Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 AIB Munster Club Junior Hurling Championship Final – St. Catherine’s (Cork) 2-14 Feenagh/Kilmeedy (Limerick) 1-15

December 2, 2023 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

St. Catherine’s (Cork) defeated Feenagh/Kilmeedy (Limerick) by 2-14 to 1-15 in the AIB Munster Club Junior Hurling Championship Final on Saturday December 2nd at Mallow.

Match Highlights

St Catherine’s claim Munster junior hurling title after narrow victory over Feenagh-Kilmeedy

AIB Munster club JHC final: St Catherine’s (Cork) 2-14 Feenagh-Kilmeedy (Limerick) 1-15

Report by Therese O’Callaghan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Cork’s impressive run in the AIB Munster club JHC continued at Mallow on Saturday when St Catherine’s overcame Feenagh-Kilmeedy by a narrow two points in a belter of a game.

It was a 16th title for the Rebel County, with former dual star Denis Walsh overseeing victory for his native club, the win built around two opening half goals from Eoin Condon.

Firmly putting the disappointment of losing the Cork final to Erin’s Own behind them, the Cork representatives were never in arrears.

Dominant in Munster, where they already got the better of Ardmore and Ballinahinch, that experience told.

Feenagh-Kilmeedy, meanwhile, who also lost the 2013 final, gave it their all. They were looking to bridge a gap from 2009 when Blackrock claimed the only Limerick win in this competition.

A blistering start yielded two goals within a minute of each other from either side. Eoin Condon was the first on target when his shot from distance was misjudged by Feenagh-Kilmeedy goalkeeper Michael Bergin, and then Ruairi O’Connor netted in the fourth minute after John O’Gorman laid on the perfect pass to bring the Limerick outfit back into it.

Kyle Wallace and Sean O’Donoghue hit some wonderful points for St Catherine’s to forge ahead, they built up a lead of 1-5 to 1-2 in the 15th minute.

Feenagh-Kilmeedy proved to be just as accurate, and they struck back through main scorer Diarmuid Coleman, captain Maurice Fitzgibbon and Luke Ryan to draw level – a couple of the St Catherine’s short puck-outs going astray.

The sides were deadlocked once more, before Condon flicked to the net in the 22nd minute, the major came after goalkeeper Eoin Davis floated a long-range delivery in around the danger area, 2-6 to 1-6.

The teams exchanged a brace of white flags each from there to the half-time whistle. St Catherine’s had a second goal chance but Condon’s effort close to goal shook the side netting.

St Catherine’s, who recorded seven wides to three, were 2-8 to 1-8 in front at the interval.

Wing-back David Boyce got his second point soon after the throw-in, and further shots from Coleman – two frees and one from play – against a Sean O’Donoghue point, 1-12 to 2-9, tied the game again 10 minutes into the second-half.

St Catherine’s, though, regained control with teenager O’Donoghue (0-9) rattling off four unanswered points from both play and frees.

In the fourth quarter, Coleman kept Feenagh-Kilmeedy’s interest intact with his placed ball efforts, in spite of a red-card to full-back Kevin Murphy 10 minutes from time, they kept at it.

The east Cork men had all the answers in a nerve-wracking finish. St Catherine’s sub Kevin Barry with the point of the match while on his knees.

Easkey of Sligo await in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Scorers for St Catherine’s: S O’Donoghue (0-9, 0-5 frees), E Condon (2-0), E Davis (free), K O’Donoghue, K Wallace, K Barry and B Mulcahy (0-1 each).

Scorers for Feenagh-Kilmeedy: D Coleman (0-10, 0-9 frees), R O’Connor (1-0), D Boyce (0-2), S Kelly, M Fitzgibbon and L Ryan (0-1 each).

ST CATHERINE’S: E Davis; E O’Riordan (J-Capt), , F O’Connell, L O’Connor; K O’Donoghue, O Fitzgerald, K Neville; K Wallace, S Cotter; S O’Donoghue, R Galvin, W Leamy; B Mulcahy, E Condon, M Mulcahy.
Subs: E Wallace for L O’Connor, G O’Brien for W Leamy (42), K Barry for M Mulcahy (50).

FEENAGH-KILMEEDY: M Bergin; B Donegan, K Murphy, S Murray; D Boyce, B Hannigan, J O’Regan; S Kelly, C O’Connor; D Coleman, M Fitzgibbon (Capt), L Ryan; R O’Connor, N Irwin, J O’Gorman.
Subs: G O’Gorman for N Irwin (half-time), J O’Sullivan for J O’Gorman (46), P O’Doherty for S Kelly (51), D Gayer for L Ryan (58).

Referee: Nicky O’Toole (Waterford).

Live Streaming Information

This game will be streamed live by Munster GAA TV at a cost of 10 euro.

Click here to purchase Live Streaming for this game

Ticket Information

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the Souvenir Match Programme for 3 euro.


December 2, 2023
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm


Mallow GAA Complex

GAA Units