Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

White Cup Hurling – Ard Scoil Ris v De La Salle

April 15, 2011 @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Ard Scoil’s late burst seals first White Cup

By Conor Kane for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Saturday, April 16, 2011

ARD SCOIL RÍS won their first White Cup with an impressive finish at Cahir yesterday. Only headed once throughout the hour, the Limerick lads led by two points entering the final quarter but outscored their Waterford rivals by 1-5 to 0-2 in the closing minutes to claim the spoils. Cian O’Brien grabbed five points while Cian Lynch scored six from play in the first half, a haul which laid a solid foundation for victory. When Aaron Gillane got their second goal in the 54th minute to put them six ahead, there was no way back for the DLS boys.

There was little to separate the sides for much of the opening period, with Sean Hogan’s ninth minute goal for De La Salle putting them two in front for the first time. Lynch repeatedly made possession pay for Ardscoil Ris at the other end and David O’Mahoney’s goal just before the break put four points between the teams. But the Limerick outfit finished strongly to end the season a high.

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís: C. Lynch 0-6, C. O’Brien 0-5 (two frees), D. O’Mahoney 1-1, A. Gillane 1-0, Ronan Lynch 0-2 (one 65, one free), N. Mule 0-2, K. Daly 0-1, P. Casey 0-1.

Scorers for De La Salle: S. Ryan 0-7 (0-4 frees), J. Fitzgerald 0-3 (0-2 frees), S. Hogan 1-, P. Hogan 0-1, D. Hutchinson 0-1.

ARDSCOIL RÍS: A. O’Brien; E. Quitty, P. McNamara, D. Connolly; F. Larkin, R. Lynch, E. Costelloe; D. O’Mahoney, T. Grimes; K. Daly, N. Mule, C. O’Brien (capt); M. Collins, C. Lynch, A. Gillane.

Sub: P. Casey for A. Gillane.

DE LA SALLE: E. Purcell; N. Blanchfield, C. Browne, K. Dillon Dunphy; M. Shanahan, J. McCarthy, E. Hayden; B. Cunningham, G. Flynn; S. Hogan, J. Fitzgerald, S. Ryan; P. Hogan, D. Hutchinson, S. Treacy.

Sub: A. Power for S. Treacy.

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)


April 15, 2011
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

GAA Units