Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Limerick 0-30 Waterford 2-14

May 26 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Limerick defeated Waterford by 0-30 to 2-14 in Round 5 of the Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday May 26th at the TUS Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Limerick march into final

Limerick 0-30 Waterford 2-14

Report By Tom Clancy at TUS Gaelic Grounds for

Limerick’s pursuit for a fifth All-Ireland crown and a sixth Munster title in a row got back on track after a 10-point victory over Waterford.

The result eliminated Waterford from the championship, having needed at least a draw to make it into the top three.

A total of 31,487 made the trip to the Ennis Road venue for a crucial encounter. Knowing a defeat would likely see them knocked out of the Championship, the Treaty men turned in a decent display, if at times inaccurate, to see off Waterford. Playing into a strong Shannonside breeze, the visitors got the first goal of the afternoon when Shane Bennett cleverly flicked home a low flying Stephen Bennett free to leave it 1-4 to 0-4 for Waterford.

However, from here to half-time, Davy Fitzgerald’s men were outscored 0-10 to 0-2.Limerick managed to spread the scorers across their attack, with each of their first eight points coming from a different source. Indeed, the first man to get a second point was Shane O’Brien, minutes after coming on for his debut, in place of the injured Seamus Flanagan.

Points late in the half from the influential Tom Morrissey and Aaron Gillane (free) eased concerns over the 14 wides clocked up by the men in green.

When Waterford got their second goal, again from Shane Bennett, there was hope. Points from Calum Lyons and Kevin Mahony had brought it closer but the impressive Cathal O’Neill and Morrissey replied.

There was just two points between the sides when William O’Donoghue fired over a rare point, to push the gap back out on 52 minutes. From here, Waterford managed just two points to the close.

Further scores from O’Brien, Cian Lynch, Conor Boylan and Adam English sent the home support home happy. Waterford hunted a late goal, but weren’t able to add to an earlier draw with Tipperary and their opening round win over Cork.

Limerick progress to another Munster decider, with Clare. It will be a repeat of the 2022 and 2023 deciders with their neighbours. John Kiely will be pleased, but will know that 19 wides in total may not do against the Banner.

Scorers for Limerick: Aaron Gillane 0-7 (7fs), Tom Morrissey 0-4, Kyle Hayes 0-3, Shane O’Brien 0-3, Diarmaid Byrnes 0-2 (1f), Cathal O’Neill, David Reidy, Gearoid Hegarty 0-2 each, Barry Nash, William O’Donoghue, Conor Boylan, Cian Lynch, and Adam English 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Shane Bennett 2-0, Stephen Bennett 0-5 (4fs), Calum Lyons and Dessie Hutchinson (1f) 0-2 each, Paddy Leavy, Jamie Barron, Jack Prendergast, Patrick Fitzgerald, Kevin Mahony 0-1 each.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Mike Casey, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon (Capt), Kyle Hayes; Cian Lynch, William O’Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, Cathal O’Neill, Tom Morrissey; David Reidy, Seamus Flanagan, Aaron Gillane.
Subs: Shane O’Brien for Flanagan (20), Adam English for T. Morrissey (55), Fergal O’Connor for Casey (61), Conor Boylan for Reidy (62); Donnacha Ó Dálaigh for Gillane (71).

Waterford: Shaun O’Brien; Conor Prunty, Iarlaith Daly, Ian Kenny; Mark Fitzgerald, Tadhg de Burca, Calum Lyons; Paddy Leavy, Neil Montgomery; Shane Bennett, Jamie Barron (J/C), Jack Prendergast; Dessie Hutchinson, Stephen Bennett, Kevin Mahony.
Subs: Michael Kiely for Shane Bennett (blood – 25-26), Michael Kiely for Montgomery (HT), Patrick Fitzgerald for Barron (46), Pádraig Fitzgerald for Stephen Bennett (56), Kieran Bennett for Sh Bennett (64), Jack Fagan for Prendergast (68).

Referee: Michael Kennedy (Tipperary).

Video – Limerick v Waterford Match Preview

Ticket Information

Adult Stand – €30
Adult Terrace – €25
Students / OAPs Stand – €25
Students / OAPs Terrace – €20
Under 16s – €5

Tickets are available via and participating Centra and Supervalu outlets

Team News

WATERFORD (SHC v Limerick): S. O’Brien; K. Bennett, I. Daly; M. Fitzgerald, T. de Búrca, C. Lyons; D. Lyons, J. Barron (v-c); Shane Bennett, J. Prendergast, M. Kiely; D. Hutchinson, Stephen Bennett (v-c), K. Mahony
Subs: B. Nolan, J. Fagan, M. Power, P. Curran, P. Leavey, Pádraig Fitzgerald, Patrick Fitzgerald, P. Hogan, N. Montgomery, T. Barron, W. Hahessy.


May 26
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm


TUS Gaelic Grounds

GAA Units