Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Clare 4-21 Waterford 2-26

May 19 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Clare defeated Waterford by 4-21 to 2-26 in Round 4 of the Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday May 19th at Cusack Park Ennis.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Clare pip Waterford in thriller


Report By Eoin Brennan at Cusack Park for

Clare made it two wins from three matches in the Munster SHC but only just because it needed a Mark Rodgers ’65 with the last puck to see the home side finally overcome a never-say-die Waterford in Cusack Park.

The near capacity 19,893 attendance were treated to an engrossing quintessential Munster Senior Hurling Championship encounter that saw the Banner continually set the pace with goals, only to be pegged back each time by a stubborn Deise side managed by Clare native Davy Fitzgerald.

Clare GAA TV Interview with Clare Hurler Mark Rodgers

Falling as much as eight behind, Waterford were repeatedly sucker-punched by four timely home goals but somehow kept bouncing back off the ropes to more than play their part in an exceedingly tense final quarter that saw the teams locked together on four occasions.

Indeed, just when it seemed that Clare had finally shaken off the Deise with three unanswered points through substitute Ian Galvin (2) and Peter Duggan by injury-time, there would be another major twist in the tale as a foul on Patrick Fitzgerald earned a 73rd minute penalty that fellow replacement Shane Bennett cooly slotted to the right corner of the home net.

Waterford would have gladly accepted a share of the spoils which would have protected theur unbeaten start but there was still time for yet another intervention as a last gasp ’65 was converted by Scariff marksman Rodgers to win the day.

While they made harder work of it than entirely necessary, the Banner were full value for their minimum victory, having never trailed from the seventh minute onwards. Creating five first half goal chances, crucially Clare took two, starting in the 19th minute when Rodgers, who had an earlier effort blocked by Kieran Bennett, turned provider for the overlapping Darragh Lohan to elude Waterford’s last line to power the hosts 1-9 to 0-6 clear.

David Fitzgerald and Rodgers had further attempts repelled either side of a merited second goal in the 26th minute when Fitzgerald ghosted in behind the visitors last line to collect a Cian Galvin delivery and fire to the net at 2-10 to 0-8.

Off the Ball Interview with Clare Manager Brian Lohan

So while Waterford admirably dusted themselves down, mainly through Dessie Hutchinson’s frees to lessen the half-time damage to five at 2-13 to 0-14, they would soon be lowered by a third Banner goal on the restart.

Undoing good early work from Tadhg de Burca and Stephen Bennett points, Mark Rodgers was allowed to slalom his way through Waterford’s rearguard to flick to the net in the 40th minute at 3-13 to 0-16.

Kevin Mahony inspired another spirited fightback which would only matter most when a missed goal chance for David Fitzgerald at one end was duly punished by Stephen Bennett at the other with a superbly determined solo goal on their way to finally regaining full parity by the 52nd minute at 3-14 to 1-20.

Clare responded twice, only to be reeled in each time while even a spectacular reintroduction from Tony Kelly to find the net off the bench in the 58th minute wasn’t sufficient to fend off an obstinate Deise who converted five of the next six points to level matters again by the 65th minute at 4-17 to 1-26.

That pattern was replicated when a trio of home points through replacement Ian Galvin (2) and Peter Duggan were wiped out by that dramatic Shane Bennett penalty.

However, Clare held their nerve in the cauldron like atmosphere as a Tony Kelly free was knocked out for a ’65 before Rodgers dissected the posts to ensure that Clare head into next Sunday’s final round showdown against Tipperary with clear momentum in their sails.

Indeed, both Clare and Waterford have their Munster Final destinies in their own hands in what promises to be another compelling Super Sunday in the Munster Championship.

Off the Ball Interview with Clare’s Darragh Lohan

Scorers for Clare: David Fitzgerald, Mark Rodgers (1’65) (1-4 each); Aidan McCarthy (0-5, 4f); Darragh Lohan, Tony Kelly (1-0 each); Shane O’Donnell, Ian Galvin (0-2 each); David Reidy, Cathal Malone, Diarmuid Ryan, Peter Duggan (0-1 each)

Scorers for Waterford: Dessie Hutchinson (0-6, 5f); Stephen Bennett, Shane Bennett (1-0 Pen) (1-2 each); Kevin Mahony (0-4); Jack Prendergast, Tadhg de Burca (1f), Padraig Fitzgerald (0-2 each); Kieran Bennett, Jamie Barron, Jack Fagan, Patrick Fitzgerald, Ian Kenny, Calum Lyons (0-1 each)

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Rory Hayes; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, Cian Galvin; Darragh Lohan, Cathal Malone; David Fitzgerald, David Reidy, Peter Duggan; Aidan McCarthy, Mark Rodgers, Shane O’Donnell
Subs: Tony Kelly for Reidy (48), Seadna Morey for Lohan (56), Conor Leen for Hayes (59), Ian Galvin for McCarthy (63)

Waterford: Shaun O’Brien; Iarlaith Daly, Kieran Bennett, Ian Kenny; Mark Fitzgerald, Tadhg de Burca, Calum Lyons; Darragh Lyons, Patrick Curran; Stephen Bennett, Jack Prendergast, Jamie Barron; Kevin Mahony, Michael Kiely, Dessie Hutchinson
Subs: Jack Fagan for Lyons (16), Shane Bennett for Curran (31, inj), Conor Ryan for K. Bennett (57), Patrick Fitzgerald for Kiely (59), Padraig Fitzgerald for Stephen Bennett (64), Peter Hogan for Barron (66)

Referee: Liam Gordon (Galway)

Ticket Information

Adult Stand – €30
Adult Terrace – €25
Students / OAPs Stand – €25
Students / OAPs Terrace – €20
Under 16s – €5

Tickets are available via and participating Centra and Supervalu outlets

Team News

Waterford: Shaun O’Brien; Kieran Bennett, Mark Fitzgerald, Iarlaith Daly; Jack Fagan, Tadhg de Búrca, Calum Lyons; Darragh Lyons, Jamie Barron; Jack Prendergast, Neil Montgomery, Michael Kiely; Dessie Hutchinson, Stephen Bennett, Kevin Mahony.
Subs: Billy Nolan, Ian Kenny, Conor Ryan, Mairtín Power, Patrick Curran, Patrick Fitzgerald, Shane Bennett, Peter Hogan, Padraig Fitzgerald, Paddy Leavey, Tom Barron.

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Rory Hayes; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, David McInerney; David Fitzgerald, Darragh Lohan; Cathal Malone, Mark Rodgers, Peter Duggan; Aidan McCarthy, Shane O’Donnell, David Reidy.
Subs: Cian Broderick, Conor Leen, Paul Flanagan, Séadna Morey, Cian Galvin, Paddy Donnellan, Ian Galvin, Aron Shanagher, Shane Meehan, Robin Mounsey, Tony Kelly.

Shane Meehan, Clare Hurler answers some quick fire “Would You Rather” Q & A’s


May 19
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm


Cusack Park Ennis

GAA Units