Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Clare 1-24 Tipperary 0-24

May 26 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Clare defeated Tipperary by 1-24 to 0-24 in Round 5 of the Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday May 26th at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Munster SHC: Clare overcome Tipp

Clare 1-24 Tipperary 0-24

Report By Noel Dundon at FBD Semple Stadium for

Clare have made it to their third consecutive Munster senior hurling final following a victory over Tipperary at FBD Semple Stadium.

A result which might not seem so convincing on the scoreboard, was more authoritative in reality as the Bannermen controlled proceedings and could have won by a greater margin.

Credit to Tipperary, though, they battled right to the very death, but the goal they needed just would not come. In fact, they never threatened the Clare net and keeper Eibhear Quilligan had little to do.

Tipperary had nothing to play for in this game but pride. However, for Brian Lohan’s side at least a point was necessary in order for them to progress in the Championship and perhaps cement their place in the Munster Final.

With Liam Cahill having made six changes to the side which lost to Cork, the expectation was that there would be a big backlash from the Premier County.

Tipp were unfortunate to lose full back Michael Breen in the warm-up with an ankle injury, while Eoghan Connolly came into his place, with a number of positional changes being made.

Initially the home team gave as good as they got in the first half to be on terms with the visitors at the break, 0-11 each.

Indeed, Tipperary were 0-5 to 0-2 to the good after a quarter of an hour, but Clare, with Aidan McCarthy and Shane O’Donnell as their main men in attack, responded to lead by 0-9 to 0-8 heading into the closing straights of the half.

McCarthy finished the half with 0-5 to his name while Jake Morris went one better in the Tipperary colours with 0-6 to his credit, having taken over the free taking from Gearoid O’Connor who had been replaced.

Clare appeared to have the edge as the break approached – points from Diarmuid Ryan and David Fitzgerald giving them an advantage. But, Tipperary responded and two points from Morris tied the game as they departed for the interval.

Clare had the breeze to come in the second half and they looked far more dangerous than their hosts, especially in attack where a few near misses could easily have been green flags.

That green flag eventually came seven minutes into the second half and it was to prove decisive as Diarmuid Ryan’s strike gave Clare a 1-15 to 0-12 lead.

Tipperary looked dead and buried and when Clare raced away into an eight point lead, there seemed no way back. But, they dug in and chipped away at the lead with a four point unanswered sequence, bringing them to within four of their rivals. They managed to go one better on a few occasions before the end as it finished in a flurry of points for each side, with Clare always managing to keep their hosts at bay.

Clare had 10 scorers on the day with Tony Kelly also managing some game-time – something which could prove crucial in the Munster Final against Limerick next month.

Scorers for Clare: Aidan McCarthy 0-9 (6fs), Diarmuid Ryan 1-1, David Fitzgerald 0-3, Mark Rodgers 0-3 (2fs), Shane O’Donnell and Tony Kelly 0-2 each, Darragh Lohan, Peter Duggan, David Reidy, Ian Galvin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jake Morris 0-11 (7fs), Seanie Kenneally 0-3, Ronan Maher 0-2 (1f), Eoghan Connolly and Gearoid O’Connor (2fs) 0-2 each, Barry Heffernan, Alan Tynan, Noel McGrath, and Bryan O’Mara 0-1 each.

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan, Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Conor Leen, Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, Cian Galvin, David Fitzgerald, Darragh Lohan, Cathal Malone, Mark Rodgers, Peter Duggan, Aidan McCarthy, Dhane O’Donnell, David Reidy.
Subs: Tony Kelly for David Reidy, Ian Galvin for Aidan McCarthy, Paddy Donnellan for Lohan, Aaron Shanagher for Peter Duggan.

Tipperary: Barry Hogan, Johnny Ryan, Eoghan Connolly, Craig Morgan, Barry Heffernan, Ronan Maher, Brian McGrath, Paddy Cadell, Willie Connors, Alan Tynan, Jake Morris, Seanie Kenneally, Andrew Ormond, Mark Kehoe, Gearoid O’Connor.
Subs: Darragh Stakelum for O’Connor, Bryan O’Mara for Heffernan, Noel McGrath for Cadell, Conor Stakelum for Ormond, Patrick Maher for Mark Kehoe.

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Waterford).

Ticket Information

Adult Stand – €30
Adult Terrace – €25
Students / OAPs Stand – €25
Students / OAPs Terrace – €20
Under 16s – €5

Tickets are available via and participating Centra and Supervalu outlets

Team News

TIPPERARY (SHC v Clare): B Hogan, J Ryan, M Breen, C Morgan; B Heffernan, R Maher, B McGrath; P Cadell, W Connors; A Tynan, J Morris, S Kenneally; A Ormond, M Kehoe, G O’Connor.
Subs: R Shelly, C Bowe, E Connolly, J Forde, P Maher, D McCormack, J McGrath, N McGrath, B O’Mara, C Stakelum, D Stakelum


May 26
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units