Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2019 Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Tipperary 2-30 Waterford 0-18

May 19, 2019 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Tipperary defeated Waterford by 2-30 to 0-18 in the 2019 Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday May 19th at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Video – Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Tipperary cruise to victory


Report by John Fallon at Semple Stadium for

Tipperary finished strongly to notch their second win of the Munster SHC and condemn Waterford to a second loss in front of a crowd of 22,833 at Semple Stadium.

They got their opening goal when there were just three points between the sides and pushed on from there to outscore Waterford by 2-10 to 0-1 in the closing 16 minutes of the contest. Waterford trailed by 0-16 to 0-10 at the interval, having opted to play against the breeze in the opening half.

And it was Tipperary who set the early pace, picking off 0-10 in the opening 18 minutes before they registered their first wide.

John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer and John McGrath combined well to hit three points each in the opening half, while midfielder Michael Breen did likewise from out the field.

And with Jason Forde and Ronan Maher both hitting superb sidelines to extend Tipperary’s lead, Waterford’s task increased.

It became a more uphill task when Conor Gleeson, who had earlier been booked along with Seamie Callanan in an off the ball incident, picked up a second yellow card when he fouled Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher five minutes from the break.

Forde pointed the resultant free and John McGrath and John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer added points to lead by 0-16 to 0-7 approaching the break.

But Waterford were given some hope with points from Austin Gleeson and a couple of frees from Pauric Mahony to cut the gap to six at the interval. It would have been closer but a goal effort from Patrick Curran came back off the bottom of the right post.

Waterford continued to reduce the Tipperary margin after the restart with Mahony’s accuracy from frees helping their cause, while Austin Gleeson and Ryan added good efforts which helped cut the gap to 0-18 to 0-14 after 43 minutes.

The sides then twice swapped changed points before another Mahony free left just a goal between the sides at 0-20 to 0-17 after 51 minutes.

A tense and exciting finish seemed on the cards, but then ‘Bonner’ Maher, Callanan and O’Dwyer combined to set up Forde and he fired low to the net after 54 minutes.

Jason Forde goal

Tipperary took control after that and killed off the Waterford challenge with a succession of points before they sealed an impressive win when Callanan got their second goal in dying moments.

Seamus Callanan goal

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 1-9 (2fs, 165, 1 sideline), Michael Breen 0-6, John McGrath 0-5, John O’Dwyer 0-4, Seamie Callanan 1-0, Noel McGrath 0-2 (1f), Ronan Maher 0-2 (1f, 1 sideline), Barry Heffernan 0-1, Jake Morris 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-9 (7fs), Tommy Ryan 0-3, Austin Gleeson 0-2, Tadhg de Burca 0-1, Stephen Bennett 0-1.

TIPPERARY: Brian Hogan; Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Ronan Maher; Brendan Maher, Padraic Maher, Alan Flynn; Noel McGrath, Michael Breen; Jason Forde, Patrick Maher, D McCormack; John O’Dwyer, Seamus Callanan, John McGrath.
Subs:. Barry Heffernan for B Maher (half-time), Robert Byrne for McCormack (48), Willie Connors for N McGrath (60), Jake Morris for O’Dwyer (66), Ger Browne for P Maher (69).

WATERFORD: Stephen O’Keeffe, Calum Lyons, Conor Prunty, Noel Connors, Phil Mahony, Tadgh De Burca, Kevin Moran, Jamie Barron, Conor Gleeson, Thomas Ryan, Austin Gleeson, Pauric Mahony, Jack Prendergast, Patrick Curran, Stephen Bennett.
Subs: Maurice Shanahan for Curran (half-time), Shane Bennett for S Bennett (50), =Shane McNulty for Lyons (55-58 blood), Kieran Bennett for Philip Mahony (55), Brian O’Halloran for P Mahony (62), Colin Dunford for Prendergast (67).

REFEREE: John Keenan (Wicklow)

Derek McGrath and Michael Ryan discuss the controversial 2018 draw between Tipperary and Waterford

Video Match Preview

Team News

TIPPERARY (SHC v Waterford): B. Hogan; C. Barrett, J. Barry, R. Maher; B. Maher, Pádraic Maher, A. Flynn; N. McGrath, M. Breen; J. Forde, Patrick Maher, N. O’Meara; J. O’Dwyer, S. Callanan (c), J. McGrath
Subs: Paul Maher, G. Browne, W. Connors, T. Fox, B. Heffernan, S. Kennedy, D. Maher, D. McCormack, J. Morris, S. O’Brien.

WATERFORD (SHC v Tipperary): S. O’Keeffe; C. Lyons, C. Prunty, N. Connors (c); Philip Mahony, T. de Búrca, K. Moran; J. Barron, C. Gleeson; T. Ryan. A. Gleeson, Pauric Mahony; J. Prendergast, P. Curran, Stephen Bennett.

Fixture Details

Sunday May 19th
Munster Senior Hurling Championship Round 2
Tipperary v Waterford
Venue: Semple Stadium Thurles @ 2pm
Referee: John Keenan (Wicklow)

Ticket Information

Click for ticket details

Car Parking in Thurles Area

Note the following Car Parks will be opened on Sunday in Thurles
Thurles Sarsfields
Thurles Greyhound Stadium
LIT Thurles
Racecourse Rd – Field beside Barlow Motors
Racecourse Rd – Thurles Croke’s
Bru Stoves, Templemore Rd
Colaiste Mhuire
Beside stadium – Stevie’s Smees field
Holycross Road – Dúrlas Óg Ground
St Patricks College Cathedral St
Parnell St Car Park
Liberty Square Car Park
Source Car Park, Cathedral St
Slievenamon Rd Car Park

Video – Tipperary Senior Hurler, Jason Forde – “Home Comforts Episode”

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the 56 page souvenir match programme on the day for 5 euro.

GAANOW Rewind: Waterford v Tipperary Moments

Match Information

Waterford are seeking their first championship win over Tipperary since the 2008 All-Ireland semi-final. Since then, Tipperary have won six times and drawn once (last year).


2018: Tipperary 2-22 Waterford 2-22 (Munster ’round robin’)
2016: Tipperary 5-19 Waterford 0-13 (Munster Final)
2015: Tipperary 0-21 Waterford 0-16 (Munster Final)
2012: Tipperary 2-17 Waterford 0-16 (Munster Final)
2011: Tipperary 7-19 Waterford 0-19 (Munster Final)

*They had contrasting experiences in the opening round last Sunday. Tipperary beat Cork by 2-28 to 1-24 while Waterford lost to Clare by 1-22 to 0-24.

*Waterford are seeking their win in the Munster Championship since beating Clare in the 2016 semi-final. Since then, they have lost to Tipperary in the 2016 final, to Cork in the 2017 semi-final, to Clare, Cork and Limerick in lasts year’s ’round robin’ and to Clare in this year’s ’round robin’. They drew with Tipperary in lasts year’s ’round robin’.

*Tipperary’s 2-28 score against Cork last Sunday was their highest in the Munster championship the 2016 when they hit Waterford for 5-19.


May 19, 2019
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , ,


Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units