Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 AIB Munster GAA Club SFC Semi-Final – Castlehaven (Cork) 1-16 Rathgormack (Waterford) 1-7

November 26, 2023 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Castlehaven (Cork) defeated Rathgormack (Waterford) by 1-16 to 1-7 in the AIB Munster GAA Club Senior Football Championship Semi-Final on Sunday November 26th at Fraher Field Dungarvan.

Match Highlights

AIB Munster Club SFC: Impressive Castlehaven advance

Castlehaven 1-16 Rathgormack 1-7

Report By Tomás McCarthy at Fraher Field for

The Hurley brothers fired 1-11 between them as Castlehaven advanced to their first Munster final since 2012 on an afternoon of sunshine and showers in Dungarvan.

Cork star Brian found the net two minutes from time and finished with a total of 1-6. Michael shot five points from play (four in the first half). A brilliant Billy Power goal put underdogs Rathgormack four points ahead after 17 minutes, but ‘Haven held their nerve to set up a provincial showdown with Dingle next month.

Rathgormack took the field without county players Conor Murray who is away in New Zealand and the suspended Michael Curry. They also lost defender Cathal Crowch to a hamstring injury.

Seven first half points from the Hurleys (four for Michael and three for Brian) saw Castlehaven recover from a slow start to lead 0-8 to 1-2 at the break.

Frees from Brian Hurley and Jason Curry came up short before Adam Murray split the uprights in the sixth minute for the Waterford champions. Brian Hurley then found his brother Michael who kicked the equaliser.

On nine minutes, Stephen Curry beat three Castlehaven defenders and slipped the ball to Billy Power who slammed the ball to the bottom corner of the net (1-1 to 0-1). A Jason Gleeson free gave the underdogs a four point advantage.

Michael and Brian Hurley raised white flags at the other end before Cathal Maguire burst past five Rathgormack defenders.

On 24 minutes, a full length block from Tom Walsh denied Brian Hurley a goal. The Cork attacker pointed the subsequent 45. Michael Hurley then cut in from the scoreboard and sent over his third point off his right boot. Haven ahead for the first time with 27 minutes on the clock (0-6 to 1-2). Michael and Brian Hurley struck again in injury time for the Cork team. Seven points without response.

Rathgormack squandered three point chances at the start of the second period. On 36 minutes, Conor Cahlane combined with substitute Conor O’Driscoll and rattled the crossbar. Brian Hurley pointed the resultant free. Jason Curry knocked over a free at the other end. Rathgormack’s first point in 26 minutes.

Entering the last quarter, Rory Maguire found Sean Browne who blasted over (0-10 to 1-3). Jason Gleeson curled over a free in response. Jason Curry then dummied and sliced over a beauty with the outside of his right. Two point game.

A Brian Hurley free and a Mark Collins point from play put daylight between the teams. Two minutes from the end, a shot from Hurley deceived Padraig Hunt and dipped into the bottom corner of the Rathgormack net.

Scorers for Castlehaven: Brian Hurley 1-6 (4fs, 1 45), Michael Hurley 0-5, Cathal Maguire, Sean Browne, Mark Collins, Conor O’Driscoll, Jack Cahlane 0-1 each.

Scorers for Rathgormack: Billy Power 1-0, Jason Curry 0-4 (2fs, 1 45), Jason Gleeson 0-2 (2fs), Adam Murray 0-1.

Castlehaven: Darragh Cahalane; Johnny O’Regan, Rory Maguire, Ronan Walsh; Thomas O’Mahony, Damien Cahalane, Mark Collins; Conor Cahalane, Andrew Whelton; Jack O’Neill, Brian Hurley, Sean Browne; Cathal Maguire, Jack Cahalane, Michael Hurley
Subs: Conor O’Driscoll for Whelton (HT), Jamie O’Driscoll for Browne (55), Ciaran O’Sullivan for Cathal Maguire (58), Robbie Minihane for Conor Cahlane (59), Michael Maguire for Brian Hurley (61).

Rathgormack: Padraig Hunt; Conor Walsh, Mairtin Power, Liam Connolly; Sean Hahessy, Tom Walsh, Willie Hahessy; Billy Power, Glen Power; James Power, Jason Curry, Donnacha Hassett; Jason Gleeson, Stephen Curry, Adam Murray.
Subs: Stephen Kirwan for Hassett (51), Peter Walsh for Murray (55).

Referee: Sean Lonergan (Tipperary).

Live Streaming Information

This game will be streamed live by Munster GAA TV at a cost of 10 euro.

Click here to purchase Live Streaming for this game

Ticket Information

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the Souvenir Match Programme for 3 euro.


November 26, 2023
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm


Fraher Field Dungarvan

GAA Units