Official Aras Mumhan Website

09th December 2014


Hall of Fame Winners Announced for 2014 Munster GAA Awards – Tipperary and Waterford Legends to join elite band

Tipperary hurling hero, Liam Devaney, and Waterford star footballer, Jim Wall, are the latest Munster legends to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, it was announced today. The two greats will receive their awards at the Munster GAA Awards Gala Dinner on Saturday, December 13 in Dromoland Castle, Co. Clare.

Tipperary and Borris-Ileigh’s Liam Devaney was a vital member of the great Tipperary team of the late 1950s and 1960s. Uniquely he played in every position bar full back for Tipperary. He was Texaco hurler of the Year in 1961 and he won 5 All Ireland senior medals, 9 National League medals, 8 Munster senior medals, 6 Oireachtas medals, 3 Railway Cup medals and 2 All Ireland and Munster minor medals. He played senior hurling with Borris-Ileigh from 1952 to 1974 winning a county championship in 1953. He will be remembered as one of the most skilful forwards of his generation and his contribution to Tipperary in an era of unprecedented success for the county will always be remembered.

The Nire’s Jim Wall is synonymous with football in Waterford. He has given a lifetime of service to football in his club and county. He also played with Munster and won a Railway Cup medal alongside many Munster football luminaries in 1972. He played football for Waterford from 1968 to 1974, a highlight of that period being Waterford’s spell in Division 1 of the National Football League in the 1971-72 league season. He captained his beloved Nire to the Waterford Intermediate title in 1971 and was a selector on the Nire team which won the club’s first county senior football championship title in 1993. He also served as a Waterford football selector.
Commenting on the announcement of the Hall of Fame winners for 2014, Robers Frost, Chairman of Munster Council said: “Liam Devaney was a star on Tipperary’s best ever team while Jim Wall has given many decades of sterling service to football in Waterford. Their many achievements are worthy of recognition and I am delighted to see them honoured with this year’s Hall of Fame awards”

Other 2014 award winners also announced today are Mac Dara Mac Donncha of Waterford who receives the Media Award; Shane Hourigan RIP of Limerick who receives the Services to Refereeing award posthumously following his death in a car accident earlier this year; Derry Gowen of Cork who is given the Special Merit Award for his contribution to Culture and Scór; John Lenihan of University of Limerick GAA for Service to Education; Cork’s John Cronin for Intermediate Hurling Award and Gavan O’Grady of Kerry for Junior Football.

For further information, please contact:
Ger Ryan
Munster GAA PRO

Posted in: News

Date: 09th December 2014

GAA Units