Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 AIB Munster GAA Club SFC Semi-Final – Dingle (Kerry) 0-13 Clonmel Commercials (Tipperary) 0-10

November 26, 2023 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Dingle (Kerry) defeated Clonmel Commercials (Tipperary) by 0-13 to 0-10 in the AIB Munster GAA Club Senior Football Championship Semi-Final on Sunday November 26th at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

AIB Munster Club SFC: Dingle survive Commercials test

Dingle 0-13 Clonmel Commercials 0-10

Report By Noel Dundon at FBD Semple Stadium for

Dylan Geaney was the toast of Dingle as they stepped forward to the AIB Munster Club senior football final following a hard fought victory over Tipperary champions Clonmel Commercials.

Geaney kicked five points in a very tight game and his accuracy was the difference between the sides as he tormented the Clonmel rearguard all the way through.

For all the trouble which Geaney caused them though, Commercials were in the contest right to the very death and tried all in their power to work a game saving goal, but it wasn’t to happen for them and their efforts came up just short.

It was a dull, damp afternoon in FBD Semple Stadium and it made for tricky underfoot conditions for the players with the slippy ball playing havoc with much of the handling.

The sizeable Dingle faithful in the attendance had made the long journey to Thurles in anticipation of progression to the Munster final, but they knew the kind of threat posed by the Tipperary champions who had already accounted for the Limerick champs, Newcastle West in the quarter final tie at the same venue, two weeks previously.

There was nothing between the sides in the first half – a point at most separating them all the way through. And, that was to be the margin at the break too with Commercials holding a slender 0-5 to 0-4 lead, though perhaps rather fortunate to have had the lead.

Dingle had created a number of opportunities which they failed to take, but on the other hand Commercials had two goal chances which went abegging too – keeper Gavin Curran twice denying Sean O’Connor and Colman Kennedy.

The Dingle forward division which had created scores through Matthew Flaherty (2), Dylan Geaney, and Paul Geaney were rather unfortunate to have seen a number of chances coming off the upright in the first half thereby contributing to their five wides.

At the other end Commercials were more economical with just one wide and points from Seanie O’Connor (2), Jack Kennedy, Ross Peters and a fine score from Colman Kennedy which gave them the lead at the break.

It was very much anyone’s game at the break – a goal would be a major score in the tie, but alas one was not to come. Instead, it was the side which took their chances which progressed and having tidied up their shooting in the second half, that side was Dingle.

Conor Geaney had them back on terms soon after resumption before Dylan Geaney kicked three points in six minutes, to more than cancel a Peter McGarry score for Commercials.

Dingle were motoring well now but Commercials fought back again with a brace of points from Seanie O’Connor, only to see Conor Geaney and Barry O’Sullivan extend the lead again as the game slipped into a tight and tense last quarter.

Michael Quinlivan halved the deficit with a peach of a point from under the stand, but Dylan Geaney came good again, and even though Jack Kennedy had another for Commercials, Dingle finished the stronger with Tom O’Sullivan and Paul Geaney scores securing victory for them.

Scorers for Dingle: Dylan Geaney 0-5, Conor Geaney, Matthew Flaherty and Paul Geaney 0-2 each, Barry O’Sullivan and Tom O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Commercials: Seanie O’Connor 0-4 (2fs, 2ms), Jack Kennedy 0-2, Peter McGarry, Ross Peters, Michael Quinlivan, Colman Kennedy 0-1 each.

Dingle: Gavin N Curran, Tom O’Sullivan, Micheal Flannery, Tom O’Sullivan, Niall Geaney, Conor Flannery, Brian O’Connor, Barry O’Sullivan, Billy O’Connor, Mikey Geaney, Paul Geaney, Matthew Flaherty, Darragh O’Sullivan, Conor Geaney, Dylan Geaney.
Subs: Tadhg Browne for Micheal Flannery; Conor O’Sullivan for Brian O’Connor.

Commercials: Michael O’Reilly, Tadgh Condon, James Morris, Rory O’Dowd, Kevin Fahey, Seamus Kennedy, Padraic Looram, Cathal Deely, Jack Kennedy, Peter McGarry, Colman Kennedy, Aldo Matassa, Ross Peters, Michael Quinlivan, Seanie O’Connor.
Subs: Jamie Peters for Kevin Fahey; Ciaran Cannon for Aldo Matassa; Declan Mee for Ross Peters.

Referee: John Ryan (Cork).

Live Streaming Information

This game will be streamed live by Munster GAA TV at a cost of 10 euro.

Click here to purchase Live Streaming for this game

Ticket Information

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the Souvenir Match Programme for 3 euro.


November 26, 2023
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units