Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2020 Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Limerick 2-19 Cork 0-13

December 12, 2020 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Limerick defeated Cork by 2-19 to 0-13 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Saturday December 12th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Watch Back – Full Match Coverage

Quickfire English goal double helps Limerick minors defeat Cork

Report by Michael Moynihan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Munster MHC quarter-final: Cork 0-13 Limerick 2-19

Two goals in a minute put Limerick on the road to an emphatic victory in this Munster MHC quarter-final clash in Semple Stadium with Cork.

Cork opened with an Eoin O’Leary point but Limerick got off the mark through Luke O’Connor.

The sides swapped scores early on but it was notable that Cork relied heavily on the accuracy of Ben Cunningham from frees to stay in touch.

By contrast, Limerick had five of their starting forwards on the scoresheet before the end of the first quarter — corner forward Dylan Lynch was replaced early and substitute Josh Keating pointed well with his first touch of the game.

By the first water-break Limerick led, 0-6 to 0-5, Cunningham notching his fourth free in a row just beforehand.

Brian Keating levelled the game with a good Cork point and the Rebels came close to a goal but Limerick ‘keeper Tomas Lynch saved well.

Cork’s Ben O’Connor and Limerick’s John Kirby swapped good points: 0-7 apiece on 24 minutes.

Cunningham (free) and Michael Mullins pushed Cork two ahead but Luke O’Connor finished a good move with a Limerick point, and Adam English struck for goal on 27 minutes.

The same player repeated the dose after a good run by Liam Lynch and Limerick were firmly in the driving seat. Lynch and Cunningham swapped points late in the half, leaving the score 2-9 to 0-10.

Cork restarted with a point from sub Jack Leahy but Lynch hit back with two frees and English hit a good point to restore Limerick’s supremacy.

Cork hit a succession of wides and didn’t add to their tally in the third quarter, while Limerick pushed further in front – by the second water-break they led 2-15 to 0-11.

Limerick held out in the fourth quarter for a comfortable victory, the eventual margin being twelve points: Cork scored just three second-half points.

Scorers for Cork: B. Cunningham (0-8, frees); M. Mullins, J. Leahy, B. O’Connor, B. Keating, E. O’Leary (0-1 each).

Scorers for Limerick: A. English (2-3); L. Lynch (0-7, 6 frees) ; P. O’Donovan (0-4); L O’Connor (0-2); S. O’Brien, J. Keating, J. Kirby (0-1 each).

CORK: B. Saunderson (Midleton); S. Kingston (Ballinora), C. Smyth (Midleton), K Lyons (Ballygarvan); E. Downey (c) (Glen Rovers), B. O’Connor (St Finbarr’s), M. Mullins (Whitechurch); B. Keating (Ballincollig), J. Dwyer (do); A. Quirke (Midleton), C. Walsh (Kanturk), T. O’Connell (Ballincollig); B. Cunningham (St Finbarr’s), M. Howell (Douglas), E. O’Leary (Glen Rovers).
Subs: D. Healy (Lisgoold) and J. Leahy (Dungourney) for Quirke and O’Connell (both HT); W. Buckley (St Finbarr’s) for O’Leary (37); T. Walsh (Kanturk) for Dwyer (44).

LIMERICK: T. Lynch (Doon); J. Fitzgerald (Monaleen), V. Harrington (Na Piarsaigh), R. Lyons (vc)(Monaleen); B. Molyneaux (Mungret St Paul’s), E. Hurley (Newcastle West), S. Whelan (Cappamore); J. Kirby (Patrickswell), B. Duff (Mungret St Paul’s); A. English (c)(Doon), L. Lynch (Mungret St Paul’s), S. O’Brien (Kilmallock); L. O’Connor (Ballybrown), P. O’Donovan (Effin), D. Lynch (Na Piarsaigh).
Subs: J. Keating (Bruff) for D. Lynch (12); S. O’Neill (Blackrock) for Molyneaux (48); L. Dennehy (Glenroe) for O’Connor (54); N. Quinn (Ballybrown) for Fitzgerald (57); E. Harmon (Patrickswell). for English (59).

Referee: K. Jordan (Tipperary).

Match Streaming

This game will be streamed live on the Spórt TG4 You Tube page

Online Team Sheet

Click to view the online team sheet – 2020 Munster MHC S-Final – Limerick v Cork – PDF Format

Click to view the online team sheet – 2020 Munster MHC S-Final – Limerick v Cork – PDF Format

Team News

CORK (MHC v Limerick): B Saunderson (Midleton); S Kingston (Ballinora), C Smyth (Midleton), K Lyons (Ballygarvan); E Downey (captain, Glen Rovers), B O’Connor (St Finbarrs), M Mullins (Whitechurch); B Keating (Ballincollig), J Dwyer (Ballincollig); A Quirke (Midleton), C Walsh (Kanturk), T O’Connell (Ballincollig); B Cunningham (St Finbarrs), M Howell (Douglas), E O’Leary (Glen Rovers).
Subs: D Costine (Cloyne), A Walsh (Bride Rovers), C Geary (Youghal), D Burke (Douglas), D O’Sullivan (Ballinhassig), D Healy (Lisgoold), J Leahy (Dungourney), T Walsh (Kanturk), W Buckley (St Finbarrs).

LIMERICK: Tomás Lynch (Doon); Joseph Fitzgerald (Monaleen, Vince Harrington (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Lyons (Monaleen); Billy Molyneaux (Mungret St Pauls), Ethan Hurley (Newcastle West), Sean Whelan (Cappamore); John Kirby (Patrickswell), Barry Duff (Mungret St Pauls); Adam English (Doon), Liam Lynch (Mungret St Pauls), Shane O’Brien (Kilmallock); Luke O’Connor (Ballybrown), Patrick O’Donovan (Effin), Dylan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
Subs: Michael Sheahan (Rathkeale), Ned Quinn (Ballybrown), Josh Keating (Bruff), Liam Dennehy (Glenroe), Eoin Harmon (Patrickswell), Séan O’Neill (Blackrock), Patrick Finn (Bruff), John Fitzgerald (Na Piarsaigh), David Boyce (Feenagh-Kilmeedy)
Extended panel: Adam Fitzgerald (Templeglantine), Cian Scully (Dromin-Athlacca-Banogue), Con Hayes (Newcastle West), Darragh Butler (Bruff), Eoin Cleary (Knockainey), Eoin McCormack (Effin), Lochlann McHale (Monaleen), Michael Blashkiv (Newcastle West), Sean Canning (Effin), Thomas Sheahan (Killeedy)


December 12, 2020
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units