Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2020 Bord Gáis Energy Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Tipperary 1-19 Clare 0-12

October 19, 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Tipperary defeated Clare by 1-19 to 0-12 in the Bord Gáis Energy Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Monday October 19th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

BGE Munster U20: Terrific Tipperary triumph

Bord Gais Energy Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship Quarter-Final


Report By Shane Brophy at Semple Stadium for

Tipperary blitzed Clare in the second half to progress to the semi-finals of the Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship at a rain-sodden Semple Stadium.

The Premier County trailed by four points at half time but outscored Clare 1-13 to 0-2 in the second half to set up a semi-final against Waterford next Monday.

Despite being minus the services of injured captain Aidan McCarthy and Shane Meehan in attack, Clare started brightly with Connor Hegarty and William Halpin on target within two minutes.

Tipp quickly got into their stride with Andrew Ormond lively in the early going with two points before he struck the post with a goal chance. A Conor Bowe point followed by Gearoid O’Connor free had Tipp two in front before Clare made a tactical switch to being Cian Galvin back as an extra man and from there to half time the Tipp forwards were tied up, restricted to points from Conor Bowe and a Devon Ryan free, after Gearoid O’Connor had miss-fired.

Clare’s half back line and midfield took over and provided an ample supply of ball to their inside forwards where Mark Rodgers in particular was a major thorn pointing twice from play and also set up Robin Mounsey for a fine score.

Cian Galvin added two from frees and in his deep role, he was able to rove forward into space and landed two long range points to help Clare into a 0-10 to 0-6 half time lead.

Whatever manager John Devane said to the Tipp lads at half time certainly worked as they upped the workrate and took control as they went from four points down to seven points up shooting eleven points without reply with Conor Bowe to the fore bringing his tally to seven from play while Ormond, Devon Ryan and Kevin McCarthy were all on target.

It took Clare a full 27 minutes to register a second half score through Cian Galvin with Mark Rodgers reducing the margin to five when Tipp were awarded a penalty when Andrew Ormond was pulled down and Devon Ryan converted low to the keepers right.

Tipperary Penalty Goal by Devon Ryan

Sean Ryan and Kevin McCarthy rounded off an impressive second half performance from the defending Munster and All Ireland champions.

Scorers for Tipperary: Conor Bowe 0-7, Devon Ryan 1-4 (1-0 pen, 3fs), Andrew Ormond 0-3, Sean Ryan, Kevin McCarthy 0-2 each, Gearoid O’Connor 0-1 free.

Scorers for Clare: Cian Galvin 0-5 (3fs), Mark Rodgers 0-4 (1f), Robin Mounsey, William Halpin, Connor Hegarty 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: Aaron Browne; Johnny Ryan, Conor Whelan, Eanna McBride; Fintan Purcell, Eoghan Connolly, Ray McCormack; Kevin Maher, Kevin McCarthy; Gearoid O’Connor, Conor Bowe, Devon Ryan; Andrew Ormond, Kian O’Kelly, Sean Hayes.
Subs: Sean Ryan for Hayes (HT); James Devaney for O’Connor (48); Keith Ryan for Purcell (55); Max Hackett for Ormond (59 inj); Darragh Flannery for McCarthy (60+4).

CLARE: Cian Broderick; Paddy Donnellan, Adam Mungovan, Jathan McMahon; Mike Gough, Dylan McMahon, Darragh Lohan; Aidan Moriarty, Gearoid Cahill; Cian Galvin, Robin Mounsey, William Halpin; Diarmuid Cahill, Mark Rodgers, Connor Hegarty.
Subs: Darragh Healy for Mungovan (17); Conor Burke for D Cahill (40); Eoghan Wallace for G Cahill (44); Kevin Keane for Mounsey (49); Colm O’Meara for Gough (53).

REFEREE: Thomas Walsh (Waterford).

Online Match Programme

Click to view the 12 page Match Programme in PDF Format

Team Pages

Click to view Team Pages in PDF Format

Match Coverage


October 19, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units