Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2019 Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Phase 1 – Tipperary 0-10 Limerick 0-10

April 24, 2019 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Tipperary and Limerick finished level on a scoreline of 0-10 to 0-10 in Round 3 of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Phase 1 on Wednesday April 24th at Sean Treacy Park Tipperary Town.

Match Highlights

Draw enough for Tipp as minor footballers qualify for phase one final

Report By Conor Kane for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tipperary 0-10 – 0-10 Limerick

Tipperary’s minor footballers did enough on home turf to qualify for the phase one final of the Munster championship: but only just.

Going into this encounter a draw looked like it would be enough for the Premier lads to face Clare in a fortnight for the right to play Cork and Kerry, after they beat a Waterford team that Limerick could only level with last week, and that’s what they got in a tense affair that proved entertaining for the vocal crowd at Sean Treacy Park.

When they went three ahead after 40 minutes thanks to a couple of frees from captain Kyle Shelly and an impressive effort by sub Liam McCormack, Tipp looked to be cruising but they then found themselves pinned into their own half for the subsequent 10 minutes as Limerick threw everything forward in a desperate bid to gain the win they needed.

Three converted frees, one by Eliah Riordan and the others by Shane O’Donoghue, tied up the scoring and even after Tipperary went in front yet again through a well-taken Shelly free, Limerick refused to die and a pointed free in the fourth minute of injury-time by Riordan made it a draw.

Had they lost this game, Tipp would have bitterly rued some spurned goal chances, although Limerick goalkeeper Dylan O’Sullivan did well to prevent them all.

Two came either side of the first half, when Paddy Creedon and Kyle Shelly looked like raising green flags, and the other when Shelly took a pass from Emmet Butler late on after a fine run but the chance was cleared off the line.

Tipperary were slightly brighter in that first half although after an excellent point by Rory Collins in the fifth minute they endured 16 barren minutes before scoring again and then finished the half stronger, albeit the scores were tied at 0-5 apiece.

“Every time we play Limerick we know we’re going to get a hugely intense game,” a relieved Tipp manager Matt O’Doherty said afterwards. “Hopefully a tough game like this will stand to us going forward, but we have a massive task ahead of us against Clare. They’re up there with Cork and Kerry.”

Scorers for Tipperary – K Shelly 0-7 (6f), R Collins 0-1, P Creedon 0-1, L McCormack 0-1;

Scorers for Limerick – S O’Donoghue 0-6 (5f), E Riordan 0-2 (2f), C Galvin 0-1, D Geraghty 0-1.

Tipperary: J Griffin, C McDonagh, T Condon, E Butler, J Armstrong, D Hickey, C Shanahan, P Creedon, T Tobin, L Seacy, K Shelly, B Comerford, R Collins, J Mullen, E McCarthy
Subs: C Cadell for J Mullen (HT), L McCormack for P Creedon (37m), L King for R Collins (53m), D King for T Tobin (57m), D McCahey for L Seacy (60m).

Limerick: D O’Sullivan, D Geraghty, P Dolphin, F Corcoran, C Twomey, D O’Keeffe, C Woulfe, E Riordan, M Southgate, C Hedderman, S O’Donoghue, R O’Connor, C Galvin, S Hanrahan, M Donnellan
Subs: P O’Dwyer for C Hedderman (40m), J Baynham for S Hanrahan (56m).

Ref: Chris Maguire (Clare).

Admission Details

Adults – €10
Students / OAP’s – €5
Under 16s – Free

Team News

Limerick team to play Tipperary

Dylan O’Sullivan (Kilteely-Dromkeen); Daniel Geraghty (St Kierans), Patrick Dolphin (Crecora), Frank Corcoran (Mungret St Pauls); Conor Twomey (Croom), Darragh O’Keeffe (Fedamore), Cormac Woulfe (St Senans); Eliah Riordan (Fr Caseys), Michael Southgate (Adare); Caillum Hedderman (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Shane O’Donoghue (Ballylanders), Ruadhán O’Connor (Newcastle West); Conor Galvin (Mungret St Pauls), Shane Hanrahan (Galbally), Mark Donnellan (Ahane)
Subs: Shane O’Connell (Fr Caseys), Rian McBrearty (Monaleen), Peter O’Dwyer (Galbally), Jamie Baynham (Monagea), Michael O’Mahoney (Adare), Mark Walsh (Galtee Gaels), Micheál Cuddihy (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Tomás Sheahan (Ballysteen), Josh Dineen (Galbally).

Extended Panel: Eddie Murphy O’Connor (Ballysteen), Eoin McGrath (Galbally), Tom Marsden (Ahane), Sean Kilbridge (Fr.Caseys), Jack Corkery (Knockaderry), Jack Quinlivan (Fr.Caseys) Killian Bennett (Bruff), Conor Stack (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Rory O’Connor (St.Senans), James Killian (Mungret St Pauls).

The Tipperary team to play Limerick in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Phase 1 Round 3 tie in Sean Treacy Park, Tipperary Town this Wednesday evening, April 24th at 7pm has been announced by manager Matt O’Doherty. There are two changes to the side from that which started the last two rounds with Rory Collins (Moyle Rovers) and Jimmy Mullen (Drom & inch) both introduced into the attack.

The team lines out as follows –

1. James Griffin – Upperchurch-Drombane
2. Christy McDonagh – Cahir
3. Tadhg Condon – Clonmel Commercials
4. Emmet Butler – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
5. James Armstrong – Thurles Sarsfields
6. Donagh Hickey – Arravale Rovers
7. Conor Shanahan – Inane Rovers
8. Paddy Creedon (Vice-Capt.) – Thurles Sarsfields
9. Tom Tobin – Rosegreen
10. Luke Seacy – Inane Rovers
11. Kyle Shelly (Capt.) – Moycarkey-Borris
12. Ben Comerford – Grangemockler-Ballyneale
13. Rory Collins – Moyle Rovers
14. Jimmy Mullen – Drom-Inch
15. Eoin McCarthy – Clonmel Commercials
16. Cian O’Mahony – Ardfinnan
17. Eoin Wyse – Cahir
18. Liam King – Ballinahinch
19. Darragh McCahey – Loughmore-Castleiney
20. Dara King – Ballina
21. Liam McCormack – Thurles Sarsfields
22. Conor Cadell – JK Brackens
23. Josh Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials
24. Peter McGarry – Moyle Rovers

Match Programme

Don’t forget to pick up a copy of the souvenir match programme for 2 euro.


April 24, 2019
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm


Sean Treacy Park Tipperary Town

GAA Units