Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Under 17 Football Competition – Tipperary 1-10 Limerick 1-5

October 24, 2011 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Daryl Darcy U17 Football (Round 3)

Tipperary v Limerick, Dr Morris Pk, 24/10/2011

In round three of the Daryl Darcy U17 Football tournament played in Dr. Morris Pk on Monday night last Tipperary produced a real dogged like performance against a competitive Limerick side to keep their unbeaten run intact with a five point margin victory. Played in monsoon like conditions with continuous rain throughout, any chance of fluent free flowing football was at a premium but it was Tipp having weathered the early Limerick pressure were first on target with an Adrian Dawson point after six minutes.

With Limerick continuing to hold the edge at midfield they were unable to build on the possession they were winning as centre back John McGrath, along with Seanie Nally, Conor Hayes and wing forward Josh Keane who covered a lot of ground nullified any scoring threat posed by the opposition. However Tipp continued to make inroads into the Limerick defence and despite wasted opportunities stretched the lead to five points with Dean McEnroe (1), Jimmy Maher (2) and a converted 45 by Josh Keane before Limerick opened their account with a point with twenty minutes gone. Limerick narrowed the gap to three with a pointed free but corner forward Adrian Dawson wrapped up the first half scoring for Tipp with two points for a five point advantage at the break, 0-7 to 0-2.

The second half saw Tipp lay down a marker as to their intentions and within fifteen minutes into the second half had gone ten points clear with a further 1-3 on the scoreboard. The introduction of Ballina’s Aidan Hanley at midfield had the desired effect as he fired over the opening point, powered his way through for a cracking goal after receiving the perfect foot pass from Josh Keane and added a further point along with a Stephen O’Brien point to make it 1-10 to 0-3.

However this was to be Tipp’s final score of the game as the Tipp backs had to soak up not just the rain over the next ten to twelve minutes but the continual Limerick pressure as they went in search of scores. Limerick went on to add a further 1-2 but it wasn’t enough and Tipp held out for a well deserved victory and now go on to meet Clare or Waterford in the Daryl Darcy final on Bank Holiday Monday October 31st.

Final Score, Tipperary  1-10  Limerick  1-5

Tipperary, Paul O’Leary (Nenagh Eire Og), Martin Meagher (Loughmore/Castleiney), Niall Gleeson (Portroe), Padraic Louriham (Clonmel Comms), Sean Nally (Holycross/Ballycahill), John McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney), Conor Hayes (Moycarkey Borris), Dylan Fitzell (Cashel KC), Stephen O’Brien (Ballina) 0-1, Josh Keane  (Golden/Kilfeacle) 0-1 (45), Jimmy Maher (Clonoulty/Rossmore) 0-2 (1free), Dean McEnroe  (J.K.Brackens) 0-1, Adrian Dawson (Emly) 0-3 (1 free), Mikey Breen (Ballina), Dan Finnerty (Ballina).

Subs used, Aidan Hanley (Ballina)1-2, Robert O’Donnell (Rockwell Rvs), Dylan Fitzgerald (Fethard), and Paul Shanahan (Upperchurch/Drombane).

Cathal Hurley (Fethard), Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe) (inj),and Lorcan Egan (Loughmore/Castleiney) (inj) completed the squad.

Report by Tommy Fitzgerald on behalf of Tipp Minor Football


October 24, 2011
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

GAA Units