Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Waterford Crystal Cup Quarter Final – Clare 0-16 Tipperary 0-15

January 18, 2015 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Clare defeated Tipperary by 0-16 to 0-15 in the Quarter Final of the Waterford Crystal Cup on Sunday January 18th at Sixmilebridge.

Clare just edge Tipperary in Waterford Crystal Cup quarter-final clash

Clare 0-16 Tipperary 0-15

Report from

CLARE ADVANCED TO the last four of the Waterford Crystal Cup for the seventh successive season after edging a low-key derby in Sixmilebridge this afternoon. An injury-time point from substitute Colin Ryan prove decisive in what was the fourth Waterford Crystal Cup meeting with Tipperary in a row, the last three of which were finals.

While Tipperary had the advantage of blooding players against Mary Immaculate last weekend, this was Clare’s 2015 competitive bow, with seven of the 2013 All-Ireland winning side on board along with senior debuts for Gearoid O’Connell and Conor Cleary.

It wasn’t a classic derby by any means however as the wintery conditions and experimental line-ups made it more a cobweb blowing exercise than anything else. The first half in particular was slow to ignite as the teams were level on four occasions before the home side finally rallied with four of the last six points, two from Cathal O’Connell frees to edge it by the break at 0-8 to 0-7.
Clare also created the only real goal opportunity as Aaron Cunningham robbed possession and headed for goal only for two efforts to be denied by Tipperary goalkeeper Darragh Egan.

The seesaw pattern would continue on the restart, with respective free takers Cathal O’Connell and Brendan Maher largely to the fore. However, with both sides emptying their benches as the game developed, Clare would get the sufficient jolt to push clear entering the final quarter as fellow replacements Colin Ryan and Paul Flanagan both pointed to give the hosts a 0-15 to 0-11 advantage.
With the returning Brendan Maher pulling the strings for Tipperary with three points however, they duly rallied and gathering momentum, gained parity as full-time approached.

A nervy four minutes of additional time ensued before Ryan finally popped up to set-up another meeting with Cork in Pairc Ui Rinn next Sunday.

Scorers for Clare: Cathal O’Connell 0-4 (4f); Davy O’Halloran, Patrick Donnellan, Colin Ryan (1f) 0-2 each; Aaron Cunningham, Brendan Bugler, Colm Galvin, Conor Ryan, Bobby Duggan, Paul Flanagan 0-1 each

Scorers for Tipperary: Brendan Maher 0-7 (5f); Sean Maher, Denis Maher 0-2 each: Gearoid Ryan, Tom Stapleton, David Butler, Shane McGrath 0-1 each

1. Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona)
2. Domhnall O’Donovan (Clonlara)
3. Cillian Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
5. Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea)
6. Conor Ryan (Cratloe)
7. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley)
8. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
9. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
10. Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
11. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
12. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
13. Davy O’Halloran (Éire Óg)
14. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones)
15. Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara)
John Conlon (Clonlara) for Golden (53)
Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus) for Galvin (53)
Paul Flanagan (Ballyea) for Cleary (55)
Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge) for B. Duggan (63)

1. Darragh Egan (Kildangan)
2. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
3. Paul Curran (Mullinahone)
4. Stephen Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
5. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
6. Conor O’Mahony (Newport)
7. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty)
8. Tom Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons)
9. Gearoid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
10. Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
11. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)
12. Conor Kenny (JK Brackens)
13. David Butler (Drom & Inch)
14. Sean Maher (Clonoulty Rossmore)
15. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
Micheál Butler (Drom & Inch) for O’Dwyer (Half-Time)
Kieran Bergin (Killenaule) for Ryan (50)
Patrick ‘Bonnar’ Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha) for Butler (50)
Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch) for D. Maher (60)

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Team News

The Tipperary team has been named as follows –

1 Darragh Egan (Kildangan)
2 Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
3 Paul Curran (Mullinahone)
4 Conor O’Brien (Eire Og Annacarty)
5 Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
6 Conor O’Mahony (Newport)
7 Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh, Captain)
8 Thomas Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons)
9 Gearoid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
10 Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
11 James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)
12 Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh)
13 David Butler (Drom & Inch)
14 Sean Maher (Clonoulty-Rossmore)
15 Shane Bourke (JK Brackens)
Darren Gleeson (Portroe)
Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
Stephen Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
Patrick Maher (Lorrha)
Liam Treacy (Loughmore-Castleiney)


January 18, 2015
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , ,

GAA Units