Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 Electric Ireland GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Tier 3 Quarter-Final – Laois 3-11 Waterford 2-8

May 28 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Laois defeated Waterford by 3-11 to 2-8 in the Electric Ireland GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Tier 3 Quarter-Final on Tuesday May 28th at the Carlow GAA Centre of Excellence, Fenagh, Co Carlow.

All-Ireland MFC: Laois see off Waterford to reach Tier 3 semi final

Report by Laois Today newspaper

Laois 3-11 Waterford 2-8

All-Ireland MFC Tier 3 Quarter Final

The Laois minor footballers are through to the All-Ireland Tier 3 semi final following a six point victory over Waterford tonight.

This game was refixed for Carlow tonight after the original meeting in Waterford was abandoned following an issue with the referee.

Laois played against the wind in the first half but made a brilliant start as Ultan Dunne kicked a brace and Darren Brennan also scored.

Conor Callaghan then struck for a goal while Dunne added a mark to leave Laois 1-4 to 0-0 ahead after 15 minutes.

Waterford finally got off the mark as Joe Brennan pointed a free and Paddy McCarthy then added a second.

But Laois kicked on again with Ennae Byrne, Darren Brennan and Dunne all scoring.

Waterford replied with three Joe Brennan frees but Laois led 1-8 to 0-5 at half time.

However, withing nine minutes of the second half, Waterford drew level thanks to goals from Ciaran Cotter and Tom Lynch.

The game remained level after Darren Brennan and Paddy McCarthy traded points but then Laois kicked on again.

After scoring a hat-trick in the Round 1 win over Antrim, Callum McElroy came good again to score a crucial goal for Laois.

Ennae Byrne and Darren Brennan added points before Sean Michael Ward made the game safe with Laois’s third goal.

Waterford finished the match with two points but Laois were safely through to the semi finals.

Laois: Ultan Dunne 0-6 (three frees, one mark), Darren Brennan 0-3, Sean Michael Ward, Conor Callaghan and Callum McElroy 1-0 each, Ennae Byrne 0-2
Waterford: Joe Brennan 0-5, Ciaran Cotter and Tom Lynch 1-0 each, Paddy McCarthy 0-2, David Nyhan 0-1

LAOIS: Liam Conroy (Portlaoise); Jack Murphy (Portarlington), Ben O’Connor (Portlaoise), Fionn O’Sullivan (Crettyard); Hugh Connolly (Portarlington), Tom Corcoran (Portarlington), Jack Julian (Ballylinan); Robbie Murphy (St Joseph’s), Ruairi Bourke (Emo); Callum McElroy (Arles-Kilcruise), Ultan Dunne (O’Dempsey’s), Sean Michael Ward (Portarlington); Conor O’Callaghan (Portlaoise), Ennae Byrne (Arles-Killeen), Darren Brennan (Portlaoise)

WATERFORD: Conor Drohan; Sean Roche, Daniel O’Callaghan, Andrew Ryan; Alex Gillane, Jack Power, Paddy Spellman; Ciaran Cotter, Luke Hennessy; Ciaran Power, Paddy McCarthy, Billy Drohan; David Nyhan, Tom Lynch, Joe Brennan

Team News

WATERFORD (MFC v Laois): C Drohan; S Roche, D O’Callaghan, A Ryan; A Gillane, J Power, P Spellman; C Cotter, L Hennessey; C Power, P McCarthy, B Drohan; D Nyhan, T Lynch, J Brennan
Subs: S Keane, L Kavanagh, D Broxson, A Curran, D Farrell, C Egan Walsh, J Dalton, C Feeney, T Healy


May 28
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Carlow GAA Centre of Excellence, Fenagh

GAA Units