry dominated the closing stages to claim a fourth Electric Ireland MFC title in a row at Cork’s expense in Killarney on Sunday.

When Mark Buckley scored his second goal for Cork in the 47th minute, it put the visitors 3-7 to 2-9 ahead, giving them the lead for the first time in the game, having trailed by 2-3 to 0-2 early in the first half. The Rebels would only score one more point, however, with Kerry going into overdrive.

Man of the match David Clifford conjured an instant response when he goaled after a quickly-taken free and he would get two more points, as would wing-back Micheál Foley, with captain Seán O’Shea also on target as they ran out six-point winners.

It appeared early on that the final winning margin would be far greater, though. Clifford was central as Bryan Sweeney and captain Seán O’Shea got early goals with Dara Moynihan unlucky too.

Cork were struggling but the free-taking of Damien Gore gave them a foothold in the game and Buckley’s goal ensured that they trailed by just four at half-time, 2-7 to 1-6. Within three minutes of the restart, the sides were level as Colm O’Callaghan’s deflected goal was followed by a Buckley point.

Two Clifford points pushed Kerry ahead again but Buckley’s goal looked to have set up an interesting final quarter. Instead, it was almost all Kerry. Both sides advance to the All-Ireland quarter-finals, with Kerry meeting the Ulster runners-up and Cork clashing with that province’s champions.

Scorers for Kerry: D Clifford 1-5 (2 frees), S O’Shea 1-4 (2 frees, 1 45), B Sweeney 1-0, D Moynihan, M Foley 0-2 each, B Friel 0-1.

Scorers for Cork: M Buckley 2-2, D Gore 0-4 (frees), C O’Callaghan 1-0, C Maguire 0-2

KERRY: B Courtney; G O’Sullivan, N Collins, M Reidy; M Potts, M Foley, D O’Brien; M Breen, M Ryan; D O’Connor, S O’Shea, D Moynihan; B Friel, D Clifford, B Sweeney
Subs: D Naughton for Reidy (half-time), C Linnane for Sweeney (41), D Shaw for Friel (44), C Teahan for Ryan (58), F O’Brien for O’Connor, S Okunbar for Foley (both 60).

CORK: M White; A McCarthy, A Browne, L O’Donovan; R O’Driscoll, N Walsh, T Ó Corcra; J Ryan, S Ryan; S O’Sullivan, K O’Donovan, C Maguire; D Gore, C O’Callaghan, M Buckley
Subs: C Foley for J Ryan (half-time), S O’Driscoll for O’Sullivan (48), G O’Donoghue for S Ryan (53), S Minihane for R O’Driscoll, C O’Mahony for K O’Donovan (both 59).

Referee: A Kissane (Waterford)

Team News

The Cork team to play Kerry in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Final on Sunday 3rd July has been announced as follows

Cork Team
1. Mark White (Clonakilty)
2. Alan McCarthy (St Finbarrs)
3. Aidan Browne (Newmarket)
4. Liam O’Donovan (Clonakilty) Vice Captain
5. Tadhg Corkery (Cill na Martra)
6. Nathan Walsh (Douglas) Captain
7. Rory O’Driscoll (Garnish)
8. Jack Ryan (Ballymartle)
9. Sean Ryan (Ballinascarthy)
10. Sean O’Sullivan (Mitchelstown)
11. Colm O’Callaghan (Eire Og)
12. Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven)
13. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)
14. Mark Buckley (Dohenys)
15. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
16. Kevin Mc Mahon (Kilshannig)
17. Sean Minihane (Ilen Rovers)
18. Jason Twomey (Eire Og)
19. Gearoid O’Donoghue (Ballincollig)
20. Cathal Foley (Kilmichael)
21. Shane O’Driscoll (Glanmire)
22. Cathal O Mahony (Mitchelstown)
23. Lorcan Finn (Mitchelstown)
24. Darragh Moynihan (Ballydesmond)

The Kerry Minor Football Team to play Cork in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Final at Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday next (12 noon) shows one change in personnel from the side that defeated Clare in the semi final – Bryan Sweeney, who played in last year’s All Ireland final, starts at full forward with Ferdia O’Brien the player to lose out.

The team, captained by Seán O’Shea of Kenmare is as follows:

1. Billy Courtney Dr. Crokes
2. Micheál Reidy Ballymacelligott
3. Niall Collins Listowel Emmets
4. Graham O’Sullivan Dromid Pearses
5. Michael Potts Dr. Crokes
6. Daniel O’Brien Glenflesk
7. Micheál Foley Ballydonoghue
8. Mike Breen Beaufort
9. Mark Ryan Rathmore
10. Dara Moynihan Spa
11. Sean O’Shea Kenmare
12. Diarmuid O’Connor Na Gaeil
13. David Clifford Fossa
14. Bryan Sweeney Listowel Emmets
15. Brian Friel Rathmore
Fir Ionaid:
16. Sean Ó Lúing An Ghaeltacht
17. David Naughton Dr. Crokes
18. Ferdia O’Brien Austin Stacks
19. David Shaw Dr. Crokes
20. Kieran Dwyer St. Pats
21. Caolim Teahan Glenbeigh-Glencar
22. Stefan Okunbar Na Gaeil
23. Niall O’Donoghue Firies
24. Cormac Linnane Beale

Bainisteoir: Peter Keane (St Marys)
Treanalaí: Chris Flannery and Padraig Murphy
Roghnoirí: Tommy Griffin (Dingle), James Foley (Kilcummin)

Liaison Officer: Christy Killeen

Additional Players on the Kerry Minor Panel
Tomás O’Connor Ballymacelligott
Dean Fitzgerald Rathmore
Darren Casey St. Mary’s
Karl Mullins Kerins O’Rahillys
Cormac Leane Milltown Castlemaine
Fionán Mackessy Ardfert
Darragh Sugrue Tuosist
Ryan O’Neill Na Gaeil
Cian Gammell Killarney Legion
Chris O’Donoghue Glenflesk

The team contains three of the starting fifteen from last year’s All Ireland final win over Tipperary – Billy Courtney, Sean O’Shea and Bryan Sweeney while three others who played in that final – Daniel O’Brien, Mike Breen and Graham O’Sullivan also make the starting fifteen. Five of the St Brendans Killarney Hogan Cup winning team are included, Billy Courtney, Daniel O’Brien, Michael Potts, Dara Moynihan and David Clifford.

Kerry and Cork clash in Minor Final
Kerry and Cork renew rivalry at Minor level when they clash in the Munster Minor Final in the curtain raiser at Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday (throw-in 12 noon). Kerry are of course All Ireland champions for the past two years and they can still call on the likes of Sean O’Shea, Billy Courtney, Daniel O’Brien, Graham O’Sullivan, Bryan Sweeney and Mike Breen from last year’s successful panel. Peter Keane has taken over the reins from Jack O’Connor and it remains to be seen if the Cahersiveen man can work the oracle in the same fashion as his near neighbour from Dromid did.
Cork have not won the Munster title since 2010 but they do come to Killarney with a big reputation this year. Last year they went down to the Kingdom by just a point after extra time in a classic in Austin Stack Park without having the chance to redeem themselves through the back door system. No doubt this year’s squad will want to reverse that result. Games between these two sides rarely fail to ignite and early comers to the Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday could be in for a treat. Referee is Alan Kissane of Waterford.


July 3, 2016
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

GAA Units