Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Kerry 2-22 Down 3-9

Kerry defeated Down by 2-22 to 3-9 in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Saturday August 15th at Newbridge.

Buckley a shining star in Kerry’s stroll to decider

All Ireland MH ‘B’ semi-finals: Kerry 2-22 Down 3-9

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Kerry qualified for the final as they came from behind to score an impressive 10-point win over a resolute Down side, in this semi-final, played in Newbridge on Saturday. Down were quicker out of the traps than Kerry, as they raced 1-1 to 0-1 clear by the end of the opening quarter, thanks to a 14th-minute goal from Daithi Sands.

Once a John Buckley ’65, deceived the Down ‘keeper and ended up in the net, in the 19th minute, and a minute later, Buckley gave Kerry the lead with a long-range point, Down never looked threatening. The Lixnaw duo of Shane Conway and Buckley tormented Down, as Conway drilled home a penalty on the stroke of half-time, to give Kerry a 2-8 to 1-6 lead.
Kerry drove on in the second half, with Buckley adding 0-7 from frees and play.

Rhys Ward got a last-minute goal for Down, but Kerry deservedly reached another All-Ireland Final when they will meet Roscommon on September 5.

Kerry: J Buckley 1-7 ( 1-0 ’65, 0-1 free), S Conway 1-7 ( 1-0 pen, 0-4 frees), F Mackessy 0-3, E Leen and K O’Regan 0-2 each, T O Connor 0-1.
Down: C Coulter 0-7 (0-6 frees, 0-1 ’65), D Sands 1-1, P Loughrane and R Ward 1-0, R Beattie 0-1.

KERRY – R Silles, B Lyons, M Leane, G Stackpoole, E Ross, J Diggins, R Collins, J Buckley, T O’Connor, S Conway, J McKenna, D Egan, E Leen, F Mackessy, C Sheehy. Subs: K O’Regan for C Sheehy (40), C Browne for D Egan (46), C Breen for E Leen (48), J Lenihan for T O’Connor (48), L Mullins for B Lyons (55).

DOWN – H Flynn, M Mee, C Monan, D Og Rooney, O Duggan, L Savage, E Coulter, J Doran, P Loughrane, A Doran, J Murphy, C Coulter, D McCartney, R Beattie, D Sands. Subs: L Courtney for P Loughrane (45), R Ward for A Doran (54).

REF – J Heffernan (Wexford)

Fixture Details

15.08.2015 (Sat)
Electric Ireland GAA Hurling All-Ireland Minor B Championship Semi Final
Newbridge 14:00
An Dún v Ciarraí
Referee: TBC
(E.T. if Necessary)

Team News

The Kerry Minor Hurling Team to play Down in the Semi Final of the All Ireland Minor B Hurling Championship in Newbridge at 2pm on Saturday is the same as the team that defeated Kildare at the same venue two weeks ago.

The team contains six of the side who started in the defeat of Meath in last year’s final – Billy Lyons, Michael Leane, Jason Diggins, Robert Collins, John Buckley, and Fionán Mackessy.

The team, captained by Lixnaw’s John Buckley is as follows:

1 David Silles Lixnaw
2 Billy Lyons Causeway
3 Micheal Leane Ballyheigue
4 Gerard Stackpoole Lixnaw
5 Eoin Ross Ballyduff
6 Jason Diggins Causeway
7 Robert Collins Kilmoyley
8 John Buckley Lixnaw (Capt)
9 Thomas O’Connor Crotta O’Neills
10 Shane Conway Lixnaw
11 Jeremy McKenna Lixnaw
12 David Egan Abbeydorney
13 Eric Leen St Brendans
14 Fionán Mackessy St Brendans
15 Colin Sheehy Lixnaw
Fir Ionaid:
16 Robert Silles Lixnaw
17 Colin Browne Crotta O’Neills
18 Kieran O’Regan Kilmoyley
19 Liam Mullins Lixnaw
20 Brian O’Riordan Ballyheigue
21 Jack Lenihan Dr Crokes
22 Ciarán Breen Tralee Parnells
23 Ronan Donovan Abbeydorney
24 Aaron Tompson St Brendans
25 Jason Keane Lixnaw
26 Tom Foley Lixnaw
27 Brandon Barrett Causeway
28 John Mark Foley Kilgarvan
29 Jack Goulding Ballyduff