Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Cork 4-30 Tipperary 1-21

May 19 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Cork defeated Tipperary by 4-30 to 1-21 in Round 4 of the Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday May 19th at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Rampant Cork topple Tipp


Report By Shane Brophy at FBD Semple Stadium for

Cork backed up their impressive victory over Limerick has they handed an eighteen point beating to great rivals Tipperary to keep their Munster Championship hopes alive on Sunday.

Full forward Alan Connolly scored a hat-trick as they outscored Tipp 3-15 to 0-9 in the second half to stay in the hunt to qualify for the All-Ireland series.

Their win came despite the home side getting off to the perfect start with Mark Kehoe goaling after just eighteen seconds after Conor Bowe’s incision opened up the Cork defence.

Cork’s response was impressive through, led by Darragh Fitzgibbon, as the sides went point for point for much of the first half in sweltering conditions.

Tipp were almost in for a second goal when Mark Kehoe was fouled just outside the square, but the referee adjudged it wasn’t a black-card penalty with Jason Forde converting the free.

Cork’s mobility was already causing problems with Patrick Horgan (2), Shane Barrett (2) and Alan Connolly on target before Barrett nudged the visit into a tenth minute lead.

Gearoid O’Connor and Darragh Stakelum added their names to the Tipp scoresheet, but Cork were always moving better with Darragh Fitzgibbon and Declan Dalton nudging them 0-12 to 1-7 ahead on twenty minutes.

Under pressure, Tipp responded with three points in a row from Noel McGrath, Forde, and Alan Tynan to retake the lead and they went two clear on thirty minutes following a superb Jake Morris score, his second.

Shortly after, a collision between Ronan Maher and Ethan Twomey saw both forced off for treatment and the loss of the Tipp centre-back was keenly felt as Seamus Harnedy and Brian Hayes pointed before Alan Connolly buried a shot to the roof of the net right on half time for a 1-15 to 1-12 lead.

The sides traded the opening four scores of the second half to suggest the game would remain tight but a mistake from a short puckout led to Alan Connolly scoring his second goal on 41 minutes.

Tipp responded well with points from Ronan Maher (free) and Conor Bowe but Connolly’s hat-trick goal on 47 minutes following a flowing handpassing move through the middle broke Tipp’s spirit.

From there on it was a procession with sub Shane Kingston landing four points in succession not long after coming on with Patrick Horgan putting the tin hat on the win with Cork’s fourth goal on 61 minutes.

Scorers for Tipperary: J. Forde (0-5, 3 frees); M. Kehoe (1-0); J. Morris, J. McGrath (frees) (0-3 each); G. O’Connor, D. Stakelum N. McGrath (0-2 each); A. Tynan, R. Maher (free), C. Bowe, S. Hayes (0-1 each).

Scorers for Cork: P. Horgan (1-9, 0-5 frees); A. Connolly (3-1); S. Kingston (0-4); D. Fitzgibbon, S. Harnedy (0-3 each); S. Barrett, B. Hayes, R. Downey (0-2 each); N. O’Leary, D. Dalton, C. Lehane, L. Meade (0-1 each).

TIPPERARY: B. Hogan; C. Barrett, M. Breen, C. Morgan; B. O’Mara, R. Maher (c), C. Bowe; A. Tynan, E. Connolly; G. O’Connor, N. McGrath, J. Forde, J. Morris; G. O’Connor, D. Stakelum, M. Kehoe.
Subs for Tipperary: P. Cadell for R. Maher (temp, 32-ht); C. Stakelum for E. Connolly (h-t); D. McCormack for C. Barrett (inj 42); J. McGrath for J. Forde (43); P. Maher for D. Stakelum (48); S. Hayes for G. O’Connor (56).

CORK: P. Collins; S. O’Donoghue, E. Downey; T. O’Mahony; N. O’Leary, R. Downey, M. Coleman; E. Twomey, D. Fitzgibbon; D. Dalton, S. Barrett, S. Harnedy; P. Horgan, B. Hayes.
Subs for Cork: L. Meade for E. Twomey (temp, 32-ft); S. Kingston for D. Dalton (45); G. Millerick for S. O’Donoghue (52); C. Lehane for S. Harnedy (60); J. O’Connor for S. Barrett (62); T. O’Connell for D. Fitzgibbon (65); S. Twomey for A. Connolly (67).

Referee: T. Walsh (Waterford).

Ticket Information

This game is SOLD OUT.

Team News

Tipperary: Barry Hogan; Cathal Barrett, Ronan Maher, Craig Morgan; Michael Breen, Bryan O’Mara, Conor Bowe; Alan Tynan, Eoghan Connolly; Gearóid O’Connor, Jason Forde, Noel McGrath; Jake Morris, Mark Kehoe, Darragh Stakelum.
Subs: Rhys Shelly, Paddy Cadell, Willie Connors, Seán Hayes, Seánie Kenneally, Patrick Maher, Dan McCormack, John McGrath, Andrew Ormond, Johnny Ryan, Conor Stakelum.

Cork: Patrick Collins; Niall O’Leary, Eoin Downey, Seán O’Donoghue; Tim O’Mahony, Robert Downey, Mark Coleman; Ethan Twomey, Darragh Fitzgibbon; Declan Dalton, Shane Barrett, Séamus Harnedy; Patrick Horgan, Alan Connolly, Brian Hayes.
Subs: Brion Saunderson, Eoin Roche, Ger Mellerick, Tommy O’Connell, Ciarán Joyce, Luke Meade, Conor Cahalane, Shane Kingston, Jack O’Connor, Conor Lehane, Seán Twomey.

Available Car Parks on Sunday in Thurles

Thurles Sarsfields Racecourse Road.
Barlow Motors, Racecourse Road.
Thurles Crokes. Racecourse Road.
Tus College Thurles.
Thurles Greyhound Stadium.
Colaiste Mhuire, Beside stadium.
Stevie’s Smees field, Holycross Road.
Durlas Og Field, Abbey Road.
Industrial Estate, Stradavoher.
Parnell St Car Park.
Liberty Square Car Park.
Source Car Park, Cathedral Street.
Munster Hotel Car Park, Cathedral St
St Patricks College, Cathedral St.
Lidl Car Park, Horse and Jockey Road

Sean O’Donoghue, Cork Hurling Captain answers some quick fire “Would You Rather” Q & A’s

Ronan Maher, Tipperary Hurling Captain answers some quick fire “Would You Rather” Q & A’s


May 19
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units