Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Co-Op Munster Hurling League – Cork 7-22 Limerick 1-19

January 15, 2017 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Cork defeated Limerick by 7-22 to 1-19 in the Co-Op Munster Hurling League on Sunday January 15th at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Cork had no problem beating Limerick in the Munster senior hurling league

By Michael Moynihan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Limerick 1-19 Cork 7-22

A comfortable win for Cork over Limerick in this Munster senior hurling league clash in the Gaelic Grounds with 1,625 in attendance.

Cork started with the breeze, but Limerick began brightly with an early goal from Barry Nash, who finished from a tight angle after two minutes. Luke Meade’s alertness on seven minutes gave Cork their first goal: 1-2 to 1-1 on seven minutes.

Driven on by a dominant half-back line, the visitors added a second goal on 15 minutes – the dangerous Alan Cadogan gathered on the right, swept infield and billowed the net, 2-5 to 1-3.

The game loosened up, with Limerick’s Kevin O’Brien and Cork’s Shane Kingston hitting points from play as Cork maintained their lead until the 29th minute. Darragh Fitzgibbon then soloed through the Limerick defence and passed to Kingston, who got Cork’s third goal. Cork added a flurry of late points to go in 3-12 to 1-9 ahead at the half.

Cork resumed with Horgan’s first goal, a snap shot after good work by Cadogan, putting eleven points between the sides. Though Limerick made sweeping changes, the game was too far gone for them to retrieve, and on fifty minutes Horgan duly added a second goal, finishing a rebound from a Cadogan shot.

Cadogan set up Cork’s sixth three minutes later with a pass to his clubmate, Shane Kingston, and a seventh came for sub. Michael O’Halloran when he took a neat pass from Horgan. The eventual winning margin was 21 points.

Scorers for Limerick: R. Lynch (0-11, 0-8 frees); B. Nash (1-0); K. O’Brien (0-3); A. Dempsey, D. Byrnes, P. Browne, D. Dempsey, J. Ryan (0-1).

Scorers for Cork: P. Horgan (2-5, 0-3 frees); A. Cadogan (1-4) ; S. Kingston (2-2); L. Meade, M. O’Halloran (1-0), B. Cooper (0-3); M. Coleman, R. O’’Flynn, D. Fitzgibbon (0-2 each); B. Hennessy, D. Kearney (0-1 each).

LIMERICK: B. Hennessy, T. Condon, R. English, S. O’Brien, D. Morrissey, B. O’Connell, S. Cahill, D. O’Donovan, P. Ryan, R. Lynch, A. Dempsey, R. Hanley, C. Ryan, B. Nash, K. O’Brien
Subs: M. Casey for Condon (inj., 28); D. Dempsey for A. Dempsey, D. Byrnes for Morrissey, J. Ryan for O’Donovan (all HT); P. Browne for P. Ryan (47).

CORK: A. Nash, C. Spillane, S. McDonnell, D. Griffin, C. O’Leary, L. McLoughlin, M. Coleman, D. Kearney, D. Fitzgibbon, B. Cooper, L. Meade, S. Kingston, A. Cadogan, P. Horgan, R. O’Flynn
Subs: D. Brosnan for Meade (52); C. Murphy for Kearney and M. O’Halloran for Cadogan (both 58); J. Sheehan for McDonnell (60); B. Hennessy for Fitzgibbon (62).

Referee: P. Kelly (Tipperary)

Match Preview

Team News

Limerick senior hurling team to face Cork in the Co-Op Munster Senior Hurling League this Sunday afternoon at the Gaelic Grounds has been released.

1. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), 2 Tom Condon (Knockaderry), 3. Richie English (Doon), 4. Seanie O Brien (Patrickswell), 5. Dan Morrissey (Ahane), 6. Barry O Connell (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), 7. Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla), 8. Darragh O Donovan (Doon) 9. Pat Ryan (Doon) 10. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), 11. Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), 12. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), 13. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), 14. Barry Nash (South Liberties) and 15. Kevin O Brien (Patrickswell).

16. Nickie Quaid (Effin)(Captain), 17. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), 18. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), 19. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), 20. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), 21. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), 22. Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), 23. James Ryan (Garryspillane), 24. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), 25. Paul Browne (Bruff), 26. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh).

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Limerick on Sunday at 2pm in the Gaelic Grounds has been announced as follows.

1. Anthony Nash – Kanturk
2. Colm Spillane – Castlelyons
3, Stephen McDonnell – Glen Rovers
4. David Griffin – Carrigaline
5. Chris O Leary – Valley Rovers
6. Lorcan McLoughlin – Kanturk
7. Mark Coleman – Blarney
8. Daniel Kearney – Sarsfields
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon – Charleville
10. Bill Cooper – Youghal
11, Luke Meade – Newcestown
12. Shane Kingston – Douglas
13. Alan Cadagon – Douglas
14. Patrick Horgan – Glen Rovers
15. Michael Cahalane – Bandon

16. Patrick Collins – Ballinhassig
17. Jack Sheehan – Erins Own
18. Cormac Murphy – Mallow
19. Dean Brosnan – Glen Rovers
20. Robbie O Flynn – Erins Own
21. Michael O Halloran – Blackrock
22. Shane O Keeffe – Blackrock


January 15, 2017
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units