Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Co-Op Munster Hurling League – Limerick 4-28 Kerry 0-16

January 22, 2017 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Limerick defeated Kerry by 4-28 to 0-16 in the Co-Op Munster Hurling League on Sunday January 22nd at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Peter Casey stars on debut as Limerick cut loose

Report by Jackie Cahill for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Munster Hurling League – Limerick 4-28 Kerry 0-16: Former underage star Peter Casey marked his Limerick senior debut with a fine display as the Shannonsiders spanked Kerry by 24 points at the Gaelic Grounds.

Limerick will have to wait on results this week before learning if they’ve made the final but following a 21-point defeat to Cork a week previously, it was an encouraging seven days for manager John Kiely and his players.

Limerick regrouped to beat Clare during the week before seeing off Kerry with plenty to spare. Casey, an All-Ireland U21 medallist with Limerick in 2015, and a senior club winner with Na Piarsaigh, has been touted as a star of the future for some time.

And he showed real flashes of class as Limerick, who also handed senior debuts to Lorcan Lyons and goalkeeper David McCarthy, did pretty much as they pleased.

Kiely revealed: “It was great to see Peter Casey getting back into it again – he’s been off with a concussion for the last three weeks or a month.

“We had to give him time to get himself right and it was lovely for him to get a good run-out today. He needs all the game time he can get now.”

Barry Nash, All-Ireland U21 final man of the match in 2015, also shone with a 2-3 haul as Ronan Lynch came off the bench to score five of his points from frees.

Kerry were stunned when Limerick struck for three goals approaching half-time – Casey, Tom Morrissey and Nash raising green flags.

At the break, Limerick were 3-15 to 0-7 clear and while Kerry were better in the second half, Nash would add another goal to add gloss to the final scoreline.

A disappointing afternoon for Fintan O’Connor’s visitors ended with them reduced to 14 men, James O’Connor dismissed late on for a second bookable offence.

O’Connor said: “They came out in the second half and battled a bit harder – got a lot more tackles, hooks and blocks in, what we’re trying to base our whole effort around. Very disappointed with the result but happy with how they stuck at it.”

Scorers for Limerick: P Casey (1-9, 6 frees); B Nash (2-3); T Morrissey (1-2); R Lynch (0-6, 5 frees); C Lynch (0-3); K O’Brien (0-2); S Cahill, J Ryan, G Mulcahy (0-1 each).

Scorers for Kerry: S Nolan (0-6, 5 frees); D Collins (0-4); M Boyle (0-2); J Griffin, P Boyle, J Goulding (sl) & S Murphy (0-1 each).

LIMERICK: B Hennessy; S Cahill, R McCarthy, R English; L Lyons, D Hannon, S Hickey; D O’Donovan, P Browne; K Hayes, T Morrissey, J Ryan; B Nash, C Lynch, P Casey.
Subs: D Morrissey for R McCarthy (33), D McCarthy for Hennessy (h.t.), R Lynch for Ryan (h.t.), D Dempsey for Morrissey (54), K O’Brien for Nash (54), G Mulcahy for Hayes (blood, 62).

KERRY: A McCabe; B Lyons, P Costello, S Weir; J Griffin, J Godley, J O’Connor; T O’Connor, T Casey; K Carmody, D Collins, M Boyle; J Goulding, P Boyle, S Nolan.
Subs: S Nolan for Lyons (h.t.), P O’Connor for T O’Connor (h.t.), P Lucid for P Boyle (47), S Murphy for Griffin (50), J Brick for Nolan (61).

Referee: J McCormack (Tipperary)

Team News

Limerick senior hurling team to face Kerry in the Co-op Munster Senior Hurling League round 4 this Sunday afternoon at 1pm in Gaelic Grounds has been released.

1. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), 2. Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla), 3. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), 4. Richie English (Doon), 5. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), 6. Declan Hannon (Adare), 7. Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher), 8. Darragh O Donovan (Doon), 9. Paul Browne (Bruff)(Captain), 10. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), 11. Tom Morrissey (Ahane), 12. James Ryan (Garryspillane), 13. Barry Nash (South Liberties), 14. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell) and 15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh).
16. David McCarthy Glenroe, 17. Diarmaid Byrnes Patrickswell, 18. Seanie O Brien Patrickswell, 19. Mike Casey Na Piarsaigh, 20. Pat Ryan Doon, 21. Graeme Mulcahy Kilmallock, 22. David Dempsey Na Piarsaigh, 23. Ronan Lynch Na Piarsaigh, 24. Kevin O Brien Patrickswell, 25. Dan Morrissey Ahane, 26. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, (Monaleen).

The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play Limerick in the Munster Senior Hurling League in the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday next (1:00pm) shows 7 changes from the side that played Clare in Round 2 on Sunday last as the Kerry management rotate the players in the squad. Into the side come Aiden McCabe, Billy Lyons, Paud Costelloe, John Griffin, James O’Connor, Tomás O’Connor, and Jack Goulding.

The team captained by Aiden McCabe of Kilmoyley is as follows:

1 Aiden McCabe (C) Kilmoyley
2 Billy Lyons Causeway
3 Paud Costello Ballyduff
4 Bryan Murphy Causeway
5 John Griffin Lixnaw
6 Patrick Kelly Clarecastle
7 James O’Connor Abbeydorney
8 Tomás O’Connor Crotta O’Neills
9 Tommy Casey Causeway
10 Jordan Conway Crotta O’Neills
11 Daniel Collins Kilmoyley
12 Mikey Boyle Ballyduff
13 Jack Goulding Ballyduff
14 Padraig Boyle Ballyduff
15 Shane Nolan Crotta O’Neills

Fir Ionaid:

16 Martin Stackpoole Lixnaw
17 Sean Nolan Kilmoyley
18 Sean Weir Crotta O’Neills
19 Paudie O’Connor Kilmoyley
20 John Buckley Lixnaw
21 Jordan Brick Kilmoyley
22 Jason Wallace Lixnaw
23 Philp Lucid Ballyheigue
24 Daniel Carroll Ballyduff
25 Liam Mullins Lixnaw
26 Keith Carmody Causeway


Bainisteoir: Fintan O’Connor

Coach: Brendan Cummins

Treanálaí: Damien Ryall (Abbeydorney)

Róghnoir: Ian Brick (Kilmoyley)

The following players are members of the extended panel for Sunday’s game:

Rory Horgan St Brendans
Darren Dineen St Brendans
Micheal O’Leary Abbeydorney
Fionán Horgan St Brendans
John Egan St Brendans
James Godley Kilmoyley
Brendan O’Leary Abbeydorney
Stephen Murphy Causeway
Colum Harty Causeway
Darragh Shanahan Lixnaw


Jason Diggins Causeway (Injured)
Mike Milner Dr Crokes


January 22, 2017
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

GAA Units