Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Preliminary Round – Clare 3-25 WIT 0-5

January 29, 2012 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Clare show intent

From the Irish Times newspaper

Clare 3-25 Waterford IT 0-5: NEW CLARE manager Davy Fitzgerald witnessed his charges totally outclass Waterford Institute of Technology in a preliminary round game of the Waterford Crystal Cup at Sixmilebridge. Fitzgerald returned to his native county and his home town for the first competitive outing of the year. WIT were short up to 10 regulars on the day because of a vital upcoming Fitzgibbon Cup tie against Cork IT on Thursday next, while Clare were also missing many of their student contingent.

The hosts led by 0-6 to no score by the 10th minute and by half-time had cruised into a 2-14 to 0-3 lead. Aaron Cunningham and the in-form Daire Keane scored the two goals before the break while corner-forward Eoin Hayes added a third, 27 minutes into the second half. Clare will now face Limerick next weekend in the next round.

CLARE : P Kelly, D O’Donovan, C Dillon, C Cooney (0-1); S Morey, E Barrett, J McInerney; N O’Connell (0-3), P Donnellan (0-2); C Chaplin, D Keane (1-7), F Lynch; E Hayes (1-0), C Ryan (0-7, 0-3 frees), A Cunningham (1-3, 0-1 free). Subs: J Clancy (0-2) for Ryan (inj, 26 mins), M Earley for Cooney (62), S O’Halloran for Morey (66).

WIT: S O’Keeffe (Waterford); M Power (Waterford), P Nolan (Kilkenny), J Cahill (Kilkenny); S O’Keeffe (Waterford), L O’Loughlin (Clare), D Murphy (Dublin); M Power (Kilkenny), J O’Dwyer (Tipperary); E Madigan (Waterford), S Cleary (Tipperary), C O’Meara (Tipperary); T Kavanagh (Tipperary), J Dillon (Waterford), K Hammersley (Tipperary).

Subs: B Burke (Galway, O’Dwyer 55); N Connors (Waterford, O’Keeffe 55).

Referee: D Kirwan (Cork)

For the Record

Clare WIT
2011 Waterford Crystal Cup Performance Defeated IT Tralee and LIT before losing to Waterford by 2-19 to 2-18 in the semi-final Defeated Tipperary in the preliminary round before their quarter-final with UL was abandoned due to fog. WIT subsequently withdrew from the competition
Number of Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling titles 1 0
Last Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Title 2009 N/A
Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Record since 2006 Played – 17
Won – 12
Lost – 5
Drawn – 0
Played – 10
Won – 4
Lost – 6
Drawn – 0

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling 2012

Preliminary Round (Extra time)

Sunday January 22nd

@ Dolla                                              Tipperary 2-24 Limerick Institute of Technology 1-16

Sunday January 29th

@ Fitzgerald Stadium Killarney       Kerry v IT Tralee                                            @ 2:00pm

@ Sixmilebridge                               Clare v WIT                                                    @ 2:00pm

Quarter-Finals (Extra time)

Sunday February 5th

@ Cork or Kerry venue                     Cork v Kerry or IT Tralee                              @ 2:00pm

@ Tipperary venue                           Tipperary v University of Limerick               @ 2:00pm

@ Limerick or Clare venue              Limerick v Clare or LIT                                 @ 2:00pm

@ WIT Sportsgrounds                      Waterford v UCC                                          @ 2:00pm

Semi-Finals (Extra time)
Sunday February 12th

@ TBC                                               Cork, Kerry or IT Tralee v UL or Tipperary
@ TBC                                               Limerick, Clare or LIT v Waterford or UCC

Final (Extra time)

Sunday February 19th

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling – Odds and Ends

Clare are the only team who have won at least one game each year since the Waterford Crystal Cup competition began in 2006.

The record of the Third Level Colleges in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006 is Won 18, Lost 35, a 34% success rate. Since the Third Level Colleges entered the McGrath Cup (Senior Football) in 2005, their success rate is 32%.

Tipperary won their first 6 home matches in the Waterford Crystal Cup from 2006 to 2009 before losing their first round matches in 2010 (v Clare at Borrisoleigh) and in 2011 (v WIT at Clonmel).

Waterford have won 11 of their last 13 matches in the Waterford Crystal Cup, including a current winning streak of 7 matches.

Tipperary hold the record for the longest winning streak in the Waterford Crystal Cup since the competition began under that guise in 2006 when they won 10 consecutive matches between 2007 and 2009.

Limerick won the first Waterford Crystal Cup title in 2006, winning four matches in the process. Since then, in three appearances in the competition they have failed to win a game.

The University of Limerick is the only third level college to have a winning record in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006 – winning 7 games and losing 6.

Kerry and IT Tralee are the only teams not to win a game in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006 with Kerry losing 6 games and IT Tralee losing 4. Those teams are drawn together in the preliminary round on January 29th so one of those streaks will end.

None of the five teams who take part in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship have a losing record in the Waterford Crystal Cup since 2006.

On this date

January 29th 2006 – Clare lost to Limerick in the Waterford Crystal Cup Semi-Final by 1-14 to 0-13 in the Gaelic Grounds Limerick

Waterford Crystal Cup

Waterford Crystal began their sponsorship of the Munster pre-season hurling competition in 2006. Prior to this, the competition was played in different formats dating back to the early 1990’s and was most popularly known as the South Eastern Hurling League which also included county teams from Leinster.

Waterford Crystal Cup Senior Hurling Roll Of Honour

Waterford (2) – 2010, 2011

Tipperary (2) – 2007, 2008

Clare (1) – 2009

Limerick (1) – 2006


January 29, 2012
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units