Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2021 EirGrid Munster Under 20 Football Championship Semi-Final – Tipperary 0-11 Waterford 0-9

July 15, 2021 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Tipperary defeated Waterford by 0-11 to 0-9 in the EirGrid Munster Under 20 Football Championship Semi-Final on Thursday July 15th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Tipp survive late Waterford surge to book Munster U20 final date with Cork

Report by Michael Dundon for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tipperary 0-11 Waterford 0-9

Tipperary survived a late Waterford surge at Semple Stadium, Thurles Thursday evening to reach the Munster U20 FC final for the first time in six years.

Waterford spurned two great match-winning goal chances in the dying minutes but overall Tipp just about deserved to shade the verdict.

The visitors opened in lively fashion and with Niall McSweeney and Padraig Fitzgerald prominent went four points clear in six minutes. Tipp settled slowly but were still 0-2 to 0-4 adrift at the water break.

Tipp continued to enjoy a slight advantage on resuming and with points by Sean O Connor, Kevin Grogan and Ryan Walsh were level by the interval, 0-5 each, Waterford failing to score in the second quarter.

A black card for Waterford’s Niall McSweeney gave Tipp an edge in the third quarter and by the second break they were 0-9 to 0-6 ahead.

The final quarter was a tense affair. Tipp were two points ahead after 56 minutes when Henry Griffin broke through but blazed wide for Waterford. A minute later Sean Walsh did likewise for the Deise. Tom O’Connell had a Waterford point but in injury time Kevin Grogan pointed a Tipp free to ensure their place in the final against Cork.

Tipp have work to do to capture the title but such as Sean O’Connor, Tadhg Condon, Emmet Butler, Cathal Deeley and Kevin Grogan worked hard throughout.

Waterford have no excuse as they got the chances to win. Liam Fennell, Colin Foley, Padraig Fitzgerald and Niall McSweeney were their top performers.

Scorers for Tipperary: S O Connor (0-6,3fs), K Grogan (0-2,2fs), C Deeley, C Cadell, R Walsh (0-1 each);

Scorers for Waterford: P Fitzgerald (0-3), N McSweeney, T O Connell (1f) (0-2 each), S Fitzgerald, A Ryan(0-1 each).

TIPPERARY: C Scully; S Daly, T Condon, B McKeown; E Butler, B O’Connor, L Kennedy; C Deeley, K Grogan; C Cadell, R Walsh, J Holloway; M O’Connor, B Kehoe, S O’Connor.
Subs: C McGrath for Kehoe (24); B Comerford for M O Connor (ht); C English for Walsh (51); J Duncan for Holloway (51).

WATERFORD: B Kirwan; S Boyce, K Taylor, L Fennell; A Ryan, C Foley, R Elliffe; O Geoghegan, C Walsh; P Ftizgerald, N Sweeney, T Dalton; S Fitzgerald, T O’Connell, D J Kiely.
Subs: S Walsh for Geoghegan (20); J Power for Dalton (36); S Fitzgerald for Kiely(42); H Griffin for McSweeney (52); A Behan for S Fitzgerald (64).

Ref: N Ryan (Cork).

Ticket Information

Tickets for this game have now sold out.

Online Team Sheet

Clck to view an online team sheet for Tipperary v Waterford

Team News


July 15, 2021
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units