Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Preliminary Round – Limerick 10-17 IT Tralee 0-9

January 10, 2014 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Limerick defeated IT Tralee by 10-17 to 0-9 in the Waterford Crystal Cup Hurling Preliminary Round on Friday January 10th at Mick Neville Park Rathkeale.

Fitzgibbon to fore as Treaty’s new regime starts with 10-goal victory

Limerick 10-17 IT Tralee 0-9


Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Limerick’s mixture of experienced and new players proved far too strong for IT Tralee in Rathkeale as the Munster champions set up a semi-final meeting against All-Ireland champions Clare. It was a landslide win for Limerick and the losers managed only four points from play over the 70 minutes. The students managed to lead twice inside eight minutes, but Graeme Mulcahy then began the Limerick goal rush and they never let up.


Captain Donal O’Grady, after 13 minutes, and John Fitzgibbon, 60 seconds later, had further Limerick goals and by half-time it was over as a contest, with the Treaty men in front by 5-10 to 0-6, thanks to further goals by Paul Browne, on 21 minutes, and Mulcahy again, just after the half-hour. Limerick continued their goal-scoring spree in a lopsided second half which saw the students manage a mere three points

New Limerick managers Donal O’Grady and TJ Ryan will not have taken much from this futile exercise other than the experience given to the newcomers, with John Fitzgibbon producing a cracking display when scoring 2-7 (0-5 from frees). Mulcahy was also in flying form for Limerick with 3-1, while John Egan notched 0-4 for IT.

Scorers — Limerick: G Mulcahy 3-1, J Fitzgibbon 2-7 (5fs), P Browne, D O’Grady 2-2 each, W Hickey 1-1, J Ryan 0-2, N Quaid, R English 0-1 each. IT Tralee: J Egan 0-4 (3fs, 1 ’65’), C Harty 0-2, S Healy (f), G O’Grady, C McDonnell 0-1 each.

Limerick — B Hennessy; S Walshe, P O’Loughlin, R English; W McNamara, C McNamara, G O’Mahony; P Browne, P O’Brien; W Hickey, D O’Grady, J Ryan; G Mulcahy, M Ryan, J Fitzgibbon. Subs: D Kennedy for M Ryan (h-t), B Lynch for W McNamara (53), N Quaid for O’Brien (55)

IT Tralee — N Delaney; S Lynch, A Fealy, C Farrell; B Murphy, M Cleary, J Walsh; C McDonnell, K Carmody; S Healy, G O’Grady, C Harty; G O’Doherty, D Wallace, J Egan. Subs: N Lynch for S Lynch (41) D Nolan for O’Doherty (45), A Gavin for McDonnell (56).

Ref — F Horgan (Tipperary)


When – Friday January 10th at 7:30pm

Where – Mick Neville Park Rathkeale

Referee – Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

Extra time
– (2 periods x 10 minutes only) to be played if sides finish level at the end of 70 minutes

Contact Munster GAA PRO Ed Donnelly at for more information

For the Record

Limerick IT Tralee
2013 Waterford Crystal Cup Performance Defeated Mary I before losing to Tipperary in the Quarter-Final by 0-22 to 1-9. Lost to Kerry by 6-17 to 0-12 in the Preliminary Round.
Number of Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling titles 1 0
Last Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Title 2006 N/A
Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Record since 2006 Played – 11
Won – 5
Lost – 5
Drawn – 1
Played – 6
Won – 0
Lost – 6
Drawn – 0

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling 2014

Preliminary Round (Extra Time)

Friday January 10th

@ Mick Neville Park Rathkeale     Limerick v IT Tralee                                                  @ 7:30pm

Sunday January 12th

@ WIT GAA Grounds Carriganore Waterford v University of Limerick                      @ 2:00pm

@ MacDonagh Park Nenagh        Tipperary v LIT                                                          @ 2:00pm

Quarter-Finals (Extra Time)

Sunday January 19th

@ Austin Stack Park Tralee           Kerry v Tipperary or LIT

@ WIT GAA Grounds Carriganore WIT v Waterford or UL

@ Clare venue                                 Clare v Limerick or IT Tralee

@ Mardyke                                        UCC v Mary I

Semi-Finals (Extra Time)

Sunday January 26th

Final (Extra Time)

Sunday February 2nd


Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling – Odds and Ends

35 goals were scored in the 2013 Waterford Crystal Cup competition over 11 matches (an average of 3.2 goals per match). This is the exact same number of goals scored in the 2012 competition while only 23 goals were scored in the 2011 competition over 10 matches (an average of 2.3 goals per match).

Since the Waterford Crystal Cup began in 2006, Clare (18 wins), Tipperary (15 wins) and Waterford (13 wins) have accounted for 46 of the 81 victories in the competition (57%).

Tipperary hold the record for the longest winning streak in the Waterford Crystal Cup since the competition began under that guise in 2006 when they won 10 consecutive matches between 2007 and 2009.

None of the five teams who take part in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship have a losing record in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006.

Since the Waterford Crystal Cup began in 2006, 66 games have been played with just 1 draw – the 2012 Limerick v Clare Quarter-Final after two periods of extra time.

The record of the Third Level Colleges in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006 is Won 21, Lost 45, a 32% success rate.

Waterford have lost their last 2 matches in the Waterford Crystal Cup having won 8 in a row from 2010 to 2012.

Limerick’s victory over Mary Immaculate College in the 2013 Preliminary round is their only win in the Waterford Crystal Cup dating back to 2006.

Clare are the only team who have won at least one game each year since the Waterford Crystal Cup competition began in 2006. Clare also have the best won / lost record in the competition, winning 18 and drawing 1 of their 25 matches played while winning 2 titles.

IT Tralee is the only team not to win a game in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006, losing their first match in the last 6 seasons.

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Roll Of Honour

Tipperary (3) – 2007, 2008, 2012

Waterford (2) – 2010, 2011

Clare (2) – 2009, 2013

Limerick (1) – 2006

IT Tralee Panel

The IT Tralee Hurling Panel for the Waterford Crystal Cup includes the following players –

1. Anthony Fealy

2. Brian Murphy

3. Chris Mc Donald

4. Cian Farell

5. Ciaran Loughnane

6. Colum Harty

7. Gearoid O Doherthy

8. Donie Nolan

9. Donie O Halloran

10. Giles O Grady

11. Ian O Brien

12. Jack Walsh

13. Jason Wallace

14. John Egan

15. Jonathan Sills

16. Keith Carmody

17. Michael Cleary

18. Darren Wallace

19. Peter Nash

20. Niall Delaney

21. Niall Lynch

22. Paddy Gavin

23. Shane Healy

24. Shane Lynch


January 10, 2014
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

GAA Units