Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Allianz NHL Division 1 – Waterford 4-13 Dublin 0-12

February 21, 2010 @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Waterford defeated Dublin by 4-13 to 0-12 in Round 1 of the Allianz National Hurling League Division 1 on Sunday in Walsh Park Waterford.

Waterford opened their Allianz GAA National League Division One campaign in style with a 4-13 to 0-12 win over Dublin at Walsh Park on Sunday. The Déise, who were missing several of their most recognisable names, led 1-10 to 0-6 at the break before hitting three goals in the second half to condemn the Dubs to a worrying opening day defeat. Of more pressing concern to Dublin boss Anthony Daly, however, will be the well-being of All Star forward Alan McCrabbe, who was taken to hospital in an ambulance after suffering a leg injury. The game was held up for ten minutes as the Craobh Chiaráin clubman received attention on the field after the second half incident. Waterford raced into an early 0-4 to 0-1 lead thanks to two Maurice Shanahan points and a goal from former dual star Gary Hurney

Shanahan, the younger brother of 2007 Vodafone Hurler of the Year, scored 0-5 in total in the first half, while Kevin Moran was on target just before the break to give the Déise a seven-point advantage at the change of ends. Moran nudged Davy Fitzgerald’s charges further ahead on the resumption of play, before Shane Walsh hit the back of the net after a neat move involving Stephen Molumphy and Moran. David Treacy hit back for the Dubs, but Waterford were far too strong and eased to victory in the end, with Molumphy adding a third goal and Moran crowning a superb display with his side’s fourth.

Report from the web site

Team News

Waterford (NHL v Dublin) – C Hennessey; J Meagher, L Lawlor, N Connors; D Prendergast, M walsh, J Murray; J Nagle, R Foley; M Shanahan, K Moran, T Connors; S Walsh, G Hurney, S Molumphy (capt).

Dubin (NHL v Waterford) – Gary Maguire, Niall Corcoran, Tomás Brady, Óisin Gough, Stephen Hiney, Ronan Fallon, Maurice O’Brien, Johnny McCaffrey, Joseph Boland, Peter Kelly, Liam Rushe, Shane Durkin, David Treacy, Kevin Flynn, Alan McCrabbe.
Subs – Alan Nolan, Dave Byrne, Michael Carton, Simon Lambert, David Curtin, Shane Ryan, John Kelly, Peadar Carton, David O’Callaghan.


February 21, 2010
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Event Tags:
, , , ,

GAA Units