Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Under 17 Hurling Quarter-Final – Cork 0-16 Limerick 0-6

April 11, 2017 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cork defeated Limerick by 0-16 to 0-6 in the Munster Under 17 Hurling Competition Quarter-Final on Tuesday April 11th at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Limerick U17 hurlers lose to Cork

Report by Joel Slattery for the Limerick Leader newspaper

LIMERICK suffered a 0-16 to 0-6 defeat to a strong Cork side in the opening round of the inaugural Munster U-17 hurling competition at the Gaelic Grounds on Tuesday night.

Limerick struggled to get going in the early exchanges as the Rebels flew into a 0-3 to no score lead after five minutes. Cork increased the lead to seven before Josh Considine opened Limerick’s account with a 20th minute free. Seanie O’Connor added a free of his own but Limerick trailed 0-7 to 0-2 at the interval.

Dave Cuddy’s side were reduced to 14 in the first minute after the break when Sean O’Leary was dismissed, leaving them too much much to do as they limped to a convincing defeat. Cork kept the score-board ticking throughout the second half as they eased to a 10-point win.

Cork: Colin O’Brien 0-6 (0-5 frees) Tommy O’Connell 0-5, Declan Hanlon 0-3, Joe Stack, Kian Farmer 0-1 each.
Limerick: Seanie O’Connor 0-4 (0-4 frees) Josh Considine (free), Mark McCarthy 0-1 each

CORK: Luke Donovan; Eoin Roche, Ciaran Nyhan, Ronan Sheehan; Daire Connery, Conor O’Callaghan, Jack Hallahan; Liam Ryan, Sean Twomey; Declan Hanlon, Colin O’Brien, Tommy O’Connell; Owen McCarthy, Joe Stack, Brian Roche
Subs: Killian Murphy for Joe Stack (46); Kian Farmer for Owen McCarthy (55); Kevin Finn for Tommy O’Connell (58); Sean McCarthy for Sean Twomey (60).

LIMERICK: Louis Dee (Mungret/St Pauls); Liam Griffin (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), David Mulqueen (Bruff), Paul Power (Monaleen); Sean Long (Na Piarsaigh); Paudie O Connor (Kilmallock), Josh Considine (Patrickswell); Seanie O Connor (Granagh/Ballingarry), Liam Barry (Na Piarsaigh); Sean O’Leary (Dromin/Athlacca), Shaun Barry (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), James O Brien (Croagh/Kilfinny); Calum Sheehan (Garryspillane), Frank Costello (Adare), Mark McCarthy (Templeglantine); James Daly (Na Piarsaigh) for Shaun Barry (54)
Subs: Mike Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry) for Paul Power (34); Chris Berkery (Doon) for James O’Brien (41); Adam Carrig (Patrickswell) for Sean Long (41); Kieran O’Dowd (Mungret) for Liam Barry.

REFEREE: Kevin Jordan (Tipperary)

Team News

The Cork team to play Limerick in the Munster U17 Hurling Championship Quarter-Final tomorrow Tuesday 11th April @ 7pm in the Gaelic Grounds Limerick has been announced as follows

Cork U17 Hurling Team.

1. Luke Donovan – Na Piarsaigh

2. Eoin Roche – Bride Rovers

3. Ciaran Nyhan – Ballinascarthy

4. Ronan Sheehan – Mallow

5. Daire Connery – Na Piarsaigh

6. Conor O’Callaghan – Dromtarriffe

7. Jack Hallahan – Cloyne

8. Liam Ryan – Inniscarra

9. Sean Twomey – Courcey Rovers

10. Declan Hanlon – Blarney

11. Colin O’Brien – Granard Gaels

12. Tommy O’Connell – Midleton

13. Owen McCarthy – Inniscarra

14. Joe Stack – Kilta Og

15. Brian Roche – Bride Rovers

16. Eoin Davis – St. Catherines

17. Jamie Copps – Ballyhea

18. Sean McCarthy – Fermoy

19. Ronan McCarthy – St Oliver Plunketts

20. Cormac O’Brien – Newtownshandrum

21. Kevin Finn – Midleton

22. Kian Farmer – Midleton

23. Killian Murphy – Sarsfields

24. Shane Barrett – Blarney

Selectors: John Considine – Manager (Sarsfields), Sean Crowley (Killeagh), Donal Burke (Midleton)


April 11, 2017
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units